• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies is treating the foreign workers like slaves

Ilovelamb

By SIOW LI SEN
SENIOR CORRESPONDENT

Business Times - 29 Jan 2011

AS BT readers mull over their annual promotion and pay increment letters, many will be smiling because their employers are rewarding staff in line with the fastest growth Singapore that has ever enjoyed.

Spare a thought then for the least protected group in our community: the lowly paid foreign workers - the domestic workers, the construction workers and cleaners. They are more than likely not going to get any bonuses nor pay increments for their backbreaking, dirty and sometimes dangerous jobs.

Recently, there was a report of a raid on a workers' illegal living quarters. There have also been stories covering the proposed hike in salaries for Indonesian domestic workers.

According to the report, workers were seen cooking in makeshift kitchens overrun with cockroaches. On every floor of the building, workers could be seen setting up their 'beds' - cardboard boxes or rattan mats lined up in the corridors.

Stairwells were filled with racks of drying clothes, blocking off fire exits. Some workers slept on carpets on sawdust-covered floors, others in storerooms under staircases. Those who were luckier got to sleep in storerooms slightly bigger than the toilet of an HDB flat, which they had to share with another room-mate, sometimes two.

'If we house the workers in Jurong dormitories, it takes them one hour in the morning to reach Bedok,' a supervisor was quoted in the report, adding that 'staying here gives them one extra hour to sleep'.

It's time that Singapore take a leaf from what China has suggested for the bosses of companies who treat their workers like slaves: after raiding an illegal site, the authorities should get the boss and his family to spend a night there.

Better still, to root out such pernicious leanings from our DNA, get our school children to spend a few hours in the illegal living quarters of foreign workers as part of their community awareness programme. Each child will surely be shocked to learn of such cruelty in our midst, all in the name of Mammon.

Even as we plan how to spend our bonuses, reports that 17 employment agencies will increase the salaries of Indonesian maids from $380 a month to $450 - hardly a princely sum - to solve the shortage crunch, saw numerous complaints.

Those against it gave some of the following reasons: Will the quality of the maids improve? And won't this encourage the current group on lower pay to quit so that they can move to another employer for the new salary?

When we receive higher bonuses and increments, I can just hear the howls of protest if an employer dares to utter a word that better quality is expected from us. While it is common to think that we deserve every cent paid to us and more, it is also a fact of life that a pay hike is determined by several factors but seldom due to an improvement in productivity alone.

And don't we usually look with admiration when a colleague, relative or friend moves for higher pay. This, in fact, is the Singapore way.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt...dlink=/sub/views/story/0,4574,423962,00.html?

... It's time that Singapore take a leaf from what China has suggested for the bosses of companies who treat their workers like slaves: after raiding an illegal site, the authorities should get the boss and his family to spend a night there.

Better still, to root out such pernicious leanings from our DNA, get our school children to spend a few hours in the illegal living quarters of foreign workers as part of their community awareness programme. Each child will surely be shocked to learn of such cruelty in our midst, all in the name of Mammon ...
agreed! ...

tel ah loon n mammon worshipping gang who suppress worker wages 2 ze lowest 2 take home a low wage worker's pay ... let dem b shocked 2 learn of their own cruelty in their own midst ... :rolleyes:

... Even as we plan how to spend our bonuses, reports that 17 employment agencies will increase the salaries of Indonesian maids from $380 a month to $450 - hardly a princely sum - ...
n increase of $70 is hardly a princely sum ... get dat in2 ze head of dat ah vivian pls ... 10q ...

... And don't we usually look with admiration when a colleague, relative or friend moves for higher pay. This, in fact, is the Singapore way ...
u r wrong ... sinkies wil look @ it wif jealousy n spite (how can dat burger get sumting betta than me? :rolleyes:) ...

theblackhole

just too many unnecessary workers..you look at the number of workers patching up a hole in the road...the number of people involved in doing some cable work....so many foreign workers all eat snake and eat rats ...talking and malingering!!!!....you see them all over the island doing what?????....you need 10 workers to pull one cable!!!!!!!!!!

You can't be too nice to invaders. Especially those who are very rude and treated Sinkees like 2nd class people. It is better to tell them off and have clear differentiation between the host and guest of this country.

eQuipment

not only do sinkies treat FTs like slaves, sinkie bosses r treating their sinkie employees like FT slaves.

"y should i hire u at your expected salary? with that amount, i can hire 3 FTs"

i reckon the median pay rise for Singaporean this year is 3 - 4%?

Can someone remind me of the inflation rate last year ? 3.5%?

So net effect, your pay rise = 0.5% if you are lucky or nil if you are the 3% cohort.

If your pay is 3.5K which i reckon is the median pay, that is about S$ 17.50 nett.

Wait, less CPF contribution of 20%, you take home = S$14.

Extra pack of ciggys for you.