singaporean health

Wagyu means Japanese beef. The best of which is Kobe beef. But you're right. Anything in and from the hands of morons are a waste.

wagyū means japanese (wa) cattle (gyū). wagyu comprise many breeds of cattle genetically raised for their marbled meat. special breeding and feeding techniques leading to wagyu were started in japan, but the original herd was introduced to japan as beasts of burden to cultivate rice fields, not for meat. japan banned eating of meat of 4 legged animals from 1635 to 1838 during the tokugawa shogunate. today, we have wagyu breeds in ranches in new zealand, australia and the u.s.

at hubert keller's burger bar in sf, there's a wagyu hamburger that is served with a thick slice of sauteed foie gras on the top.

The Samurai King loves wagyu ...... and will be eating it tonight .....after visiting Wendy's ...:)

wendy's baconator or any such shit will spoil your palate. dine on wagyu on an empty stomach. better still, have sauteed porcini mushrooms as an appetizer.

The Samurai King will whip up an appetite after running 1.8 km tonight ....:)

Wendy's good. Still the best fast food burgers around. Carl's Junior has arrived in Singapore but is horrendously overpriced.

It's in the preservatives ! Not so much problem if you cut a fresh potatoes and make it into fries, but on long term consumption, that is a lot of starch turning into fat. I still remember my 3 years in ang moh country when my weight ballon to 85kg ( cheap potatoes , bread, ham , cheese , steak, pizza esp when you want at closing hours!) Now with asian foods I am down to 70+. Importantly , learn to moderate , even that is a hard to master.

The crux is in all the sauces we eat. Probably starters can go for food without sauces.

Example eat chap chye perng, don't put sauce on rice. Most sauces are derived from animal fats which came during cooking, consisting of sugar, salt in excess. Even salad dressing can be fatty as some though use low fat dressing, but they add in extra ingredients to make the salad dressing taste more appetising.

How true.
The Spore healthcare system is about generating profit & less about patient welfare.

The routine on visits to my cardiologist was an examination, followed by the doctor prescribing medication & then giving the next appointment .

The doctor did not bring up issues on diet, lifestyle changes,... Any questions were answered without much enthusiasm.

It could be that he's too busy, many patients to see, surgeries to perform,..

In Canada when I was recovering in a hospital I was attended to by a physiotherapist & occupational therapist. I was overwhelmed by the attention :eek: They have a "medical system" in place, with various health practioneer who provide assistance from the surgery, to the recovery, & finally returning to socety stage. That is something most Sporeans can only dream of :rolleyes:

In sg, it's all about making money or profit especially when it's linked to gahment.

Whenever someone is admitted to a hospital for major cause, first they'll check the patient's cpf balance, not the patient's condition.

I don't think they can. They'll find out your CPF not enough only when Medisave billing deduction gets rejected. :eek::D
wil dey check how much medisave u have by asking u? ... like uncrupulous dentists ask u how much dental benefits u have so dat dey can do their devious calculations 2 determine how much dey shud slaughter u? ... :confused:

wil dey check how much medisave u have by askingt u? ... like uncrupulous dentists ask u how much dental benefits u have so dat dey can do their devious calculations 2 determine how much dey shud slaughter u? ... :confused:

Dentistry coverage is private or company sponsored coverage. Yes, unscrupulous dentists do try to find out and max it out.

Medisave is national coverage, nay, not even coverage, just a reserve savings scheme. The hospital doctors have to at least try to keep you alive first. My experience is, they ask for guarantor just in case my personal Medisave wasn't enough to foot the bill. My dear sister acted and signed as my guarantor when I was warded. Would they leave me out there to die without warding me? Frankly, I don't think so, but don't try or bet on it.

Whenever someone is admitted to a hospital for major cause, first they'll check the patient's cpf balance, not the patient's condition.

Before you can be admitted:

The 1st thing they'll try to do is to find out who to charge
Secondly, the method of payment.

They know that even if you have enough in your CPF, you can't use all of it to cover ALL your expenses.

Don't forget it's the gov't who determines just how much medisave you can claim for the different procedures

glad to see so many contributions from the bros here, however some misconceptions to clear first:

(1.) food outside is not the same as food cooked at home, period...remember the most important ingredient that determines whether food is healthy is the base, that is the oil and preservatives used...at home you can use one or two teaspoons of oil for frying, but outside you dont know how much and what type (usually palm oil as it is the cheapest) is used...as for preservatives if you just buy a raw chicken drum from the market and steam it i dont think any preservatives is used...same goes for over the counter vitamins and minerals (sorry bro johnny 333)only the ingredients used is stated not the process of how it is made...

(2.) again shall bring out diabetes...pancreas produce finite insulin and once the supply is down, you get either glucose intolerance state or full blown diabetes, as mentioned, one needs to control the amount of calorie intake and the ingredient that contains one of the most amount of calories is oil, one teaspoon is 90 calories (correct me if i am worng), and we only need about 1500 to 2000 calories a day...also cholestrol which sadly comes from over indulging in the wrong kinds and wrong amount of proteins...both glucose and cholestrol damages blood vessels which in terms lead to other problems like cardiac failure, renal failure, stroke, etc...you are what you eat and dont believe in the saying you only live once...change it to you only eat once...

some diet pointers i shall share here:

(1.) an apple and green tea everyday somehow helps to reduce your appetite and also reduces weight and cholestrol, try it...

(2.) still a good variety of food at the hawkers that can be consumed, abeit becoming extinct cos profit margin low, not popular and not sold at food courts: (a) glutinous rice (b) yam cake (c) porridge (d) fishball noodles (soup) (e) economic rice (the vegetables are usually steamed with fried gravy poured over, and also there is still steam fish) (f) fruit juice and fresh fruits (g) fish soup or any other soup with less oil(h) grilled or baked fish at western food stalls (i) pau and lou mei kai (j) mee robus (made of sweet potatoe)...key word here again is oil and sugar..

(3.) you can prepare a variety of meals at home though it will be more expensive...(a) baked fish (e.g. salmon about $5 a piece at ntuc), (b) baked vegetables, both fresh and frozen (e.g. frozen peas, potatoes, etc), whole meal bread, ham, canned tuna and sardines (these can go with bread) rice, pasta, steamed chicken, vegetables such as lightly fried okra, brinjal, steamed cauliflower and broccoli, boiled green leafy vegetables, raw tomtatoes, best soup of all bitter gourd soup (helps to reduce blood sugar a lot), varieties of soup, porridge, nuts and canned nuts, fruits group-banana, apples, watermelon, cantalopue, oranges, persimmon, guava etc...fruits can be mixed with raw salad vegetables to give a fresher taste, esp wth squeeze of lemon juice (anyone needs help with menu planning just let me know...), all in all plenty of choices and varieties, and you dont really need that much time to prepare...key thing here is quantity and quality of meat consumed and also sugar intake...

(4.) as for vitamins i personally prefer vitamins b group like thiamine and b complex, gives good erections for guys and also has calming effect which makes one sleeps better...

Actually, I can't understand what's wrong with fast food that it's so called junk food. For example, French fries. It's simply potato sliced and fried in veggie oil. Eat it in Mc it's junk? Eat it in restaurant as sidedish to steak and it's gourmet? Even hamburger. Bread bun is bread bun, ground beef patty is ground beef patty, whether at Mc or restaurant. Lettuce is lettuce and mayonnaise is mayonnaise, whether at Mc or 5-star restaurant. Eat it at Mc or restaurant or cook them at home, still the same thing.

ramseth, u seen knowledge but is a frog in the well for tis issue, do u know how fast food process brfore they put on sales on the counter, fresh??? ha ha ha. find out more in the web or just ask any of ur friend who work as a manager in any fastfood outlet.

...same goes for over the counter vitamins and minerals (sorry bro johnny 333)only the ingredients used is stated not the process of how it is made...

Totally agree that there are unscrupulous companies out there in the market, that's why I would avoid Unity(NTUC) or Raffles branded health products. These organisation simply source their products from unknown companies.

I don't skimp on no-name brands & stick to the well known brands distributed in the US.

For example Now Foods is a family owned company with a good reputations. Jarrow is an Israel company, their products are recommended by many health professionals because of the purity of their products. A.C. Grace is a company that has been manufacturing vitam E since 1962. It is recognised for making one of the best vitamin E in the market. It was used by the Shute brothers in their medical to help cardiac patients.

Most imprtantly, if these companies drop the ball quality wise, the americans would raise a big stink. :)

(4.) as for vitamins i personally prefer vitamins b group like thiamine and b complex, gives good erections for guys and also has calming effect which makes one sleeps better...

Have to disagree with you regarding favouring just Vit B. :)

The body needs more than just vit B. The human body needs so much more than vitamins. Just take a look at the ingredients of a typical mutivitamin product & what it provides:
http://www.iherb.com/Now-Foods-Adam-Superior-Men-s-Multi-120-Tablets/380?at=0

AND these multivitamin products are meant for healthy adults.:eek:

That's why some people are focusing on the superfoods to supplement their diet. I have added organic Acai berry, pomegranate, red beet juice, chlorella to my diet.

Don't forget the importance of exercise too:eek:

ramseth, u seen knowledge but is a frog in the well for tis issue, do u know how fast food process brfore they put on sales on the counter, fresh??? ha ha ha. find out more in the web or just ask any of ur friend who work as a manager in any fastfood outlet.

They're all frozen, I know. Want fresh? Buy a potato, not French fries. Buy a cattle, not hamburger.

...as for preservatives if you just buy a raw chicken drum from the market and steam it i dont think any preservatives is used.....

I can't help to comment, chicken today is different from chicken in older days- mainly feeding n injection. Veg now if less nutritious compare to the past -overcultivation

In the old days, my grandma kept live duck and chicken in the kitchen (HDB). Slaughter only when want to cook. :eek::D Her sister my grand aunt lived in old Hougang 6-milestone kampung. She also kept live pig.

Really surprised no one complained :eek:

Nothing against pigs & chickens but when I was young, lived in an area where a rooster would crow very early in the morning :)