• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore a 'medical' hub? Not so

redbull313

Thank you for your interest in Australia and America. It must be hard on you to write about this while trying to get the FT nurses to understand you in a Singapore hospital. :biggrin:

Well, Australia do have good doctors. We also attract the best foreign ones from the developing countries because US don't grant them the visas.

An average American will also find it hard to access 1) JOHNS HOPKINS 2) MT SINAI 3) MAYO CLINIC 4) etc 5) etc 6) etc.

Perhaps the 36 million Americans can exchange their food stamps for the hospital fees, but alas, they will starve anyway.

All this thanks to the policies of school lecturer turned central banker, Ben the Helicoptor.

Since we are on the topic ....
Why can't Americans just have a proper central Banker like Glenn Stevens. The Brits are no better, they selected a chap who wanted to reverse Maggie's policies just when it is working.

God bless America!
God save the Queen!

Joshie boy you stepped in the shit big time.

I can visit John's Hopkins or the Mayo Clinic or even Sloan or any of the best hospitals cause they are all open on my Aetna PPO. And to see any of these doctors I have to pay 35 dollars as they are in network for me and many millions of other Americans. If I need to be hospitalized my max out of pocket per hospitalization is 707.50 regardless of how much the bill is. Even at MD Anderson if need be.

Just go to Aetna docfind and see for yourself. Makes you jealous, huh? Maybe you should call Blue Cross, Aetna, Humana, etc and blast them for making this possible while you wallow in your pathetic sub-standard care funded by the sweat and rank stench of 46% taxes.

So sorry to blast you like this and make you look like the dumb ass you are, but the truth is the truth.

And thank god I am not in Australia for if I got sick I would rather be here or in Singapore at Gleneagles not waiting in some crumbling shitty state run hospital that even 46% taxes cant run properly waiting your turn in some socialist line. Fuck that.

Wow I love to make you look like an ass, Joshie Boy.

IWC2006

Frankly, first time, I heard of aussies coming to Singapore for elective surgery. They can get elective surgery done without waiting done in Australia if they have the money or medical insurance by going private. The quality of medicine is much better in Australia. Singaporeans use to head to Sydney for bypass under Victor Chang until it became available in the late 80s in Singapore.

If don't have the money they certainly can't do it in Singapore.

The only worthy for Aussies to be in sg for operations is probably the Lasik Laser eye surgery, which is at least 50% cheaper in Sg. However, Lasik is not a complex surgeory by itself, but the equipment costs is very high.

Still not worth it - airfare, accommodation and check-up. Lasik does not require stay in so can go back. Just do the sums. Even 100%, still not worth it.

Aussie go to Philippines for Kidney transplant and Bangkok for cosmetic surgery such as plastic, lipo etc.

The only worthy for Aussies to be in sg for operations is probably the Lasik Laser eye surgery, which is at least 50% cheaper in Sg. However, Lasik is not a complex surgeory by itself, but the equipment costs is very high.

neddy

I can visit John's Hopkins or the Mayo Clinic or even Sloan or any of the best hospitals cause they are all open on my Aetna PPO. And to see any of these doctors I have to pay 35 dollars as they are in network for me and many millions of other Americans. If I need to be hospitalized my max out of pocket per hospitalization is 707.50 regardless of how much the bill is. Even at MD Anderson if need be.

Thank God for America! If I am a retrenched American, I can still seek treatment at Mayo!!!

I am so JEALOUS. :mad:

America is such a great nation! Obama's Australia type of public healthcare is not needed.

By the way, the Aetna Advantage plan is so expensive for the individual. :eek:What is more, there is a cap here and there, annual cap and lifetime cap, co-payment not deductible and what's more, need to pay extra for dental. :biggrin:

neddy

The small state of Singapore is known for its very stringent laws and regulations particularly in the areas involving cleanliness. These regulations are carried over to Singapore's ultra-high quality levels in healthcare and world-class facilities, making it an ideal destination for medical travelers who are looking for modern infrastructure, a clean and structured environment, and an English-speaking populace.

Singapore Healthcare System
The World Health Organization ranked Singapore as the 6th best health system in the world, much higher than the United States and Canada.
Singapore hospitals and health centers are either government or public facilities like the Singapore General Hospital, or are privately owned like the Raffles and Parkway hospitals. These hospitals offer top-of-the-line quality healthcare services and facilities, serviced by English-speaking and internationally trained medical practitioners and staff.
Singapore health facilities receive local accreditation from the Singapore Health Promotion Board, the Singapore Laboratory Accreditation System (SINGLAS), the Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) and the Ministry of Health. Most of these hospitals are also accredited by top international regulation and standardization bodies.
Medical practitioners' standards and practices are regulated by the Singapore Medical Council, Singapore Nursing Board, Singapore Dental Board, Pharmacy Board and the Laboratory Board.
The Health Sciences Authority and the Singapore Accreditation Council controls and regulates the certification of medical devices and other health products.

neddy

Cost of Medical Treatment is Singapore
The following are cost comparisons between Medical procedures in Singapore and equivalent procedures in the United States: [sources 1, 2, 3]
.....................................USA Hospitals....................Singapore..................Average Savings
Cardica Surgery
Heart Bypass...................$55,000 - $130,000 ................... $13,000 - $18,500 70-80%
Heart Valve Replacement.. $130,000 - $160,000 ................... $12,000 - 13,000 90-92%
Coronary Angioplasty ........$42,000 - $57,000 ................... $11,500 - $13,000 70-77%
Coronary Angiography.........$5,500 - $6,000 ................... $1,300 - $1,500 70-75%
Orthopedic Surgery
Hip Replacement.................$24,000 - $43,000................... $12,000 - $16,000 50-65%
Hip Resurfacing................$45,000 - $50,000 ...................$13,000 - $15,000 70-75%
Hysterectomy ..................$19,000 - $21,000 ...................$5,500 - $6,500 70-75%
Knee Replacement............. $38,000 - $42,000................... $12,000 - $13,500 65-70%
Spinal Fusion ..................$60,000 - $63,000 ...................$8,000 - $10,000 80-85%
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Stem Cell Transplant.......$200,000 - $250,000 ................... $72,000 - $90,000 60-65%
Face Lift (Rhytidectomy) $19,000 - $21,000 ...................$6,500 - $7,500 60-65%
Breast Augmentation/Reduction (Mammoplasty) ................... $9,000 - $11,000 $7,000 - $9,000 18-20%
Liposuction (Lipoplasty)....$14,000 - $16,000................... $4,500 - $5,500 60-65%
Nose Surgery (Rhinoplasty)...$6,500 - $7,500 ...................$3,500 - $4,500 40-46%
Tummy Tuck (Abdominoplasty) .....$8,000 - $9,000................... $6,000 - $6,500 25-40%
Eye / Ophthalmology
LASIK Eye Surgery ....................$2,000 - $2,500................... $1,500 - $2,000 20-25%
Eyelid Surgery .........................$6,500 - $7,500 ...................$3,500 - $4,000 45-50%
General and Cosmetic Dentistry
Root Canal ............................$800 - $1200 ................... $350 - $900 25-60%

Aussie Prick

Cost of Medical Treatment is Singapore
The following are cost comparisons between Medical procedures in Singapore and equivalent procedures in the United States: [sources 1, 2, 3]
USA Hospitals Singapore Average Savings
Cardica Surgery
Heart Bypass $55,000 - $130,000 $13,000 - $18,500 70-80%
Heart Valve Replacement $130,000 - $160,000 $12,000 - 13,000 90-92%
Coronary Angioplasty $42,000 - $57,000 $11,500 - $13,000 70-77%
Coronary Angiography $5,500 - $6,000 $1,300 - $1,500 70-75%
Orthopedic Surgery
Hip Replacement $24,000 - $43,000 $12,000 - $16,000 50-65%
Hip Resurfacing $45,000 - $50,000 $13,000 - $15,000 70-75%
Hysterectomy $19,000 - $21,000 $5,500 - $6,500 70-75%
Knee Replacement $38,000 - $42,000 $12,000 - $13,500 65-70%
Spinal Fusion $60,000 - $63,000 $8,000 - $10,000 80-85%
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Stem Cell Transplant $200,000 - $250,000 $72,000 - $90,000 60-65%
Face Lift (Rhytidectomy) $19,000 - $21,000 $6,500 - $7,500 60-65%
Breast Augmentation/Reduction (Mammoplasty) $9,000 - $11,000 $7,000 - $9,000 18-20%
Liposuction (Lipoplasty) $14,000 - $16,000 $4,500 - $5,500 60-65%
Nose Surgery (Rhinoplasty) $6,500 - $7,500 $3,500 - $4,500 40-46%
Tummy Tuck (Abdominoplasty) $8,000 - $9,000 $6,000 - $6,500 25-40%
Eye / Ophthalmology
LASIK Eye Surgery $2,000 - $2,500 $1,500 - $2,000 20-25%
Eyelid Surgery $6,500 - $7,500 $3,500 - $4,000 45-50%
General and Cosmetic Dentistry
Root Canal $800 - $1200 $350 - $900 25-60%

You are a very stupid person. All these costs are paid for by US health insurance which is paid for by or your company!!!

You think the 300+ Million Americans covered by medicaid/health insurance pay these prices????????

You are the biggest moron ever to grace this forum!!!

LOL!!!

neddy

Aussie and Redbull are useful information providers ....

So there is such thing called Health Insurance and there is also Mediaid.

Nearly 44 Million in United States Without Health Insurance in 2008

An estimated 43.8 million Americans had no health insurance in 2008, approximately 2.8 million more than in 1997, according to new data from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics.

The report, “Health Insurance Coverage: Early Release of Estimates from the National Health Interview Survey, 2008,” presents the latest insurance estimates for the United States.

The report also contains new estimates of health insurance coverage for the 20 largest states, and shows Massachusetts had the lowest percentage of uninsured individuals under age 65 (3.4 percent) in 2008. In contrast, approximately 1 in 4 persons under age 65 lacked coverage in Florida and Texas, and 1 in 5 lacked coverage in Arizona, California and Georgia. Nationally, 16.7 percent of those under age 65 were uninsured in 2008.

The report provides information on both private and public insurance coverage. Among the states examined, private coverage rates for people under age 65 ranged from 78.9 percent in Massachusetts to 56.2 percent in Florida. Nationally, 65.4 percent of people under age 65 had private health insurance coverage.

The report also includes data on children under the age of 18 and shows that the percentage of children with no health insurance was 8.9 percent in 2008, the same as in 2007, but down significantly from 13.9 percent in 1997. A total of 34.2 percent of children had public health coverage. Among the states examined in this report, public coverage for children ranged from 22 percent in New Jersey to 41 percent in Georgia and North Carolina.

neddy

Aussie and Redbull are useful information providers ....

So there is such thing called Health Insurance and there is also Mediaid.

Nearly 44 Million in United States Without Health Insurance in 2008

... and for the first time in US history, many of these 44 millions will have access to some form of medical treatment under Obama's plan.

That is nice. The Americans are finally catching up with the UK! :biggrin:

londoncabby

Just go to Aetna docfind and see for yourself. Makes you jealous, huh? Maybe you should call Blue Cross, Aetna, Humana, etc and blast them for making this possible while you wallow in your pathetic sub-standard care funded by the sweat and rank stench of 46% taxes.

So sorry to blast you like this and make you look like the dumb ass you are, but the truth is the truth.

And thank god I am not in Australia for if I got sick I would rather be here or in Singapore at Gleneagles not waiting in some crumbling shitty state run hospital that even 46% taxes cant run properly waiting your turn in some socialist line. Fuck that.

Wah lau you making those Oz migrant look like peasant on side of road. All run to Singapore for food and med treatment is well known fact

IR123

Read somewhere ... about Aussies going to Camden http://www.imc-healthcare.com/

As a reference source, it is very inadequately quoted. I cannot find any information about Aussies going to Camden.

To top it all, look at what they are wrote on their own page:

"IMC’s most relevant travel and tropical medicine is supported by our affiliation with the Australian based Travel Doctor (TMVC) Group, with over 30 clinics internationally."​

neddy

As a reference source, it is very inadequately quoted. I cannot find any information about Aussies going to Camden.

To top it all, look at what they are wrote on their own page:

"IMC’s most relevant travel and tropical medicine is supported by our affiliation with the Australian based Travel Doctor (TMVC) Group, with over 30 clinics internationally."​

I must confess - I cannot remember the source. I am not sure why I kept thinking that Aussies are heading to Singapore for treatment. Perhaps I was influenced by the 3-in-1 troll (aussie prick, redbull313, londoncabby)

Hey, its Friday comic time.
:biggrin: Example, ever since aussie prick was chopped off by the animal, redbull313, he end up as a lost londoncabby :biggrin:

Don Muthuswamy

Read somewhere ... about Aussies going to Camden http://www.imc-healthcare.com/

I think you can get the stats from Jason Yap, Director (Healthcare Services) at Singapore Tourism Board

This really doesn't make sense at all to be honest. Oz has got what is called Medicare that takes care of the doctor's bill and for those who can afford it, they could take pprivate insurance. They could then go to private hospitals as private patients. Such being the case, why should Aussies rush to Camden, bearing in mind, Camden would cost an arm and a leg for medical treatment as well. Either Aussies must be really stupid or the doctors in Camden must be really good.

IWC2006

This really doesn't make sense at all to be honest. Oz has got what is called Medicare that takes care of the doctor's bill and for those who can afford it, they could take pprivate insurance. They could then go to private hospitals as private patients. Such being the case, why should Aussies rush to Camden, bearing in mind, Camden would cost an arm and a leg for medical treatment as well. Either Aussies must be really stupid or the doctors in Camden must be really good.

Precisely, most Aussies will buy (or mandatory) to buy private healthcare, which covers most of these treatment. I can't see why they would need to flock to Spore.

Singapore has only 1 medical school (NUS) thus majority of the doctors are sourced from overseas. Those qualifications earned from countries like China or India are questionable. In Australia ,there are probably 15+ unis offer medicine, out of it 8-10 of the unis are recognised in Singapore to practise medicine. In US, probably much more, perhaps 500+ medical schools, quality from the very good ones(John H, Yale etc) to lousy ones (bogus unis). Foreigner import doctors in Australia, most of them got to take a bridging course or Masters, then houseman before admitted to practise medicine. If they don't speak good English, they are unlikely ever to get a good placement as they may interpret wrong information to patiences which lead to lawsuit. I met one GP the other day, she's from Vietnam but got her medical qualification here in Sydney - she says she often have to spend a lot of time documenting the patience issues if not she may subject to legal scrutinity. In Sg, don't believe there is such practise.

IWC2006

I must confess - I cannot remember the source. I am not sure why I kept thinking that Aussies are heading to Singapore for treatment. Perhaps I was influenced by the 3-in-1 troll (aussie prick, redbull313, londoncabby)

Hey, its Friday comic time.
:biggrin: Example, ever since aussie prick was chopped off by the animal, redbull313, he end up as a lost londoncabby :biggrin:

I went to visit optometrist at Sydney city centre the other day to make a new pair of contact lens. In Sg, all they do is to check your prescription and make a pair of lens according to your shortsightness or so. Over here, they spend significant time going through not just your prescription but if you have any symptons of eye disease or other health issues which can be detected by laser. I was impressed. They also make me a trial lens to try fitting accordingly to my eye size and shape. On the day I collected the lens, they did another test and told me the lens prescripted was overpowered thus will change another pair for me to try. They also detected I may have high cholestrol thus suggest for another test.

All these, are covered by the private health fund.

Imperialarse

I went to visit optometrist at Sydney city centre the other day to make a new pair of contact lens. In Sg, all they do is to check your prescription and make a pair of lens according to your shortsightness or so. Over here, they spend significant time going through not just your prescription but if you have any symptons of eye disease or other health issues which can be detected by laser. I was impressed. They also make me a trial lens to try fitting accordingly to my eye size and shape. On the day I collected the lens, they did another test and told me the lens prescripted was overpowered thus will change another pair for me to try. They also detected I may have high cholestrol thus suggest for another test.

All these, are covered by the private health fund.

Please lah for anything in this stupid Oz you need PRESCRIPTION for for eye contact etc in Singapore I dun need. Over there for visit I suffer so much in this stupid Melbourne lost contact lens inform even know my power need to see optomitrist plus make appointment plus exam plus fitting. Damm stupid kayph nonsense lah cost me 300 Oz for some nonsense I already know and somemore needing to come back for appointment. Those Oz dun know meaning of time saving to people. Singapore I walk in instant service and price of those essilor varilux high index lens with progessive was 2X singapore price@@????? and take 1 week for ready when Singapore ready two days.

Damm idiot stupid place those Oz. No good lah

IWC2006

Please lah for anything in this stupid Oz you need PRESCRIPTION for for eye contact etc in Singapore I dun need. Over there for visit I suffer so much in this stupid Melbourne lost contact lens inform even know my power need to see optomitrist plus make appointment plus exam plus fitting. Damm stupid kayph nonsense lah cost me 300 Oz for some nonsense I already know and somemore needing to come back for appointment. Those Oz dun know meaning of time saving to people. Singapore I walk in instant service and price of those essilor varilux high index lens with progessive was 2X singapore price@@????? and take 1 week for ready when Singapore ready two days.

Damm idiot stupid place those Oz. No good lah

Singapore of course no need lar cos they don't care about Quality but Quantity. They don't care about if the lens is suitable for your eye or not as long they make money! any neighbourhood optical shop can run a optical shop and some don't even have a qualified optometry qualification! Thats a difference you idiot ( AussiePrank)