• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SMRT E-mail Campaign - Wake up Singapore

Dear Singaporeans

It time to wake up. Stop accepting the status quo and seeking change. The SMRT has been running on a profit motive since Neo left. The situation has grown worse from what I hear and there are overcrowding and safety is increasingly an issue.

If everyone who is facing difficulties starts writing in via email and express your concerns and demand changes , things will move quickly.

Include the PM and Minister of Transport as well as your local MP as you write to SMRT. Things will always move faster if the top brass notice an increase in complaints.

Nobody is going to jail for complaining about bad service and a breakdown in safety consideration if they are genuine complaints. It is not a free service and you have every right to see that you money is spent well.

Keeping sending emails until you see perceptible change. There is no need to be rude, vulgar or bomb their account with repeat mails. Just send your honest opinion of bad or sub standard service that you encounter.

The first sign that the Govt can't cope is when they disable the email function. Even then you can email the govt ministers who are responsible. It would politically suicidal if the civil service disables their email function.

If you are scared, no need to include your name and you can use a moniker. There is no need to fear if you are relaying the truth. There are many elderly and young kids who use the SMRT and they may not be in position to do anything. think of them as well.

I will write a letter this am,you are right,there are still actually people in Singapore who can write English and yet very fearful of writing a legitimate letter to compalin about transport service,amazing,MM LKY has really made this an amazing FIRST WORLD COUNTRY!

Dear Singaporeans

It time to wake up. Stop accepting the status quo and seeking change. The SMRT has been running on a profit motive since Neo left. The situation has grown worse from what I hear and there are overcrowding and safety is increasingly an issue.

If everyone who is facing difficulties starts writing in via email and express your concerns and demand changes , things will move quickly.

Include the PM and Minister of Transport as well as your local MP as you write to SMRT. Things will always move faster if the top brass notice an increase in complaints.

Nobody is going to jail for complaining about bad service and a breakdown in safety consideration if they are genuine complaints. It is not a free service and you have every right to see that you money is spent well.

Keeping sending emails until you see perceptible change. There is no need to be rude, vulgar or bomb their account with repeat mails. Just send your honest opinion of bad or sub standard service that you encounter.

The first sign that the Govt can't cope is when they disable the email function. Even then you can email the govt ministers who are responsible. It would politically suicidal if the civil service disables their email function.

If you are scared, no need to include your name and you can use a moniker. There is no need to fear if you are relaying the truth. There are many elderly and young kids who use the SMRT and they may not be in position to do anything. think of them as well.

It is particularly interesting that these sort of speeches or information should be out in the public given by someone who hold a loud speaker and make it known outside like standing in front of the MRT station.

How in the world does this sort of information is being kept within the forum itself. Being behind the keyboard is all sinkie is capable of?

Ah, a most excellent example of self-inflated egotism in the ever popular guise of "for the people".

The regulatory body is no longer doing its job in ensuring that safety is being met or ensuring the presence of minimum service standards. Its a pathetic case of govt incompetence.

The govt has to create more and more privatization so that their pathetic cronies have profit-making ventures to make a career out of. It is not about the people anymore, but about building empires on behalf of, and protecting their own kind.

What market forces? What competition? Its merely a case of the right hand competing with the left foot and both seeking to get into the mouth ASAP.

That's why essential services like public tpt serve the pple less and less over the years.

Tell you all lah even if SMRT/SBS pump in more trains or increase the turn around time still will be packed like sardine. You know why? Because this system was not designed to handle such a large load back during the 80s when it was planned.

But i thought our PAP has the helicopter vision which is why we pay them rocket high salary even though we are not a nation yet..

Yes, the regulators have failed.

Th reason that I put this out is that there has been a number of such cases albeit done by few individuals or a small group that has reaped results. One of it actually came out in the press when one of the condo owners revealed to the press about the lady doctor and her neighbours writing to the press about the road level outside the condo that was causing the flood.

The authorities finally stepped him and the amount to re-level the road was a large amount.

I have since heard that there have been a number of such cases. They all had the same approach, people writing in a sincere manner, copied to ministers, PM, and MP.

I suppose the PM and the MP will apply pressure on those responsible as they do not want to keep receiving messages on the same issue and it turning out to be political liability for being non-response when the problem compounds.

The regulatory body is no longer doing its job in ensuring that safety is being met or ensuring the presence of minimum service standards. Its a pathetic case of govt incompetence.

The govt has to create more and more privatization so that their pathetic cronies have profit-making ventures to make a career out of. It is not about the people anymore, but about building empires on behalf of, and protecting their own kind.

What market forces? What competition? Its merely a case of the right hand competing with the left foot and both seeking to get into the mouth ASAP.

That's why essential services like public tpt serve the pple less and less over the years.

The London Undergound had it first section opened in 1863 and it was the first in the world. It is still functioning and during it peak, fully loaded trains arrive and leave station 1 minute apart. New lines, new sections and new stations have been built over years to relieve load in some parts and redistribute to other parts.

In the UK, the 2 party system and the independence of mind of its citizens does not allow the country to accept the status quo.

We all seem to wait for the Straits Times to tell us when there is problem and if they don't, we actually find excuses to convince ourselves that all is well or nothing can be done.

Until TT Durai sued the Straits Times, most people thought that NKF was saving Kidney patients left and right. Even though SIA sr management knew full well that he was travelling 1st class on SIA , they did not intervene when NKF and Durai successfully sued people who raised this.

That is the nature of our society.

Yes, the regulators have failed.

Th reason that I put this out is that there has been a number of such cases albeit done by few individuals or a small group that has reaped results. One of it actually came out in the press when one of the condo owners revealed to the press about the lady doctor and her neighbours writing to the press about the road level outside the condo that was causing the flood.

The authorities finally stepped him and the amount to re-level the road was a large amount.

I have since heard that there have been a number of such cases. They all had the same approach, people writing in a sincere manner, copied to ministers, PM, and MP.

I suppose the PM and the MP will apply pressure on those responsible as they do not want to keep receiving messages on the same issue and it turning out to be political liability for being non-response when the problem compounds.

Same thing happened at Joo Chiat. Numerous complaints and pressure from residents swept the area reasonably clean. Hotels along JC no longer do hourly biz. KTV/pubs have to shut at 1am, no new licenses issued etc.

Letters must be sincere and polite. Our authorities hate those who openly and agressively confront them on their shortcomings. They want face and the ability to 'loke tai' - step down from stage with pride intact.

That's a good example.

I guess the key is that the authorities must be made to see it is in their political interest to serve the needs of citizens.

Citizen initiative in writing letters, lobbying MPs & ministers, etc, can sometimes be far more effective than a bunch of opposition or bloggers going to Hong Lim park on a saturday evening.

Like it or not, political pressure for change must be seen as mutually beneficial for both the citizenry and those in power. At least that's the way it has to be until the parliamentary dominance is eroded.

Same thing happened at Joo Chiat. Numerous complaints and pressure from residents swept the area reasonably clean. Hotels along JC no longer do hourly biz. KTV/pubs have to shut at 1am, no new licenses issued etc.

Letters must be sincere and polite. Our authorities hate those who openly and agressively confront them on their shortcomings. They want face and the ability to 'loke tai' - step down from stage with pride intact.

Very true indeed.

As long as PAP is dominant, all such things have to be mutually beneficial to all parties concerned.

The attack must be two-pronged: On one hand, carry out citizen initiative that is polite, respectful, and on the other hand, use the ballot box correctly. Only with this "pincer" campaign against the PAP is there any hope of succeeding in forcing change.

What must stop is the hot air and false political bravado from the Gopalan nair / Desmond Lim camps that have made it only more difficult to effect real change in Singapore.

But i thought our PAP has the helicopter vision which is why we pay them rocket high salary even though we are not a nation yet..
ah loon wasnt involved den ... ah loon den turn all tings upside down ... :o