siao liao spore police suka suka can change law for convenient

†††††

More powers for police?
By Mavis Toh

THE Government is looking to see if laws need to be tweaked to give police more powers and sentencing options to deal with youth gangs.

At a press briefing on Tuesday, Minister of State for Education and Home Affairs Masagos Zulkifi said he is reviewing whether there is a need to make current legislation more relevant to deal with youth gangs, and whether existing police powers need to be modified.

Mr Masagos, who took over the National Committee on Youth Guidance and Rehabilitation this month, said he is also relooking existing measures and programmes for youths at risks, to see if they have been effective and whether changes need to be made.

He added that even with programmes targeted at these youths, there will always be a group in society who will take more time to change. More intensified mentoring and customised case management will then be needed for these youths.

But he added that to ensure children get back on the right track, family support is critical.

and do you have any alternative methods and ways to deal with street gangs??

1)Take one lao lan gangster.
2) Organize a public viewing and chop off his hands using the same parang found on him.

Next day, all wannabe gangsters will cover their tattoos, dress up properly and start looking to do community service.

need to bring back the cane in schools

we are too influenced by the west, give up the cane and society becomes anarchic

of course la, knn fire any rounds need to write one essay man. no joke, HIT SOMEONE LAGI BEST.

The fact is, you have more policemen shooting themselves (suicide) than shooting criminals. Thus far, most were not present to write the reports. Perhaps they wrote the reports in heaven or hell.

I propose longer jail time and 48 strokes of the cane.

i think 24 or 48 is not much diff, because after 12... i think no more feeling, fear and pain already, his brain and ass would have been dead.

a better option is to deliver 12 stroke on each installment. for example, 12 stroke per session... and carry out after few years. if sentensed to 48 stroke for 8 yrs.... he should be canned 12 stroke every 2 years. this will serve as a reminder every 2 years too.

I think this is better than to cane 48 stroke on one session. Because I'm sure... the offender will also remember there is rotan coming again afer 2 yrs.

Most of this inmate get their rotan within 1st few months in jail. Which means they have already forgotten the pain by the time when about to release. When they release, they enjoy the freedom again, and will turn to crime again.

i think 24 or 48 is not much diff, because after 12... i think no more feeling, fear and pain already, his brain and ass would have been dead.

a better option is to deliver 12 stroke on each installment. for example, 12 stroke per session... and carry out after few years. if sentensed to 48 stroke for 8 yrs.... he should be canned 12 stroke every 2 years. this will serve as a reminder every 2 years too.

I think this is better than to cane 48 stroke on one session. Because I'm sure... the offender will also remember there is rotan coming again afer 2 yrs.

Most of this inmate get their rotan within 1st few months in jail. Which means they have already forgotten the pain by the time when about to release. When they release, they enjoy the freedom again, and will turn to crime again.

inmates get their rotan after more then 3 months in jail ..;)

that is still within 1st few months....

if for example, a guy charged with arm robbery and rioting... sentensed to 7 yrs 24 strokes.... why not caned him 8 stroke per session. each session after 2 years. This will serve as a reminder to him too.

If he got caned in 1st yrs... then 6 yrs later , he got released, I'm sure he has already forgotten the fear and pain. And continue to wayang.. and talk big already. This does not seem to be a good idea to serve as a deterrant factor for him to turn to crime again.

that is still within 1st few months....

if for example, a guy charged with arm robbery and rioting... sentensed to 7 yrs 24 strokes.... why not caned him 8 stroke per session. each session after 2 years. This will serve as a reminder to him too.

If he got caned in 1st yrs... then 6 yrs later , he got released, I'm sure he has already forgotten the fear and pain. And continue to wayang.. and talk big already. This does not seem to be a good idea to serve as a deterrant factor for him to turn to crime again.

most imates worry losing their freedom then losing their ass ...;) if given a chance to chose , they rather chose being whack then losing their freedom .

they just feel pain at that point of time , when being whack . it only lasted a few mins and after that they just feel uncomfortable and not pain ...thats all .

Points noted. Excellent suggestion. I will call Dir Prisons Soh Wai Wah to request he study this very appropriate suggestion to deal with street corner gangs. Must find the appropriate time though - he is hurt coz did not get to become CP. The ex-Dir Prisons now CP.