• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singtel chief making waves in Australia

HTOLAS

She probably won't succeed in Australia but our 'regulators' will reward her 'brilliance' handsomely.

http://m.afr.com/p/technology/singtel_chief_calls_whatsapp_right_maynJrPUvegKvHV5wgNFGJ

SingTel chief executive Sock Koong Chua has urged regulators to give carriers like Optus the right to charge rivals such as WhatsApp and Skype for use of their networks or risk a major decline in network investment.

At the Mobile World Congress event in Barcelona, Ms Chua praised Australia’s regulatory market as one of the few countries in the world to allow a foreign player to have total ownership of a telco provider.

SingTel owns Optus, which is Australia’s second largest provider of telecommunications services. It invested almost $1 billion during financial year 2013 in its fixed-line and mobile networks.

But she warned such investments would be slashed around the world and would not continue unless regulators allowed them to start charging over-the-top rivals such as WhatsApp for using their networks.

WhatsApp was bought by Facebook last week for $US19 billion ($21 billion) and provides free messaging services to its 450 million users. The rise of companies like it have helped cut revenues from phone calls and text messaging at traditional carriers like Optus.

“The main problem we have as an industry is we have been unable to monetise this increased demand . . . and [average revenue per user] has fallen over time,” she said. “I think the pace of change in our industry is relentless so clearly we can’t afford to stand still.

“If we are not careful we could stand the risk of being totally disintermediated.”

She called on regulators to allow carriers to detect and charge OTT players when their services were being provided over the network. While Telstra has experimented with such moves, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission considers it to be anti-competitive.

But Ms Chua said the solution was not to simply levy companies like WhatsApp but to become their partners.

“Our ambition must be to become the preferred network partners of customers and OTT players,” she said. “We must create sustainable revenue models.”

Her comments echoed those of Optus head of networks Vic McClelland who told The Australian Financial Review earlier this year the company was working to provide priority services at a cost for customers wanting better access to streaming video services like YouTube.

The author travelled to the Mobile World Congress courtesy of Huawei

The Australian Financial Review

Shows how stupid she is. She can't monetize the demand because she is empty up there.

All she is trying to say is that she wasn't smart enough to come up with an app like whatapps in the first place.

she is a living example that women shouldn't drive, why dun she impose charges for emails sent from other email providers...?:rolleyes:
:kma:

Why she will fail? Because in australia something always happen but never happened before in Stinkapore. The Aussie govt always changes.

She probably won't succeed in Australia but our 'regulators' will reward her 'brilliance' handsomely.

http://m.afr.com/p/technology/singtel_chief_calls_whatsapp_right_maynJrPUvegKvHV5wgNFGJ

SingTel chief executive Sock Koong Chua has urged regulators to give carriers like Optus the right to charge rivals such as WhatsApp and Skype for use of their networks or risk a major decline in network investment.

At the Mobile World Congress event in Barcelona, Ms Chua praised Australia’s regulatory market as one of the few countries in the world to allow a foreign player to have total ownership of a telco provider.

SingTel owns Optus, which is Australia’s second largest provider of telecommunications services. It invested almost $1 billion during financial year 2013 in its fixed-line and mobile networks.

But she warned such investments would be slashed around the world and would not continue unless regulators allowed them to start charging over-the-top rivals such as WhatsApp for using their networks.

WhatsApp was bought by Facebook last week for $US19 billion ($21 billion) and provides free messaging services to its 450 million users. The rise of companies like it have helped cut revenues from phone calls and text messaging at traditional carriers like Optus.

“The main problem we have as an industry is we have been unable to monetise this increased demand . . . and [average revenue per user] has fallen over time,” she said. “I think the pace of change in our industry is relentless so clearly we can’t afford to stand still.

“If we are not careful we could stand the risk of being totally disintermediated.”

She called on regulators to allow carriers to detect and charge OTT players when their services were being provided over the network. While Telstra has experimented with such moves, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission considers it to be anti-competitive.

But Ms Chua said the solution was not to simply levy companies like WhatsApp but to become their partners.

“Our ambition must be to become the preferred network partners of customers and OTT players,” she said. “We must create sustainable revenue models.”

Her comments echoed those of Optus head of networks Vic McClelland who told The Australian Financial Review earlier this year the company was working to provide priority services at a cost for customers wanting better access to streaming video services like YouTube.

The author travelled to the Mobile World Congress courtesy of Huawei

The Australian Financial Review

The head of a telco which earned 3.6 billion last year is complaining about inability to prevent revenue per user from dropping.

beucase money never enough especially for the rich and powerful

Woah, instead of innovate, value-add, partnering, buyout, have to resort to protectionism way of business while clamouring for more FT to improve their bottomline. Happy hour til it ends.

fully agree...

Woah, instead of innovate, value-add, partnering, buyout, have to resort to protectionism way of business while clamouring for more FT to improve their bottomline. Happy hour til it ends.

If she can't innovate and be creative, then she have no right to be in the business. Asking regulators for protection just because she can't compete, she might as well close down her company.

cannot beat the tsunami by lhy lah.
hahahhahahahaaaaa............!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

She is an idiot. She thinks she is in Singapore? Just because she is stupid enough for being unable to turn the business around, she will try to find ways to fleece others from their well-deserved revenue for providing users a better product.

“We must create sustainable revenue models.”

To justify her High salary!!!

Please stop milking $$$ from Sinkies...

For your information, Singtel paid more than 10% of what the world paid as a whole for EPL broadcast rights, in their bid to capture Sinkie's eyeballs in 2010. Come on! Singtel reportedly paid close to S$400 million for the rights in 2010 compared to Starhub’s S$250 million winning bid three years before. So you, the consumers, are actually footing the bill, via a higher subscription cost, for Singtel to gain market share. We might be on track to be the world richest country but that doesn’t mean we should be exploited!

First of all I do not know who the Fuck is this lady... A lot of people are calling her stupid and idiot...

But hor... She earn don't know how many fucking times more than those who said she is stupid and idiot... Than what are you??? A stupid idiot earn so much more than you??? No???:D

of course, earn, have big money, must be smart. how i am going to disporve this if not thwarted

Chua Sock Koong is just another Familee member... you think she got the job due to meritocracy? :rolleyes:

http://www.yeocheowtong.com/Salaries.html

Chua Sock Koong
Cousin of the Lees
Family replacement for Lee Hsien Yang

ChuaSockKoong.jpg

Chua Sock Koong is the daughter of Chua Siang Chin, Singapore's former Minister of Health, and so is a cousin of the Lees

First of all I do not know who the Fuck is this lady... A lot of people are calling her stupid and idiot...

But hor... She earn don't know how many fucking times more than those who said she is stupid and idiot... Than what are you??? A stupid idiot earn so much more than you??? No???:D

Typical porlumpar doggie who thinks the size of your paycheck reflects how brilliant you are as a person. :rolleyes:

Lui Tuck Yew must be a genius then. :rolleyes:

If you like to see many zeros in your bank account here's something for you. :cool:

hell3r.jpg

Give it to one of your beloved Sinkie poodle buddies when they get killed on duty. ;)