• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"Singapore Siu Dai" author Felix Cheong asks: where and why SG lost its soul

Singapore writer laments that Singapore has lost its soul
By Michelle Kwara | SingaporeScene – 17 hours ago

d80de410-bef9-11e3-a3ec-0315efec52af_630yahoo_felixcheong.jpg

Singapore writer Felix Cheong and his new book Singapore Siu Dai: The SG Conversation in a
Cup.

Singapore writer Felix Cheong wants to know where and why the country has lost its soul.

He said, “We have become this glamour city, full of chrome and glass, tall iconic buildings, but no soul.”

Cheong, author of short stories collection “Vanishing Point”, takes on this issue in his new book, along with hot-button topics like transport, education and economic growth.

Called “Singapore Siu Dai”, which translates to “less sugar” in Hokkien, it is a collection of 50 short stories that satirize life in Singapore.

Having previously written poetry collections and fiction novels, this is Cheong’s ninth book and his first foray into humorous fiction.

The 49-year-old writer feels strongly about the political themes he tackles in his book. Civil servants are satirized in the book, depicted as characters who form the government’s elite but who do not see people as people.

He said, “We have been in this same status quo for far too long. After 50 years, I think it’s time something changes.”

He rejects what he describes as the “siege mentality” of the government, which often warns that “we are under siege all the time, we are a small country, we have no natural resources, and we need to grow by 2 percent, 5 percent.”

While Cheong appreciates that the country needs economic growth, he does not think it should be “at the expense of soft skills, of people skills, of EQ skills.”

Disappointed with the Singapore Conversation dialogue sessions held in 2013, which he felt had “a very top-down approach”,he decided to use his book to ease people into political conversations using ordinary situations they can relate to and laugh about.

“If a writer were to write a ‘Singapore Conversation’, what would it sound like? So it exploded into this series, in which a citizen talks back to the government.”

He quipped, “The regime now is more open, this book would not have seen the light of day 25 years ago.”

His stories also explore some of the different behaviours he observes among Singaporeans. According to Cheong, “we like to be seen as cosmopolitan, yet we have very third-world behaviours like spitting, lack of graciousness, littering and so on.”

He added, “There is this huge disparity in making the jump from third to first world in one generation. We have not caught up in terms of our behavior, like queuing up overnight and fighting over Hello Kitty.”

That’s not to say that Cheong does not indulge in any Singaporean quirks. “Being Singaporean, I am naturally kiasu,” he said. He carries around a collection of vouchers in an envelope, as he never knows when he might get to use them.

Cheong took inspiration for the stories from personal experiences, the discourse among his friends, and from whatever issues that struck him.

A series on matchmakers was inspired by conversations he had with real-life matchmakers about their clients, such as married people who were still looking for dates.

He particularly enjoyed writing the stories about the misadventures of three Ah Bengs. “I had lots of fun writing about them, it came very naturally to me,” he said. “Maybe it’s the HDB Ah Beng in me talking,” he joked.

Published by Ethos Books, the book was launched in February and has received praise from humourist Neil Humphreys and creator of Singapore’s satirical news show “The Noose”, Prem Anand.

Still keen to tackle more issues concerning Singapore, Cheong has a sequel lined up. Due in September this year, it is tentatively titled “Singapore Siu Dai 2: The SG conversation, upsized”.

"Singapore writer Felix Cheong wants to know where and why the country has lost its soul."

The answer is very obvious, people think too much about the 5Cs and think less about the well-being of other people. Charlotte Ashton say that people here lack thoughtfulness due to running in the rat race.

Singapore try too much to be like ang moh city in the end loses out in developing personality.

"No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money. - Matthew 6:24

If the term 'God' irks you then replace it with spirituality or kindness or soul. It still remains true.

A PAP-run Singapore serves only money. They claim its for 'national survival' but the reality is that they're lining their own pockets.

You can see the parallels in CHC - Kong Hee exhorts his congregation to give generously to please God and receive multi-fold blessings, but in truth he uses up that money to buy a home in Sentosa Cove and fund his wife's pop singing career.

Singapore writer Felix Cheong wants to know where and why the country has lost its soul.

Called “Singapore Siu Dai”, which translates to “less sugar” in Hokkien, it is a collection of 50 short stories that satirize life in Singapore.

[/COLOR]

how come siu dai become hokkien? it bloody cantonese, it a cantonese phrase being wrongly use by hokkien coffee sellers as less sugar.

when was dai mean sugar in hokkien? sugar in hokkien is teng. dai my arse.

btw dai dont mean sugar in cantonese too but dai mean bottom literally. so go wanton mee stall order wanton mee with extra noodle, just tell the stall operator u want "gaw dai" or "siu dai" if want less noodle. BUT siu is cantonese for LESS.

singapore how can dont lose it soul when the bloody author dont even know siu dai is not hokkien.

going by his surname cheong, the author either a hakka or cantonese. BLOODY IDIOT!!!

how come siu dai become hokkien? it bloody cantonese, it a cantonese phrase being wrongly use by hokkien coffee sellers as less sugar.

btw dai dont mean sugar in cantonese too but dai mean bottom literally. so go wanton mee stall order wanton mee with extra noodle, just tell the stall operator u want "gaw dai" or "siu dai" if want less noodle. BUT siu is cantonese for LESS.

These days it sounds more like Vietnamese or Burmese. Singapore in 2014. :D

In the past people who escaped were called quitters. Now it is called losing ones soul:D

For decades people have been trying to escape from Spore. Just visit any 1st world embassies & you will find the long queues.
Can you blame the "lesser mortals" who want to escape to greener pastures:confused: Spore is run by one family & we have seen what happens to those who disagree: jail, bankruptcy, intimidation,....

Yes a most interesting subject indeed. I shall buy a copy.

That is why PAP and its Cronies MUST BE BOOTED OUT as soon as possible.

Chase all these Scumbag Angmos and FTs Out too!

Giant already have shelves for pinoy stuff liao. it wont be long for FTrash langugues to be incorporate into Singlish.

Funny, I thought the Pinoys pride themselves on their stellar command of the English language? They're supposedly number one in SE Asia?

Why would they need signs written in Tagalog for groceries? :rolleyes:

My take on this is that Singapore's "soul" is currently being defined. The last decade or two has experience rapid changes in technology and economic activity and that the island is transitting somewhere in the midst of all these and has not found where it wants to settle. The previous societal norms and kampong ways have suddenly been removed and replaced by an international culture and these changes have yet to settle down for the local people. Growing up in laid back sarabat stalls and lazy tropical seaside lives, the people suddenly find themselves in the midst of international branded goods, restaurants, cultural shows, and travellers. And money.

Singapore is a small country in a fast changing world. Her old kampong ways will only exist as nostalgia, and she is too small to influence the rest of the world culturally. She will be absorbed by international standards, styles, and behaviour.

.........Singapore writer Felix Cheong wants to know where and why the country has lost its soul...................

Pinoys Must be Exterminated from Sinkapore!

Singapore writer laments that Singapore has lost its soul
By Michelle Kwara | SingaporeScene – 17 hours ago
d80de410-bef9-11e3-a3ec-0315efec52af_630yahoo_felixcheong.jpg

Singapore writer Felix Cheong and his new book Singapore Siu Dai: The SG Conversation in a
Cup.
He said, “We have become this glamour city, full of chrome and glass, tall iconic buildings, but no soul.”
Cheong, author of short stories collection “Vanishing Point”, takes on this issue in his new book, along with hot-button topics like transport, education and economic growth.
Having previously written poetry collections and fiction novels, this is Cheong’s ninth book and his first foray into humorous fiction.
The 49-year-old writer feels strongly about the political themes he tackles in his book. Civil servants are satirized in the book, depicted as characters who form the government’s elite but who do not see people as people.
He said, “We have been in this same status quo for far too long. After 50 years, I think it’s time something changes.”
He rejects what he describes as the “siege mentality” of the government, which often warns that “we are under siege all the time, we are a small country, we have no natural resources, and we need to grow by 2 percent, 5 percent.”
While Cheong appreciates that the country needs economic growth, he does not think it should be “at the expense of soft skills, of people skills, of EQ skills.”
Disappointed with the Singapore Conversation dialogue sessions held in 2013, which he felt had “a very top-down approach”,he decided to use his book to ease people into political conversations using ordinary situations they can relate to and laugh about.
“If a writer were to write a ‘Singapore Conversation’, what would it sound like? So it exploded into this series, in which a citizen talks back to the government.”
He quipped, “The regime now is more open, this book would not have seen the light of day 25 years ago.”
His stories also explore some of the different behaviours he observes among Singaporeans. According to Cheong, “we like to be seen as cosmopolitan, yet we have very third-world behaviours like spitting, lack of graciousness, littering and so on.”
He added, “There is this huge disparity in making the jump from third to first world in one generation. We have not caught up in terms of our behavior, like queuing up overnight and fighting over Hello Kitty.”
That’s not to say that Cheong does not indulge in any Singaporean quirks. “Being Singaporean, I am naturally kiasu,” he said. He carries around a collection of vouchers in an envelope, as he never knows when he might get to use them.
Cheong took inspiration for the stories from personal experiences, the discourse among his friends, and from whatever issues that struck him.
A series on matchmakers was inspired by conversations he had with real-life matchmakers about their clients, such as married people who were still looking for dates.
He particularly enjoyed writing the stories about the misadventures of three Ah Bengs. “I had lots of fun writing about them, it came very naturally to me,” he said. “Maybe it’s the HDB Ah Beng in me talking,” he joked.
Published by Ethos Books, the book was launched in February and has received praise from humourist Neil Humphreys and creator of Singapore’s satirical news show “The Noose”, Prem Anand.
Still keen to tackle more issues concerning Singapore, Cheong has a sequel lined up. Due in September this year, it is tentatively titled “Singapore Siu Dai 2: The SG conversation, upsized”.

Since the PAP moved the goal posts so that they could easily win elections...
In some countries, politicians murder their opponents/ stuff ballot boxes, in Singapore, they just change the rules/ move the goal post for no rhyme/ reason....

there is no need for the GRC system at all considering that the NCMP system (which currently ensures at least 9 opposition MPs a presence in parliament) will work just as fine to guarantee a minimum number of minority race MPs in parliament (although like the maturing opposition in parliament today: they might not need to utilize the minimum quota if they do well enough):

Intoparliamentjpg.jpg
[IMG source]

THE PAP’S GRC SYSTEM : WILL IT BACKFIRE?
...Singapore’s system of Group Representation Constituency (GRC) was implemented in 1988. The excuse given by the PAP Government for the need to have a GRC system was to ensure the nation’s parliament would be multi-racial, instead of comprising members of a single race.
Of course, many Singaporeans found the PAP’s excuse strange as there was no lack of minority race MPs in parliament then. For examples, there were Jayakumar, Vasoo, Ahmad Mattar, Chandra Das, Othman, Dhanabalan and JB Jeyaretnam.
In fact, out of 79 Single Member Constituency (SMC) seats in General Election 1984, 20% were already held by minority race MPs – a figure which was higher than the percentage of seats reserved for minority race candidates, after the GRC scheme came into effect.
http://therealsingapore.com/content/pap’s-grc-system-will-it-backfire

Since financial dignity replaced moral decency...

E.g. "dignity"= an excuse to get more fingers into the national cookie $$$ jar...
"If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals. Hence, a reasonable payout will help to maintain a bit of dignity."
YqUYU.jpg
[IMG URL]

I
UOTE=sleaguepunter;1840925]how come siu dai become hokkien? it bloody cantonese, it a cantonese phrase being wrongly use by hokkien coffee sellers as less sugar.

singapore how can dont lose it soul when the bloody author dont even know siu dai is not hokkien.

going by his surname cheong, the author either a hakka or cantonese. BLOODY IDIOT!!![/QUOTE]

...Lol..iirc.. It is hai lam dialect.

Funny, I thought the Pinoys pride themselves on their stellar command of the English language? They're supposedly number one in SE Asia?

Why would they need signs written in Tagalog for groceries? :rolleyes:

Pinoy speaks the worst English, as a "matter a fact" becomes "as a matter of Fuck!"

Bank = Bunk
Black = Blood
Coke = Cock

A Pinoy lady serving behind the counter at MacDonald, my fren bought burger and a coke,
the Pinoy lady said, Sir, you want to up side your cock?
My fren replied why? my cock not big enough?
Pinoy lady , said "No Sir"
My fren just laugh it off!