• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shipyard 'accident' - 1,000 workers on the rig, ONE gangway!

Pandenmonium broke out on board the striken oil rig yesterday, as workers trapped three or four storeys up leapt into the sea to escape.

As the structure began to tilt, hundreds of the men crowded onto the main platform. With only ONE way out to the docks and everyone trying to flee, the situation became chaotic.

"There was only one gangway, many people ran onto the gangway, many people pushing," said Bangladeshi worker Jashim Fazrul Haq Matta Haq.

how this happen, when so many rigs are built is very much the dateline to deliver the rig. definitely.

More to come I promise you. Leegime is on the brink. Corruption does not pay.

Pandenmonium broke out on board the striken oil rig yesterday, as workers trapped three or four storeys up leapt into the sea to escape.

As the structure began to tilt, hundreds of the men crowded onto the main platform. With only ONE way out to the docks and everyone trying to flee, the situation became chaotic.

"There was only one gangway, many people ran onto the gangway, many people pushing," said Bangladeshi worker Jashim Fazrul Haq Matta Haq.

Heads should roll for this. But somehow I doubt it. If heads do roll it will be those of minor functionaries, not the senior ranks.

all the shipyard the same, its only one or two access to the vessel you are working. usually is a gang way with the width for one person, when incident like explosion or fire happened. ho seh liao, all become roast duck. all the cheap foreign trash workers never have the culture of industrial safety and sloppy attitude. those mama foreign trash engineers too, fake cert, fake degree, fake licence with fake CV and experience. u think they really monitor and enforce? i don't think they even know what should be done. they are taking risk, life threatening risk everyday. that is why i said it is life risking if you work on board and deserve higher pay.

Good thing they had lots of pushing and squeezing training in little India.

all these foreign workers problem recenty shows how f up sg companies are being run.

workers have no rights or safety in Sg.

union leaders like Miws are collecting millions yearly for doing nothing of importance to sg workers.

Heads should roll for this. But somehow I doubt it. If heads do roll it will be those of minor functionaries, not the senior ranks.

Come, keep this kind of thing going as it has for years. Bring em on. Bring on the foreign provacateurs. Let the real Leegime come forward and see the real consequences. They are only one step away. Come on.

I agree with Bro Moonlight.. Most shipyards in Spore only have 1 or 2 gangways.. Some gangways are more than 5 storeys high..

Ho Jinx should try working there for a day. She love the 1,000 pair of eyes ogling her.

[h=2]Oh PM Lee, how could you have said that about Jurong Shipyard accident?[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
December 4th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

lhl2.jpg
PM Lee on Jurong Shipyard accident: "But could have been worse..."

I was taken aback and appalled when I read a quote made by PM Lee in the New Paper today regarding the tragic Jurong Shipyard accident. He said “My sympathies to all those injured in the Jurong Shipyard accident. It was a serious accident, BUT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE…“!
What the…??? How could he have said those words? And as a country’s leader too? What was his intention by adding those few unnecessary heartless words? Is it to tell the workers they should count themselves lucky it wasn’t worse? Gee, Thanks Prime Minister.
Many reasons can be cited as to why those extra words were added in his comment, such as perhaps to minimise blame. But still, did he not have any heart or good common sense as a Prime Minister not to say them even if they were crafted by an unthinking Corp Comms adviser and a kiasu ministry?
Seriously, an accident is still an accident and some 90 people were injured as the more than 1,000 workers scrambled to flee the tilting rig via ONE measly single-file gangway. Sembawang Marine, the GLC which owns the shipyard should have done much better in taking care of the workers’ safety by providing proper gangways for them. First SMRT’s strike by unhappy PRC drivers, and now Sembawang Marine’s accident.
Are lowly paid workers worth so little that employers can’t invest more to give them better care?
Jentrified Citizen
* The writer blogs at http://jentrifiedcitizen.wordpress.com/

all the shipyard the same, its only one or two access to the vessel you are working. usually is a gang way with the width for one person, when incident like explosion or fire happened. ho seh liao, all become roast duck. all the cheap foreign trash workers never have the culture of industrial safety and sloppy attitude. those mama foreign trash engineers too, fake cert, fake degree, fake licence with fake CV and experience. u think they really monitor and enforce? i don't think they even know what should be done. they are taking risk, life threatening risk everyday. that is why i said it is life risking if you work on board and deserve higher pay.

If there was any sinkie with them i really hope they do reevaluate their decisions and not risk their lives hanging out with these mamas. Got to be nuts to work with them.

Opposition supporters again use an unfortunate accident to accuse people.
So sad to see such behavior.

Opposition supporters again use an unfortunate accident to accuse people.
So sad to see such behavior.

agree ! a bunch of oppo retards.

was actually reviewing the Jane post and sad that all the oppo supporters are bashingnher up.

these oppo followers are Imbeciles!

If there was any sinkie with them i really hope they do reevaluate their decisions and not risk their lives hanging out with these mamas. Got to be nuts to work with them.

working with them is one thing. the occupational hazard is another. anyone working in that kind of environment should be justly compensate than to get those cheap mama. of cos, mama make the environment worse with their attitude.

2years back, ad-hoc work onboard vessel in the dry dock at both keppel & semb yard.
compulsory to attend one hour safety induction lesson, as usual, bus loads of bangalah & yindians, they couldnt even understand simple english...strangely..all able to 'pass' the test....

2years back, ad-hoc work onboard vessel in the dry dock at both keppel & semb yard.
compulsory to attend one hour safety induction lesson, as usual, bus loads of bangalah & yindians, they couldnt even understand simple english...strangely..all able to 'pass' the test....

Workers need to attend the safety induction programmes to have that safety sticker so that they are able to obtain the permanent working pass to enter the shipyards.. They'll also be given this safety stickers.. Most will paste these safety stickers on their safety helmets to show the Safety Officers on duty patrolling the shipyards that they had attended the safety induction programmes..

Safety induction programmes only for wayang show.. They'll say its for an hour but its is only around 10 mins long conducted in the room by few Boh Chup safety officers..They'll give you a piece of paper and brief you on all safety aspects inside the shipyard.. You just got to nod your head and pretend to understand what they're saying.. After 10 mins, they will give you the green light and you're then allowed to enter the vessel for your job project..

Workers need to attend the safety induction programmes to have that safety sticker so that they are able to obtain the permanent working pass to enter the shipyards.. They'll also be given this safety stickers.. Most will paste these safety stickers on their safety helmets to show the Safety Officers on duty patrolling the shipyards that they had attended the safety induction programmes..

Safety induction programmes only for wayang show.. They'll say its for an hour but its is only around 10 mins long conducted in the room by few Boh Chup safety officers..They'll give you a piece of paper and brief you on all safety aspects inside the shipyard.. You just got to nod your head and pretend to understand what they're saying.. After 10 mins, they will give you the green light and you're then allowed to enter the vessel for your job project..

yes bro, only for wayang. as long as you wear helmet and safety boots can liao. the rest bo chap. just go through the motion. those mama will not understand and yet can pass, copy here and there will do. safety officer where got work? walk around chp bo lan, never check how they work and did they follow procedures. as long as helmet, safety boots and sticker can liao. this is how the mama work, all for show only. latest JSL said never call ambulance because their medical team can handle. i think this is the biggest bull shit!!! so many people injured!!! they just want to cover up and hope authorities like the police, MOM and MPA don't know anything about it.

One time at ST Marine, there was a young delivery driver delivering life raft for my company's vessel..

LOL.. He was only wearing a cap, his company Polo T shirt and wore an Adidas sneakers instead of safety boots.. He went up the vessel to give me some DO to sign after crane operator brought up the life rafts from his lorry up to our vessel.. A Keling Safety Officer was also onboard the vessel and saw the delivery man not in proper attire but took no action at all..

Best thing was, the Keling Safety Officer was also having a quick puff of his Camel cig on the starboard side of the vessel..:D