• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans Lost For 15 Hours In Malaysian Jungle

During IFC camp, the last exercise was to infiltrate NANTAH (NUS) from CCK Hill. A few got lost and could be found as far as Bukit Timah and some other crazy place.:D Talk about topo kings. These guys take the cake.

I had one exercise where we were dropped off & had to find out way back, no maps or compass, just landmarks we were told to look out for, we just started to walk in one direction & after a while saw a old langkang, kept walking & a telegraph pole & after a while a old kampung road which we crossed & continued in the same direction, then heard some cars & came out onto a fairly busy road, found a kopitiam, sat down ordered makan & rang Ops room on the public phone & can you guess what OC said to us? OK calerfare detail.. take order, how many kopi? how many teh? who want chicken rice.. :D The moral of the story, whenever doing any kind of exercise in SG, must always bring money along!

True. Can use the pay phone and book taxi to bring you to your destination.:D

pelepah falls (just before entrance to Kota Tinggi waterfalls) is hardly a challenge to find it. Though i must admit the path to get there is now closed & one has to wade into a little stream under a small bridge & into someone's private property to get there.
How these bunch of trekkers got lost is unimaginable. All they had to do is to follow a CLEAR path which is beside a stream & bob's your uncle. And to get out, vice versa.

No matter what we may say about the Malaysian armed forces, trekkers, indigenous people, police and fire-brigade personnel, it is a known fact that when our poor "adventurers" get lost in their natural jungles these are the people who enter the jungle and save them. In doing this these gallant people do not see our people as Singaporeans but "pitiful lost children". I salute to these people and hope they will continue helping our "distressed citizens".

First and foremost our "heroes" SHOULD NEVER venture into such "forbidden" territory. If they really want to, then at the least they should be willing to pay for the services of the locals to guide them. It is not a huge sum. It is simply unfathomable why these people are putting on such miserly behaviour. If these people in Singapore can quietly pay so much for parking at HDB, URA car-parks (some even collect on holidays and Sundays), I see no reason why they have to stinge on these cheap Malaysian trekkers and guides.

Those readers and contributors who are of age know fully well that the Malaysians are truly very good in jungle training and survival. They know the area well like the palm of their hand and taken on the Communist soldiers of Chin Peng at the height of the Malayan Emergency and many years till the communists laid down their weapons in frustration and retired into South Thailand.

These Malaysian men in green are legendary and are surely more battle-hardened then our "soldiers" too. They train on real terrain whereas our white horses here may be tops in "war-games" and decorated with "stars".

I however DO NOT say the same about our poor NSmen who go through real training. God less our youn men in Green.

That is the HARD TRUTH folks.

May I suggest that our highly-paid politicians SHOULD be made to attend such Jungle Survival training in the thick Malaysian jungles, prior to them entering Parliament in successful elections or coming in clinging onto other people coat-tails.

These training will be good for these people and will surely make them good leaders.

It would also be a time for all Singaporeans to see first-hand as to who are the real "cry-babies".

Let the statement made by LKY in the early 70's come true - "WE Are A Rugged And Robust Society".

The group got lost while trekking and had to spend the night in the cold and damp forest.

"Cold"??? In the middle of a tropical jungle??? :rolleyes: SPH certainly has introduced new meaning to many words.

It is a shame that the SPH reporters are so poor in their command of English and do not seem to use their brain knowing how stuffy a tropical jungle can be.

The same is with Television of Singapore. Many a times you see many wrongly-spelt words appearing on the TV screen.