• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Warmly Welcums Tiongs For Golden Week! Fuck HongKong oIo!

Mainland tourists skip HK for S'pore as city misses out on golden week bonanza
www.thestar.com.my

For months, Ye Rongchang and his wife had been planning to travel to Hong Kong for the week-long National Day holiday.

When the unrest started in June, he did not expect the protests to last until October, and had to reluctantly shelve his travel plans.

“As mainlanders who support the central government there’s no point in going there, ” the 72-year-old retired accountant from Shanghai said. “We only want to go to places where we can communicate and engage with the locals.”

He planned to visit Singapore instead.

The retiree is among thousands who have changed their travel plans for the “golden week” holiday. And destinations such as Singapore are benefiting as mainland Chinese tourists skip Hong Kong.

In July, the Southeast Asian city saw an additional 100,000 Chinese travellers: a 46% increase compared to June, when the first protests against the now-shelved extradition bill saw millions of Hongkongers taking to the streets. It also marked a year-on-year jump of 7.8% in the number of mainland Chinese visitors.

Hong Kong, on the other hand, saw a 5.5% year on year drop in tourists in July. In August, it fell further to 42.3%, according to the latest government data.

Analysts expect to see more mainland Chinese tourists visiting Singapore in the next couple of years, not only because of the unrest in Hong Kong, but also planning by the government.

“The growth in Singapore is a reflection of the longer term planning and investment approach that has been seen in Singapore, ” said Adam Bury, senior vice-president investment sales for Asia at JLL Hotels & Hospitality Group.

Chinese arrivals have been boosted by the partnership between Singapore Tourism Board (STB) and Alibaba Holding Group, which owns the South China Morning Post, and the continued investment in Changi Airport, he said.

Hong Kong hotels issue SOS as rates hit US$9 a night, occupancy 20 per cent

In April, STB and Alibaba signed a three year deal to co-market Singapore, enhance visitor experience and increase spending among Chinese tourists.

Changi Terminal 4, which started operation two years ago, has allowed increased flight capacity, and new facilities such as Jewel Changi – a nature-themed entertainment and retail complex has become extremely popular with visitors since it opened earlier this year.

The Jewel Changi is a new attraction at Singapore’s Changi Airport that has become popular with visitors. Photo: Bloomberg

Hong Kong’s tourism industry, on the other hand, is in the doldrums. Last week, Bloomberg reported that Chinese tour groups to Hong Kong were set to drop 86% for golden week, citing Hong Kong’s Travel Industry Council.

Hotels are expected to cut room rates this month by as much as 50% compared to last year.

In September, hotel occupancy rates slumped 30% year on year, while the average daily rate slipped 18%, according to STR, a data and analytics specialist.

“The Hong Kong tourism industry is depressed now, ” said Hong Kong tourism lawmaker Yiu Si-wing. “Singapore will directly benefit, immediately during the golden week.”

JLL also expects revenues of Singapore hotels to increase over the next couple of years.

“Continued future investment into Changi, with Terminal 5 already in planning, will help sustain this growth over the longer term, ” said Bury.

Lawmaker Yiu said that it would take one to two years for Hong Kong’s tourism industry to return to normal once the social unrest is resolved.

Additional reporting by Daniel Ren

Hypocrite-The

Tat is good means HK is cheaper for me to travel too...n no ah tiongs there means it's a true canto City once again. Buying my air ticket now

means more shit to clean up in the streets in sg.
That's true! In fact I was down at Orchard Road yesterday, lots of them around. Generally well behaved though, but a couple of irritating screaming Tiongs who can talk through me while I am standing in between them on a downward escalator. Limpei gave them a killer look and they shut their Jibuy gap. :biggrin:

Sideswipe

Singapore is so boring. why people like to come here ? some tourists said they like to visit SG zoo. knn their countries no zoos ?

Last time got Ah Meng so it was understandable.

Now?
Don't underestimate the power of the Singapore Branding in the eyes of Tiongs.

When I went to see a doctor in Shanghai, the chiobu doctor was very positive about Singapore. She told me that educated mainlanders prefer destinations like Sinkyland for vacations because they know they wouldn't be fleeced, unlike in their own domestic tourism backyards like 东北 areas. Singapore is generally preferred because they know their families, kids will be safe. Mandarin can also be spoken without much "relative" discrimination.

Mark9999

When I went to see a doctor in Shanghai, the chiobu doctor was very positive about Singapore. She told me that educated mainlanders prefer destinations like Sinkyland for vacations because they know they wouldn't be fleeced, unlike in their own domestic tourism backyards like 东北 areas. Singapore is generally preferred because they know their families, kids will be safe. Mandarin can also be spoken without much "relative" discrimination.

True. Many tourists cum here for their safety and our other attractions.
The grass is always greener on the other side.

greedy and cunning

It confirms my Belief once again that PAP is best to lead Singapore. Peace, harmony, stability, and moving forward, though at a slow pace, but acceptable to majority of sinkies. PAP is Bestest! :biggrin:
if honk kan police acted like the sillypoore police
the situation would not had deteriorated to the present situation.
HK coould have peace harmony stability and moving forward too

hong kan police are as stupid as the protesters

1570068657014.png
iro

if honk kan police acted like the sillypoore police
the situation would not had deteriorated to the present situation.
HK coould have peace harmony stability and moving forward too

hong kan police are as stupid as the protesters

Or maybe the 'Hongkie police' you see committing brutality on the protesters were disguised mainland 公安 or 武警.

Refer back to that day 1-2 months ago when police/military trucks were spotted driving into Hong Kong from Shenzhen. Carrie Lam said it was just a routine personnel swap. But those vehicles never went back to mainland China. :wink:

greedy and cunning

just like the idiots hong Kan kids ,
these group of so called educated mainlanders formed an opinion
with just a causal superficial knowledge about sillypoore

These 'educated' mainlanders definitely neber heard this :

SINGAPORE - The $26 million bill that Dr Susan Lim charged for her medical services to a
woman member of Brunei's royal family was eye-popping, to say the least.

or about the detention of people without trial

greedy and cunning

Or maybe the 'Hongkie police' you see committing brutality on the protesters were disguised mainland 公安 or 武警.

Refer back to that day 1-2 months ago when police/military trucks were spotted driving into Hong Kong from Shenzhen. Carrie Lam said it was just a routine personnel swap. But those vehicles never went back to mainland China. :wink:
whatever lah
disguised ah kong or ah mah is the same lah
they are just doing job to quell a riot
who started the disturbance in the first place ?
who behaved disorderly ?
you ate too much laksa and brain got damaged izzit ?
you logic is like - one or two persons can set fire to public place
or beat someone , and it is a crime
but a few hundreds , thousand doing it is legal. the police should just
sit back and watch.

greedy and cunning

so the chink police is very free and they disguised themselves as hongkan police
went to hong kong
then invited and instigated the brainless school kids to protest
in order to practise riot control ?
ask yourself who are the trouble makers in the first place.

whatever lah
disguised ah kong or ah mah is the same lah
they are just doing job to quell a riot
who started the disturbance in the first place ?
who behaved disorderly ?

Agent provocateurs sent in from the mainland, and a few bribed HK gangsters.

Demonizing peaceful protesters as rioters easily justifies the need for a crackdown. Bloodthirsty Chicom regime never changes its modus operandi. :wink:

https://www.renminbao.com/rmb/articles/2008/3/20/47253p.html

greedy and cunning

there are many youtube videos proofing
the americunt cia , a hongkie millionaire sucm
are behind this
yet you chose not to acknowledge them
just looking only at those the fit your flawed answwer.
how to argue with a biased small boy
go eat your laksa and keep quiet , can ?