• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

shopping malls - more and more?

wendychan

walked from mustafa to palza singapore 5.30 and back 6.30

POMO is practically empty. boarded up waiting for tenants.... wilke edge has shops but SOOOOO little human traffic and human traffic spending money

SOTA has retail shops, all empty.. a few units (2?) being used as art exhibition space...

who is kidding who here? and still building more more more? huat huat huat on paper?

POMO is this building on selegie road
SOTA school of the arts

POMO is practically empty. boarded up waiting for tenants.... wilke edge has shops but SOOOOO little human traffic and human traffic spending money

SOTA has retail shops, all empty.. a few units (2?) being used as art exhibition space...

Wa lao, I was around that area at 5 plus also! Still looks ok to me leh. Eating outlets appear to have less people, overall shops not so crowded, but not as bad as 1998. That time, is really bad, whole floors closed down, deserted like hell.

POMO has a lot of units NOT occupied. covered up. there are lots of people inside the ground floor because they seem to be going to the lifts to KAPALN school

Not surprising since they vet their tenants. Not any biz can set up shop there. Friend wanted to rent for KTV. Rejected immediately.

I remember POMO was formerly Paradiz Centre. Lots of billiard/snooker halls and cybercafes inside. Lots of pai kias too. :D

who is kidding who here? and still building more more more? huat huat huat on paper?

The same goes for suburb malls e.g. Clementi Mall, JEM, Westgate. Within one year there'll definitely be some casualties - some shops will 关门大吉.

Build, build, build to artificially boost the GDP and prop up the REITs. :D

I remember POMO was formerly Paradiz Centre. Lots of billiard/snooker halls and cybercafes inside. Lots of pai kias too. :D

Arabesque was there. Those were the days. I think K-Box was there much later.

POMO will going to close shop if continue. Now F&B are really bad in that building eve hawker the stall not even half rented out.

Not surprising since they vet their tenants. Not any biz can set up shop there. Friend wanted to rent for KTV. Rejected immediately.

Surprising because next door is Park Lane which already has 2 KTVs & a massage place & at Peace Mansion there is also another KTV.

Correction: I think Park Lane has 3 KTVs

POMO will going to close shop if continue. Now F&B are really bad in that building eve hawker the stall not even half rented out.

If POMO goes kaput, Capitalmalls can step in to manage the mall... turn it into one of the many Capitaland malls. Seen one = seen them all. :rolleyes:

It happened with Iluma -> Bugis+.

as a comparison, for high end shops and boutiques, there's one louis vuitton store, one gucci store, one cartier store in downtown sf and similar ones in the high end shopping district in san jose. but in sg, there's like one of each in every freaking high end building. sinkies should consider themselves lucky for having easy and convenient access to these high end boutiques. :p :*: :D

POMO main attraction that brought in the traffic in the past, was Singapore Pools, who was their anchor tenant. psst!, had been there in the past, collecting cheque. Singapore Pools now occupy or have taken over, IOI building in Middle Road..that I have not been in YET!. ( nowadays, collection is small ):- )

SOTA..School Of The Arts...have not been in....I am sure that we have too many retail spaces...every other corner, you get a residential cum shopping building & most of them, you see the same shops repeated....for example, Subway, KFC, MacD...or Giodarno...etc...

No character, not like in the past..for example, Orchard Plaza, Peninsular Shopping, Queensway Shopping, Katong Shopping...etc...are different....

Don't worry moneymax n other pawn shops r waiting on the sidelines

"Star Mall" in Bouna Vista the best with so many christian support and the church built there sure Huat Ah!

The same goes for suburb malls e.g. Clementi Mall, JEM, Westgate. Within one year there'll definitely be some casualties - some shops will 关门大吉.

Build, build, build to artificially boost the GDP and prop up the REITs. :D

POMO is this building on selegie road
SOTA school of the arts

Is pomo where one of the main branches of the 4D office is located? If you win more than 5k you need to collect a cheque from that building. The 4D shop looks very nice.

POMO should be renamed PORNO and have a niche of sex shops.

Surprising because next door is Park Lane which already has 2 KTVs & a massage place & at Peace Mansion there is also another KTV.

Correction: I think Park Lane has 3 KTVs

Parklane should have at least 5. Maybe 6-7. Peace Centre maybe 4.