Should MP take care, look after, or be a custodian of his ward?

Should MP look after, take care, or be a custodian of his ward?

• Look after

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Take care

Votes: 4 80.0%
  • Be a custodian of

Votes: 1 20.0%

• Total voters
Should be the ward's bitch - write speeding fine appeal letters to TP, deferment letters for ICT etc

Act 1 Scene 1

Goh Meng Seng is voted MP of Tampines. 6 months later, a resident comes in to complain about rat infestation.

Resident: Mr Goh, there are lots of rats at my block. Can you do something about it?

GMS: Sorry, my job is not to take care of the ward. That is the town council's job.

Resident (shocked): But you're the MP, right? Aren't you in charge of the town council?

GMS: I am.

Resident: Then why you say it's not your job?

GMS: You must make the distinction clear in your mind. My job is only to be a custodian of the ward, not to take care of it. All these things must be managed by the town council.

Resident (pissed): OK, then can you PLEASE get the town council to clear the rats at my block.

GMS: Yes, I can relay the message for you, but please understand it is their job, not mine.

Resident (confused): But if there's any problems, I still have to look for you to take care of them, right?

GMS: You can, but the correct phrase is "look after". I can look after it for you, not take care.

Resident (ANGRY): What's the difference?!?!?

GMS: A lot of difference. My primary job is to take care of the whole of Singapore by addressing national issues.

Resident: How can you take care of the whole of Singapore when you don't even look after your ward?!?!?

GMS: No, I look after the ward.

Resident: But you just said you don't!

GMS: Where got!?!? I said I look after the ward, get that clear in your head!

Resident: You said it's the town council, not you! That's what you said!

GMS: Yes, the town council is supposed to take care. I'm only the custodian.

Resident: You just said you look after the ward!

GMS: Correct, I look after.

Resident: You idiot, I should have voted Mah Bow Tan instead!

GMS: If MBT is your MP, who's going to debate national issues for you? Remember, even ex-Ministers like MBT does not really take care of your ward. That's the job of the town council.

Resident: (STORMS OUT.)

If the MP tells that to a housewife, in 3 days the whole market all will know this story, and most people will discount their impression of this MP.

Worse, he's not the incumbent MP. He's just a candidate MP wannabe, now behaving and talking like a minister. Sigh. Hope he wake up before next GE is called.

Most of the time, he answered without going through his brain 1, not an MP material........

When banks fail, shareholders have no time to listen to the grandmother stories of CEOs. No matter what, the custodians of every organisation must always be held responsible. GMS really out of touch with the electorate. He will fit into PAP just right.

Most of the time, he answered without going through his brain 1, not an MP material........

Must learn how to por, curry favor, slap horse fart, see human say human words, see ghost say ghost words. Got brain but cannot do all these also no use. :o

Indeed. This is what politics is all about: PR. Whether you're smart or effective, not many will bother to find out. You think the average housewife will sit down and analyse your fiscal policies?

Precisely, i dun think his IQ is high, his EQ is worse -_-"

Act 1 Scene 2

Another month passes. The rat problem has not been solved. The resident goes back to Mr Goh. This time, he is more careful with his choice of words.

Resident: Mr Goh, there are still rats at my block. How do you plan to look after the issue?

GMS: Oh really? Huh I will just fire the TC manager lor.

Resident: But what are you going to do besides that? I mean concrete actions like pest exterminators, area cleaning regiments, etc.

GMS: As I said, if anything goes wrong, just fire the TC manager if he cannot get the job done! Simple as that!

Resident (BEWILDERED): Mr Goh, surely as MP, you've more responsibility than just hiring and firing TC managers! I'm asking you the concrete actions that will be taken, not your manpower policy!

GMS: Get this clear in your head. I've told you before. My primary job is to take care of the whole of Singapore. I'm only a custodian of the ward, deciding who to hire and fire.

Resident: No MP, not even MBT, has ever said this kind of things to me before. Why do we need MPs like you here, if that's all you're going to do?

GMS: Ha ha! That's what the PAP wants you to think, that when you're elected, you're supposed to take care of the ward. This is so that they could add on what constitute as "taking care" of the ward, like HDB upgrading.

Resident (VERY ANGRY): I'm not talking about HDB upgrading! I'm just talking about a rat infestation, God Damn It! It's not a national policy issue, its just a rat issue! Getting elected MP of Tampines, this comes as part of your job!!!

GMS: Mr Resident, to put it simply, my job is to deal with legislation. Don't get distracted by the PAP's pork barrel politics. Get this clear in your mind. As a resident of an opposition ward (my ward), you are supposed to be more politically aware person and should not fall so easily into such mind traps.

Resident (EXTREMELY ANGRY): You're still evading the issue, Mr GOH MENG SENG! Your job is not just to debate in parliament, you also have a responsibility to residents, which include helping us deal with local issues! WHy can't you do your bloody job?!!?

GMS: Well, Mr Resident, please calm down. I'm indeed doing my job as MP. I have to walk around and meet people on the ground. If I see anything wrong, I may give specific instruction. But ultimately, the instructions will be given to the estate managers to get problems solved. They are the ones supposed to take care of the estate, not me. I'm only a custodian.

Resident: Don't deny that as the overall in charge, the ultimate responsibility lies with you! So I'm asking you now to take responsibility for the rat problem at my block and answer me why it has not been resolved after so long.

GMS: Ha ha ha!! You try asking any PAP MPs who are lawyers, doctors or directors of companies or the Ministers to take care of the town... They may not even know what is happening down there!

Resident: APPARENTLY, NEITHER DO YOU. (STORMS OUT OF GMS OFFICE)