• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans will have adequate CPF savings....

SINGAPORE: Young Singaporeans in the workforce today will have adequate savings in their Central Provident Fund (CPF) accounts by the time they retire, according to an independent study by the Ministry of Manpower.

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam shared this finding on Wednesday at the opening of the Singapore Human Capital Summit.

The Central Provident Fund is designed to help Singaporeans save enough for their retirement years.

It also contributes in making home ownership a key pillar of the country's social security system.

Mr Tharman said the CPF is a financially sustainable scheme because it is fully funded and operates on defined principles of contributions.

However, Mr Tharman said the challenge is ensuring CPF savings are able to deliver payouts that are enough for retirement.

The challenge is more so for the lower-income earners. The government reviews the CPF scheme from time to time to ensure it can deliver payouts adequately.

A recent study using the Income Replacement Rate or IRR indicates that Singaporeans are adequately covered.

Pension economists measure retirement adequacy by using an IRR, which is the ratio of retirement monthly income to pre-retirement monthly earnings.

The study found that a median male earner who enters the workforce today will be able to achieve an IRR of over 70 per cent through his CPF savings.

For the female median earner, the equivalent IRR is 63 per cent.

These figures are similar to those of countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

The IRR for the median OECD economies is 66 per cent. The World Bank recommends a range of between 53 and 78 per cent.

The rate is significantly higher in Singapore when it takes into account the fact that Singaporeans have their own homes when they retire.

Cash is freed for other living expenses as they do not have to pay rental fees.

For lower-income workers, the IRR is higher -- at about 81 per cent.

With Workfare, which supplements the wages of low-income workers, the IRR is even higher -- at 93 per cent.

Details of the study will be released in the near future.

Economists said many assumptions need to be considered in interpreting the results of the study.

Associate Professor Shandre Thangavelu, from the Economics Department at the National University of Singapore, said: "How much the income is growing over time, and what is the retirement age...It all depends on how the rate of returns when other factors are taken into account. How much extra savings they are going to have from the CPF and paying mortgages and so on... because higher property prices will also absorb more from the CPF itself."

Mr Tharman said the changes made in the CPF scheme over the years have put it on a very firm footing for the future, but employers and employees also have a part to play in ensuring financial stability.

"But no matter how we design the CPF scheme, retirement adequacy is still premised on individual responsibility and good jobs during working lives," said Mr Tharman.

"It requires that we work and save for an adequate retirement nest egg and it requires that employers take responsibility for providing ordinary working people with good jobs."

Mr Tharman said the results of the findings are important and the government will continue to review the CPF scheme.

But it is also important to keep an eye on the needs of the older generation of Singaporeans who may not have enough runway to benefit from the changes made to the CPF system over the years.

Mr Tharman noted that many older Singaporeans have low CPF balances and are unable to achieve the IRR that the study has found. Wages were much lower in the past and these older Singaporeans were required to set aside less in their CPF Retirement Account. They were allowed to use much of their CPF savings for housing.

However, most of them have also experienced substantial appreciation in value of the homes that they own, made possible by government housing subsidies, their earlier withdrawals of CPF savings, and economic growth.

"Our strategy is to help them monetise the values of their homes in retirement, if they wish to," said Mr Tharman.

- CNA/xq/cc/ir

let's do some maths shall we?

assuming a monthly gross salary of SGD$2500.00 : CPF contribution would be around SGD$500.00 (employee) and around SGD$350.00 (employer), a total amount of CPF contribution would chalk up approximately 65% or SGD$490.00 in OA, the remaining in SA & MA. a year later, that's approximately SGD$6K in OA and SGD$4.3K in SA & MA. easily 10K a year, 40 years of work can chalk up 400K, assuming that the salary is stagnant.

would seem like a comfortable sum of seed money for retirement funds provided there's no utilisation of the CPF to buy things like Medishield, Dependent Scheme, and the biggest culprit of all, the HDB. couple that with inflationary forces, if the salary doesn't rise in tandem with inflation rates, the employees are screwed hard, what retirement fund is there to speak of? :eek::eek::eek:

The botak ah neh minsiter is talking cock again and trying to mislead the people of singapore.
Talk so much for what ??? JUST RETURN US OUR CPF MONEY !!! provided they have sufficent cash on hand to pay us.The GIC got its cheap source of funds from CPF Board but lost heavily in overseas speculations so now the GIC could not repay the principal plus interest to the CPF Board.So they come out with the Minimum Sum Scheme to defer CPF withdrawal date from 55 yo to 65 yo.KNNCCB to the PAP !!!

The botak ah neh minsiter is talking cock again and trying to mislead the people of singapore.
Talk so much for what ??? JUST RETURN US OUR CPF MONEY !!! provided they have sufficent cash on hand to pay us.The GIC got its cheap source of funds from CPF Board but lost heavily in overseas speculations so now the GIC could not repay the principal plus interest to the CPF Board.So they come out with the Minimum Sum Scheme to defer CPF withdrawal date from 55 yo to 65 yo.KNNCCB to the PAP !!!

Calling them bastards is actually too kind a word towards them. I have a good friend who has $80,000 in his CPF ordinary + special account. Upon reaching 55 this year, he received only 10%, that is $8000 from CPF Board. He was told that 10 years later, he will be paid monthly instalments of a few hundred dollars until the fund is depleted.

$400k can last u how long in say 10 years time?? At most 6 years. After that got to work as cleaner in coffee shop.

Forget about CPF. Everyone should create their own retirement fund.

Calling them bastards is actually too kind a word towards them. I have a good friend who has $80,000 in his CPF ordinary + special account. Upon reaching 55 this year, he received only 10%, that is $8000 from CPF Board. He was told that 10 years later, he will be paid monthly instalments of a few hundred dollars until the fund is depleted.

When a CPF member reached 55,he is forced to joint CPF Life (monthly payments made to a CPF member as long as he is alive).What if a CPF member is sick,poor or jobless and faced serious and real financial difficulties between 55 and 65 and needs money for his daily survival ? And Do the farking MIW govt expect the CPF member in financial difficulties between 55 and 65 to borrow money from the Banks or Ah Longs or Friends/Relatives ???
This farking MIW govt is too much and is shirking its responsibility of taking good care of its people and is real scared of taking good care of its people all because of greed and self-enrichment of the MIW.
Do u think for a moment the MIW care about u between 55 and 65 ? The answer is NO ,U die is your business.
So if the MIW's attitude and policies toward CPF members is "U die is your business",Why are the MIW still holding back our CPF money for 10 long years ??? What if a CPF member dies before 65 and he will never get to enjoy the fruits of his labour in his whole working life ? KNNCCB to the MIW !!!

bro,
the 400K me had projected is seed money for retirement funds, not spending it wantonly :o:o:o

Singaporean men will have no money because PRC babes will sayang them into parting with all their CPF savings

Better to have government control the money than the state to be burdened by irresponsible individuals who lose their senses when seduced and hypnotised by treacherous women

Strip away the foreign component of the Sinkie economy and u'll end up with just another 2nd-tier city in Asia. :rolleyes:

A third world where those in power are openly getting multi-million dollar salaries:rolleyes:

In other 3rd world countries corrupt offcials have to "work" to get their ill gotten gains. However in Spore it's called preventing corruption:eek:

Do you believe the PAP government? I don't.

I am very Sore & sorry that I trusted the PAP government with my CPF money, which is my blood, sweat, & tears earnings; not that they have 'stolen' them. They give me a feeling that my money is their money & time after time; they find ways & means to keep it out if my reach, when I retire or find creative ways to whittle that money. For example, when CDAC was started they never consulted us & have no opt-out!

I hope he had expected this and it wasn't a surprise. Minimum sum is now $140k. 50% of that can be pledged against a property. So, he has to leave $70k in his CPF retirment account. For me, unless I can get citizenship elsewhere before I am 55, allowing me to gain access to my CPF, I've decided to write it off.

With so many FTs in Spore now. No one can guarantee we will be safely employed till 62 and above. Not even God. How then can we be guaranteed our CPF savings are adequate till retirement??

I hope he had expected this and it wasn't a surprise. Minimum sum is now $140k. 50% of that can be pledged against a property. So, he has to leave $70k in his CPF retirment account. For me, unless I can get citizenship elsewhere before I am 55, allowing me to gain access to my CPF, I've decided to write it off.

Incorrect.

Go to the cpf website to verify. I also thought so earlier.

At age 55, you can only take out the amount that is above the minimum sum of $140k. For example, if you got $160k in retirement account, you can only take $20k.

If you got $120k in retirement account, you only get a token $5k since your $120k is below min sum of $140k. The pledging of property pertains to those who have not reach the min sum. For example if you got $120k and min sum is $140k, the shortfall of $20k can be pledged by property.

Scary.:mad: