• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore announces 60 percent pay raise for ministers

The next installment of the hike is due year end, right? Sporns will remain diam diam as they kena pay cut, retrenchment and conned by Minibombs?

Singapore announces 60 percent pay raise for ministers

By Seth Mydans Published: April 9, 2007

SINGAPORE: How much money does it take to keep a Singapore government minister happy? The government says a million dollars is not enough, and on Monday it announced a 60 percent boost in ministers' salaries, to an average of 1.9 million Singapore dollars, or $1.26 million, by next year.
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong will see his pay jump to 3.1 million Singapore dollars, five times the $400,000 earned by President George W. Bush.
In this nation where the bottom line truly is the bottom line, the argument goes, you've got to pay to get them and you've got to pay to keep them.
"If we don't do that, in the long term, the government system will slowly crumble and collapse," Defense Minister Teo Chee Hean told reporters last month.
As the minister who oversees the civil service, Teo announced the pay hikes Monday, saying: "We don't want pay to be the reason for people to join us. But we also don't want pay to be the reason for them not to join us, or to leave after joining us."
Related Articles

World leader salary comparison
Today in Asia - Pacific
2 Western executives shot and killed in KabulEx-leader uses blog to needle Malaysian governmentTo counter problems of global hunger, try spudsIt is a pay system created in 1994 by Singapore's founder, Lee Kuan Yew, pegging the salaries of government ministers and top civil servants to the money they might earn at the top of the private sector.
Defending the system last month against an unusual public yelp of pain, Lee Kuan Yew painted a horrifying picture of a Singapore governed by ministers who earn no more than ministers anywhere else.
"Your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is," he said, "your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people's countries."
Singapore has one of the most efficient and corruption-free governments in the world.
It is Asia's second-richest country after Japan, with a gross domestic product per capita of about $31,000, and Lee said it could well afford to pay its leaders top dollar.
The total of the salaries before the increase amounted to 46 million Singapore dollars a year, he said, or 0.13 percent of government expenditure - 0.022 percent of gross domestic product.
Under the government's formula, ministers are to be paid two-thirds of the median of the top eight earners in each of six professions: accounting, law, banking, engineering, multinational companies and local manufacturing.
There has been no public sign of discontent among the men and women who run Singapore, but last month the prime minister noted that they were earning just 55 percent of this benchmark.
"We don't want pay to be the reason for people to join us," Teo said Monday in announcing the pay hikes. "But we also don't want pay to be the reason for them not to join us, or to leave after joining us."
Talk of the impending pay increase drew an outcry here for weeks that included letters to newspapers and an online petition that has collected more than 800 signatures.
The average Singaporean earns something over $2,000 a month, and the government has voiced concern over a widening gap between rich and poor.
The ministerial raise comes three months ahead of a 2 percent increase in the sales tax.
Mohamad Rosle Ahmad wrote in a letter to the editor: "I am sure Enron and Worldcom paid more than top dollar for their top executives, and look where their companies are now - six feet under."
Lee Kuan Yew, whose title is minister mentor, said naysayers like this need a reality check.
"I say you have no sense of proportion; you don't know what life is about," he said last month.
"The cure to all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent government," Lee said. "You get that alternative, and you'll never put Singapore together again."
He presented himself as an example: "A top lawyer, which I could easily have become, today earns 4 million Singapore dollars. And he doesn't have to carry this responsibility. All he's got to do is advise his client. Win or lose, that's the client's loss or gain."
The Straits Times newspaper quoted him as saying his current salary as minister mentor was 2.7 million Singapore dollars.
Money may buy happiness for a government minister, but some Singaporeans suggested that other motivations should also come into play for government service.
"What about other redeeming intangibles such as honor and sense of duty, dedication, passion and commitment, loyalty and service?" asked Hussin Mutalib in the Straits Times' online forum recently.
Carolyn Lim, a prominent writer, suggested in an essay in The Straits Times that Singapore needed a little more heart to go along with its hard head. "Indeed, a brilliant achiever without the high purpose of service to others would be the worst possible ministerial material," she wrote.

"To see a potential prime minister as no different from a potential top lawyer, and likely to be enticed by the same stupendous salary, would be to blur the lines between two very different domains."
The minister mentor brushed aside concerns like that.
"Those are admirable sentiments," he said. "But we live in a real world."

Ministers, top civil servants to get 4% to 21% pay rise in Jan

Thursday, 13 December 2007, 11:31 pm | 283 views

LHL.jpg
Breaking News:
From the Straits Times.
By Lynn Lee
SINGAPORE‘S ministers and top civil servants will start the New Year with a pay increase, ranging from 4 per cent to 21 per cent.
This is the second phase of an increase that was decided on in April.
Under the revised salary package announced by the Public Service Division (PSD) on Thursday, ministers at the starting grade will take home $1.94 million next year - an increase of 21 per cent over this year’s $1.6 million.
MPs and administrative officers - the elite of the civil service - will see their salaries going up by around 4 per cent or more.

The changes come after the first round of pay hikes in April, when the Government also announced that civil service salaries would be adjusted over time to keep pace with private sector benchmarks.
Minister-in-charge of the Civil Service Teo Chee Hean said on Thursday that the move was in keeping with April’s announcement. ‘Public sector salaries move up and down with the market. In this tight labour market, private sector salaries have moved up significantly, as the benchmark figures show. The service needs to follow promptly in order to attract and retain good people,’ said Mr Teo, who is also the Defence Minister.
But he noted that actual pay would still be tied to performance. This includes individual performance and how the economy does. ‘We are careful to link rewards closely to performance. We have increased the proportion of annual salary that is variable. At the senior levels as much as 50 per cent of the annual salary is now performance-based,’ he said.
With the pay revision, the annual salary for President SR Nathan will go up from $3.1 million this year to $3.87 million in 2008, the Prime Minister’s from $3.09 million to $3.76 million, ministers and senior permanent secretaries, from $1.593 million to $1.94 million, entry superscale grade Admin officers, from $384,000 to $398,000 and MPs, from $216,300 to $225,000 (see tables below).
Their pay increases will come in the form of a higher monthly salary and a fatter performance bonus.
For instance, ministers at the entry grade of MR4 will get an average of 9 months performance bonus, on top of the GDP bonus, which can fall between 3 and 8 months, depending on econommic growth.
In a statement, the PSD said that this round of changes would bring MR4 salaries to 77 per cent of the private sector benchmarks, to which it is pegged. The April revisions had brought it to 73 per cent of the benchmark.
The benchmark is set at two-thirds of the median pay of the top 8 earners in banking, law, engineering and accountancy, as well as employees of multinational corporations and local manufacturers.
This was $2.2 million as of April but has been revised to $2.7 million when calculating next year’s pay.

Read also Bumper payrise in private sector pushes up govt salary benchmark
—————————
PM Lee Hsien Loong’s salary will go up from $3.09 million to $3.76 million following the latest pay revision, but like in April, he will be donating his pay increases to charity. — PHOTO: AFP

1)<!--</div>--> Robert HO on December 14th, 2007 6.50 am
RH: Basically, the PAP Ministers regard themselves, not as public servants serving the people, but as Warren Buffets and George Soros’s thereby equally deserving of the kind of ridiculous private sector CEO emoluments in the West. Of course, they cannot grow the wealth of the country like the Buffets and Soros’s and the GDP is just another falsely rigged statistic with which to justify this kind of excess and largesse. CEOs in the West are sacked when they underperform but in Singapore, since elections are rigged [see my blogs], the PAP Ministers stay forever, beholden to no one and thus do anything they want and pay themselves anything they want, needing just cosmetic excuses like pegging to private sector CEOs emoluments.

While we cannot rule out another attempt to raise their million-dollar salaries, I do think your thread title has been a little misleading.

After all, you used two articles that were of the recent past; people might have believed it's really a current article from this year, but it isn't.

So, I thought I had to point this out, and I hope you present your case a bit more factually. No offence, brother.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">6:17 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>1810.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>They claim Sporns will still be getting awesome pay increments and bonuses woh! More SHAMELESS than the Wall St conmen! Still dun want to revolt?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=591 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=newstitle width=328>Singapore News</TD><TD class=newstitle vAlign=bottom align=right width=263 colSpan=3><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=259 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD align=right width=143></TD><TD width=99></TD><TD><!--<td width="58"></td>--></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" colSpan=4>
shim.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=596 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3 height=26> </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=5> </TD><TD vAlign=top width=591 colSpan=2>HR experts say most firms will still give out bonuses this year
By Imelda Saad, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 25 October 2008 2050 hrs
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD align=right width=240>
phplyCFoM.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top height=60> </TD><TD class=update vAlign=top height=60><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=138 bgColor=#f6f6f6>Photos </TD><TD width=47 bgColor=#f6f6f6>1 of 1</TD><TD width=18 bgColor=#f6f6f6></TD><TD width=19 bgColor=#f6f6f6></TD><TD width=18 bgColor=#f6f6f6></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=update> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>Related Videos </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top bgColor=#cccccc>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>HR experts say most firms will still give out bonuses this year</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
SINGAPORE: Salary experts have put the pay increment forecast for end-2008 at anything between zero and 3 per cent, on the back of a weakening economy. However, bonuses should still be on the cards for most companies.

Human resource consultants said companies may slash their year-end pay increments or even cut salaries.

Paul Heng, managing director, Next Career Consulting Group Asia, said: "The companies are at liberty to either freeze the monthly variable component (MVC) or they can actually reduce the quantum that is put in the MVC to keep the company afloat."

But even at an optimistic 3 per cent pay hike, real wages are expected to shrink, with inflation coming in at between 6 and 7 per cent this year.

"I think a budget has already been set for 2008, so companies may still go ahead with the 13th month. Many companies peg their variable components to performance targets.

"If performance targets are met, I think it's difficult for companies not to pay off bonuses. But for any kind of bonuses in terms of profitability, I think companies may be wise to actually hold back to see how things may pan out in 2009," said Heng.

But experts have warned that if the global economy slides further south, then 2009 is going to look much worse.

The current situation is very different from the SARS period in 2003 and the 97/98 Asian financial crisis. This time round, analysts said it is a global challenge and both businesses and governments are not quite sure how to react.

The government is expected to implement the third phase of salary adjustment for civil servants, including ministers, at year's end to close the gap between public and private sector pay.

The target, for example, is to move the pay of staff under the MR4 grade to 88 per cent of the benchmark by the end this year. MR4 grade officers include permanent secretaries and ministers.

The Staff Grade 1 (MR4) benchmark is pegged to two-thirds of the income of the 24th highest earner, among a group comprising the top eight earners from six professions – bankers, lawyers, engineers, accountants, local manufacturers and MNCs. The benchmark is currently S$2.2 million.

=> But are Sporns' pay pegged to the highest paid in developed countries?

But given the current economic climate, human resource experts said the government may just hold off any pay revision for now.

Derek Berry, Mercer's business leader, Human Capital (ASEAN), said: "The need to adjust salaries comes in attracting and retaining talent, and how much competition there is to do that. If there's a softening in the economy, that will go down and therefore, there will be less need.

"I think the Singapore government... would likely, from a messaging point of view, either reduce it or defer it. And given that we've got a very bumpy economy at the moment, I'd probably want to see it more stable before I'd want to push through with something like that."

The Public Service Division has said it would need some time to study the private sector data and salary trends before coming to a decision on any pay increment.

- CNA/so
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

That is old news, isn't it?

Does it matter? As long as you think the pay is not justifiable, it does not matter that it was last year or a year before. Did life get better this year after the pay rise? By most accounts, things got worse.

That's why people have anniversaries for important events like D-Day, national day etc. People tend to forget the pain and lesson.

I know you hate the PAP, moniker makapaaa. But I expect better argumentation from you, if you wish to represent the opposition. You would make JBJ turn in his grave unnecessarily.

Comrade,

did moniker makapaa say he hates PAP?

this is a forum, let us be fair to monikers.

I know you hate the PAP, moniker makapaaa. But I expect better argumentation from you, if you wish to represent the opposition. You would make JBJ turn in his grave unnecessarily.

take all lah.give more lah.increase pay lah...take the whole coffers lah...no matter now for the world is going to suffer..pay rise or pay cut...suffering acute suffering will follow.dead meat all.

Comrade,

did moniker makapaa say he hates PAP?

this is a forum, let us be fair to monikers.

The likes the clintonxxx, cassyyy, divzzz and myo### sure "hate" the truth of their owners' leegal corruption being exposed.

I know you work for the PAP, moniker division1. But I expect better argumentation from you, if you wish to represent your masters. You would lead LKY to his grave. :D

The cost of BUYING loyalty?
cost of buying loyalty should be the other way round! they should have been giving 22% discount to the tariff, and not give themselves a 21% pay raise, after hiking the tariff (21%).

maybe i misunderstood u. u meant buying loyalty of their own ministers?

cost of buying loyalty should be the other way round! they should have been giving 22% discount to the tariff, and not give themselves a 21% pay raise, after hiking the tariff (21%).

maybe i misunderstood u. u meant buying loyalty of their own ministers?

Yes if the ministers & civil servants are going to get bonuses the 21% hikes are needed. They need the loyalty of the civil servants(police, army, news media,...)

PAP is taking the citizens for granted. Hope they get taught a lesson like our neighbours in the north. ;)

Fuck You!!!
It is not necessary to quote the late JBJ in your posting.

I expect you to suck my dickhead properly before you post reasonably. But you have been sucking LKY dying dickhead instead, dont you realize it is a grave mistake?

That goes to show which side of the bread is better buttered.
To those of you who are discontented with this govt's deeds and actions, please be patient, collectively lets wait for the next guy to come forward and act on our behalf. Seems elections coming, therefore bound to give freebies[from public coffers], at the same time telling voters that theres more from where it came and to vote wisely.
Season's greetings.[/SIZE]

This may be old news to some people,but to the unemployed PMET, -Professionals, Managers, Executives and Technicians-it sure get you agitated.

I have been there,so I can appreciate their feelings,PAP fuckers & traitors,they deserve this curse diring the Chinese new year.Akll the fiar minded Spore citizens should see to it that they are cursed.