• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SIA Bleeds

maxxi

" Enough time to retrain those cocky pilots into bus/lorry/waste/mrt drivers "

Interesting you shd say that at the height of the ALPAS v Gov pay re-calibration [22k to 16k] they wanted to classify pilots as 'HGV drivers/operators.

ckmpd

" Enough time to retrain those cocky pilots into bus/lorry/waste/mrt drivers "

Interesting you shd say that at the height of the ALPAS v Gov pay re-calibration [22k to 16k] they wanted to classify pilots as 'HGV drivers/operators.
Air travel and aviation occupations will not be the same in future

ckmpd

The way i see it, its going to get worse.borders won't open anytime soon. Pubs remain half empty.
aircraft's seating configuration will likely be reconfigured to take in less passengers. That means air fares will be more expensive

Okay lah. You prefer Dame Ho Ching serving you beverages wearing the SIA girl uniform?

EDmMXKCWkAEkFIM.jpg
In bikini can?

Wunderfool

Chartered flights are dirt cheap during crisis. So your point that SIA is strategic is false.

I agree NOL was mismanaged but I disagree that they should not have sold it. It was bleeding and should be cut loose. But look at our ports today. They are even busier nowadays without NOL. So selling off SIA is a double benefit. It will save our money for better use while SIA no doubt will have to operate out of Changi, but the airlines that fly through will not be affected.

SELL SIA BEFORE ITS TOO LATE

Learn from Warren Buffett.

He sold all his airlines shares during the pandemic though he believed that the managements are still sound. It is not the management. It is the effects of the pandemic on the airline business. It will take years to recover...

countryman

They don't start from ground zero you insufferable cretin. The current company flogs off what few productive assets they have to a new holding company then pays off their creditors maybe 40 cents to the dollar. Then the new company uses exactly the same assets and terminal holdings to carry out exactly the same operation with a "new" airline. They could even call it...Singapore International Airlines!

If restructuring a bankruptcy to move aircraft and staff contracts from one fictitious legal entity to another fictitious legal entity is too much for the PAPpies to comprehend no wonder the national productivity is falling to shit. Even the m&ds can pull it off:

2f2dcb4cc2f694a73fbc8f8052a0db48.png
Thats very shallow thinking. U mean by starting a new airline the business will pick up? If SIA can't survive in this crisis, no other airline will be able to do so...

countryman

Airlines are losing $$$ due to border closures n all the restrictions imposed thus very few people are able to travel, it has nothing to do with the airline being lousy..The very fact is people all over the world are dying to travel.

countryman

Using taxpayers' money to turnround SIA ? No benefit to ordinary sinkees ,only benefit the cronies.
Use your m&d brain to think...U mean u would rather see 20000 Sinkies/PRs being jobless if the airline closed shop? Does it make u happier or richer?

bushtucker

if Tiger Air was bought over and assimilated into Scoot, what makes you think that starting a new airline will draw in new business?

the air travel market is already overly saturated.

countryman

SIA will possibly bleed until 2021.
SIA bleed means subsequently Sinkapor will also bleed cos there're no travellers coming to Sinkapor.. All the hotels, restaurants, MBS, retail shops etc will shut down one by one... Eventually all will die together!

if Tiger Air was bought over and assimilated into Scoot, what makes you think that starting a new airline will draw in new business?

the air travel market is already overly saturated.
That is why airlines are ditching their big planes and buying smaller ones.

Loofydralb

You dont understand strategic value. In times of crisis, money may not buy you food or get you flights. If Singapore doesnt have its own sea or air assets, even if SG can buy food, no one may want to transport the food for you
I still refuse to agree SIA is a strategic entity. Even during times of war, supplies can be flown in by charters and all the same will be protected by rsaf.
SIA should go the NOL way. If you cannot be profitable, you must be sold off.
I have to add that intrinsically we are a very small nation with very limited resources. Draining it out just for the sake of one airline will eventually sink us. Our management of our finances should be done by hard headed real world profit and loss. That is the only way to survive and get stronger. Any other way, you are introducing bad genes into the pool.