• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Press vs Social Media - Unveiling of the PAP

The PAP's policies are the root cause of our discontent and hardship. (not to take credit away - they have done well in most economic policies). Take population. This has vital strategic consequences. Their policies have made it difficult and costly to bring up children and instead of helping Singaporeans do that, they short cut by importing. We built this country in the early decades without their lemming-like approach to immigration and we can still do it. Foreign talent is fine as long as they are not hooligans disguised as options traders who get drunk and beat up our taxi drivers. And get away with just a fine because they are white.

This government loves bragging rights. So why can't we give free textbooks to school children up to say, O Levels, cap student transport at 50 cents for MRT and 20 cents for buses regardless of distance, edusave for all kids even if you have 10 children. Make it less costly for Singaporeans to raise kids. This isn't welfare where you simply give money away; it is subsidizing for a greater good. Isn't that what they always preach? For the greater good? The PAP must stop reacting and start giving, stop calculating and put the "People" back into the People's Action Party. We have the money. We have GST. We have very good civil servants who know where the money can be found to do this.

Motherhood statements and apologies will no longer win them votes. First they have to win back our trust with deeds.

Very well said. Even a school kid can understand this but PAP just refuses to listen. I suppose the taste of absolute power is too good to let go.

From now on they will face wave of repurcussion hiting them one after another, starting from the EP.

Well said.
The social media is simply performing the sort of investigative journalism that SPH journalists should have been doing over the last 5 decades.Had the journalists not been muzzled all these years, politicians would be a lot more adept at handling the social media onslaught. As you can see, it's not just sinkies peasants that have been mollycoddled. The govt has led an even more sheltered life. What they need is a bit of foreign competition and some spurs dug into their sides.

The world financial monitors and fund managers including many of the leading bourses threatened to remove Singapore blue chip stocks from regional and worldwide indices. There was no transparency. When you delist blue chips like Singtel, SIA, ST etc, the immediate effect will be a sharp drop in their value. Fund managers and most people can't monitor everything so they tend to pick stocks make up indices.

Temasek finally relented.

GIC on the other hand has very little in stocks but have extensive investments in land, properties and direct equity in companies with preferential status. Thus they would not be impacted as much as Temasek.

I remember back in 2009 there was a big outcry in cyberspace about TH's losses and investments in failed banks whose equity has collapsed in the wake of the financial crisis. The funny thing is how on earth did people like us ever got to know TH or GIC invested in those banks. Turns out they were forced to report it because foreign media had reported it.And how did foreign media get to know about those investments and divestments? TH invested and divested Merrill Lynch (under BoA) and under SEC rules they were forced to make a declaration of their holdings. This applies if they had bought a sizeable chunk of the company which they had done so. If you left it up to ST to do the reporting nothing would have been said. Essentially the blogosphere and cyberspace, just like foreign media, is forcing SPH's hand in reporting things they will not otherwise report. If they still did nothing even though other sources reported them, they'll end up being seen as nothing more censored state media.On the other hand this also means that if TH and GIC did dirty unreported dealings with closed regimes where free media and disclosure laws are non-existent, no one will know anything about it.

I hear you bro and agree 100%. The bragging is the one that gives false hope to everyone.People are up in arms because these a certainly not talent but cheap labour. The ones who are qualified have baddest manners and very poor social skills. Prams in crowded buses, no courtesy, shouting at the locals, abusing privileges etc - the list goes on.
The PAP's policies are the root cause of our discontent and hardship. (not to take credit away - they have done well in most economic policies). Take population. This has vital strategic consequences. Their policies have made it difficult and costly to bring up children and instead of helping Singaporeans do that, they short cut by importing. We built this country in the early decades without their lemming-like approach to immigration and we can still do it. Foreign talent is fine as long as they are not hooligans disguised as options traders who get drunk and beat up our taxi drivers. And get away with just a fine because they are white.This government loves bragging rights. So why can't we give free textbooks to school children up to say, O Levels, cap student transport at 50 cents for MRT and 20 cents for buses regardless of distance, edusave for all kids even if you have 10 children. Make it less costly for Singaporeans to raise kids. This isn't welfare where you simply give money away; it is subsidizing for a greater good. Isn't that what they always preach? For the greater good? The PAP must stop reacting and start giving, stop calculating and put the "People" back into the People's Action Party. We have the money. We have GST. We have very good civil servants who know where the money can be found to do this.Motherhood statements and apologies will no longer win them votes. First they have to win back our trust with deeds.

Bro, you just spoilt my Sunday. I was pretending that Kate tIn was just a dream. The prostitutes from the brothel have been managing her propaganda since the GE ended. A real waste of space.
The social media is a write-off the PAP, no thanks to the incessant and condescending manner of the way the SPH has been reporting the "news" - they might as well rename it the PAP Daily "News"Letter. Letters unfavourable to the party or government are ignored. They don't get it (as usual) that in communications and reaching out to the people, it is the CONTENTS and not just the AVENUE. Just as they claimed that Rin Tin Tin was drafted in to reach out to the young. What happened? The young could not take to her. Arrival of Nicole Seah debunked their earlier contention that the fury Tin Tin attracted was her age and gender. (According to the now departed Lim Hwee Hwa). Arrival of Nicole Seah debunked all that crap.Then they featured Tin Tin in the Brothel Press that she was good at reaching out to the old in McPherson. And when THAT did not work, they showed her inspecting drains. These lies of self-deception are not unknown to them. Which is why Wooden Goh was the guest of honour at the recent National Day celebrations in McPherson, with Tin Tin playing the supporting role of a favoured daughter, running around like a school girl and getting her "father's" approval.

Good one bro. Did not catch it until the second pass. And you are right - it's indeed TCH who is pulling the string. He has taken his wife out NTUC procurement department into a covert foundation within NTUC as she got flamed here about 2 years ago.
we need to start planting bugs in T.C.H's lumbering backyard :p:p:p

Spot on. but anonymity that has given the social media and internet fora its bite will never be accepted in MSM. Because of anonym ity, people dare to post whatever they feel liek saying, for the most part honestly but not always politically correct. Until that day comes when MSM can do the same, it will not get ordinary citizens voicing out candidly anti-estab views for fear of reprisals of any kind. The history of newspapers here have been littered with derring-do editors and media owners who got on the wrong side of PAP, but not nec the wrong side of democracy, social order or law.

The social media is simply performing the sort of investigative journalism that SPH journalists should have been doing over the last 5 decades.

Had the journalists not been muzzled all these years, politicians would be a lot more adept at handling the social media onslaught.

As you can see, it's not just sinkies peasants that have been mollycoddled. The govt has led an even more sheltered life. What they need is a bit of foreign competition and some spurs dug into their sides.

Yes you are right. This is the thing that is bugging them. There seems to be no solution.
Dun think he is worried about lambasting policies by people/netizen/lunatics fringe/whatever. It is the inability of the Government to "control" the social media that worries him.

The problem why they dare not be wrong or cannot be seen to be wrong is from last time they need to lead the country out of the slumps. I say they did a good job and won the people faith in them. After that they cannot do wrong is because the million dollar salary. Now the salary is review, there is hope that they can no need be so uptight and we can work things out together.

The trouble is a million dollars may deter corruption but it doesnt assure we have quality Ministers on the job. And taking 5 years before we can sack them is too long a time to let an idiot loose in a Ministry. They want to model after the private sector's salary takeins but corporations hire and fire any incompetent CEO well short of 5 years, even less than 5 months. And if the incompetent Minister hides behind a GRC, he may just come back again.

The problem why they dare not be wrong or cannot be seen to be wrong is from last time they need to lead the country out of the slumps. I say they did a good job and won the people faith in them. After that they cannot do wrong is because the million dollar salary. Now the salary is review, there is hope that they can no need be so uptight and we can work things out together.

The social media is a write-off the PAP, no thanks to the incessant and condescending manner of the way the SPH has been reporting the "news" - they might as well rename it the PAP Daily "News"Letter. Letters unfavourable to the party or government are ignored.

They don't get it (as usual) that in communications and reaching out to the people, it is the CONTENTS and not just the AVENUE. Just as they claimed that Rin Tin Tin was drafted in to reach out to the young. What happened? The young could not take to her. Arrival of Nicole Seah debunked their earlier contention that the fury Tin Tin attracted was her age and gender. (According to the now departed Lim Hwee Hwa). Arrival of Nicole Seah debunked all that crap.

Then they featured Tin Tin in the Brothel Press that she was good at reaching out to the old in McPherson. And when THAT did not work, they showed her inspecting drains. These lies of self-deception are not unknown to them. Which is why Wooden Goh was the guest of honour at the recent National Day celebrations in McPherson, with Tin Tin playing the supporting role of a favoured daughter, running around like a school girl and getting her "father's" approval.

Exactly...Rin Tin2 is a bungle that will haunt them for years...no body dared to say no to her candidature after LHL "endorsed" her ( and why not since her husband is his COS ) but her selection over many others more capable ( think the President scholar/doctor who was fielded as a last minute sub in TP GRC ) including a senior SPF scholar very active in WKS' GRC now seconded to the Admin Service will see less acceptance of tea party invites from credible and good potential candidates for GE2016 . The digging out of past skeletons in TT's case which has affected his familiy/their private lives will also be a disincentive. The reason that GCT got the starring role in the McPherson NDP celebrations is that the RC was worried that turnout would be poor if Rin Tin2 was the star attraction.

Only after they do not have 2/3 majority in Parliament will they understand the need to change.