• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Siao liao] SPF can access Sinkie drivers' onboard diagnostics and charge you for speeding

Speedster jailed after S’pore police tapped data from in-car system in first case here​

2024052354765887778793ed-4c66-47ef-9b52-4911a2b2e185.jpg

A demonstration of the police’s new vehicle forensics capability at the Police Workplan Seminar 2024. ST PHOTO: SHINTARO TAY

Lee Nian Tjoe, Samuel Devaraj and David Sun
UPDATED

MAY 24, 2024, 05:40 PM

SINGAPORE - In the first such case here, the police tapped into the infotainment system of a woman’s car to extract data, which they then used to nab her for speeding.

She was jailed for five days, and disqualified from driving for two years.

The police’s new vehicle forensics capability was revealed at the Police Workplan Seminar 2024 on May 24 at the Singapore University of Technology and Design in Upper Changi Road.

The police said they are preparing to roll it out fully in 2024.

The incident involving the speedster happened in 2022.

The police’s Cybercrime Command received a request from the Traffic Police in late 2022 to extract data from her vehicle’s infotainment system, to investigate a possible speeding offence.

Officers used the tool to extract datasets including call logs, messages and other data.

The police said the data confirmed the woman’s identity, and she was prosecuted based on the evidence gathered. She was convicted in January 2023.

They declined to reveal further details, including the car’s make and model.

The police added that they are developing their capability to extract data from a vehicle’s On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) port.

A proof of concept of this was shown at the seminar, demonstrating how telemetry data could be extracted via the port to pinpoint a car’s location, braking and acceleration patterns.

The extracted data could then be used to reconstruct a video rendering of the scene to aid investigators.

In response to queries from The Straits Times, a police spokeswoman said such vehicle forensics may also be used with other vehicles.

These include motorcycles, as long as the vehicle system can be read or analysed or is compatible with the system the police will be using.

She said: “SPF developed the vehicle forensics capability as there are valuable datasets stored in the vehicle including the vehicle infotainment system and OBD port, which would be useful to aid investigations into road traffic incidents.”

Extraction of the data can take between several hours and days, depending on the vehicle make and model, she added.

Asked what safeguards there are to protect the privacy of vehicle users, the spokeswoman said only authorised officers can extract the vehicle data, and all extracted data will be for the purpose of criminal investigations.

She added SPF will work with the Home Team Science and Technology Agency to enhance its capabilities in response to technological advancements in the automotive industry, such as with electric vehicles.

She said: “The Vehicle Forensics Team will be continually developing the SPF’s vehicle forensics capabilities with petrol vehicles. The team will also be broadening their scope to include electric vehicles, which would be of a different make from the traditional petrol vehicles.”

Isn't this shithole island plastered with speeding cameras everywhere? Still need to resort to this? :rolleyes:

Akan datang: police station taking your blood and DNA sample, even though you are only being processed and not yet convicted of the alleged crime. :cool:

In other words, China style. :wink:

k1976

Isn't this shithole island plastered with speeding cameras everywhere? Still need to resort to this? :rolleyes:

Akan datang: police station taking your blood and DNA sample, even though you are only being processed and not yet convicted of the alleged crime. :cool:

China is learn from S8ngapore de woh

https://www.mfa.gov.sg/SINGAPORES-F...e,have maintained close bilateral cooperation.

Since the mid-1990s, more than 50,000 Chinese officials have come to Singapore for various study visits and training programmes.

Despite the challenges brought about by COVID-19, both sides have maintained close bilateral cooperation. Singapore and China launched a fast lane in early June 2020 to allow for essential business and official travel with six Chinese provinces/municipalities. This fast lane was Singapore’s first with another partner, and China’s first with a Southeast Asian country.

They should fine all the road hoggers too :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Hightech88

Next time will be - all car's speed are GPS tracked and relayed live to LTA/SPF for prosecution the moment you speed even when overtaking.

It's a very lucrative system for the Gov. Huat Ah!

All are just various means to tax more from commoners.

If the Gov is really sincere enough, than all vehicles should be speed limited automatically to 90km/h max.

Next time will be - all car's speed are GPS tracked and relayed live to LTA/SPF for prosecution the moment you speed even when overtaking.

If the Gov is really sincere enough, than all vehicles should be speed limited automatically to 90km/h max.
Cannot have a common rule for all
Then elites how? Animal farm some are more equal

Next time can assess all your handphones too
So any criminal activity is nipped in bud
Think minority report

bobby

Can they also install a device on all bicycles to check if they ride through red lights or hogging lanes?

Hypocrite-The

Even better, the vehicle should be fully autonomous. Tat way no speeding etc but it will not happen as the gahmen will have no moolah from fines

Sustanon

This is a start of a major violation of your human rights.... not that I condone or encourage speeding which in my opinion is dumb but this can and will potentially open the doors for other areas in your life to be violated..... all in the name of security..... this is only a primer... more to come.... Social Credit System, Central Bank Digital Currency...... totally programmable, negative interest rates..... raise any red flags?