• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shanmugam said more unsafe driving on S'pore roads

drive carefully in the coming days...........sure got knee jerk clampdown one

This Sham is a useless fuck.

No chauffeur, go out also must ask the wife to drive.

It is so lucky that the Honourable Law and Foreign Affairs minister himself witnessed this sort of irresponsible behaviour on our roads.

I am sure, like him many other Ministers witness such "road hooligans" everyday.

My question here is what action was taken by the Police bodyguard who is always present when Ministers go out.

Did he / she (bodyguards) made a traffic violation report at the nearest police post.

The body-guards are police officers and are empowered to do so.

Even ministers can make such violations report.

For your info, even any of us can do so at any police station.

This is spelt out in the law - citizens arrests, etc......

Let me bring you readers back to the early 70's right up to the 80's.

In those good old days, the Traffic Police used to deploy "un-marked police cars" with the drivers in uniform but only wearing a beret.

These "phantom" cars made many reports against such "road hooligans", despite the fact that the roads were not as crowded as they are today.

Many reckless, careless and dangerous drivers were brought to the courts where they were heavily fined.

This sort of action sent shock-waves to the motoring public and made our roads much safer.

Why isn't the Traffic Police resorting to re-introducing such a scheme today.?????

FYI, there was also a directive from Divisional Police Commanders then asking their off-duty police officers to "book" such errant drivers and riders............

Why isn't any MP (oppo and propo) bringing this out in Parliament instead of wastind their time on other un-important matters.????

Good question.

Let it simmer abit. Kinana will come in and start blasting WP. :D

Re: CB...we have been saying this for many times...

But when MIW say, it is as if only they noticed the change...How could he assumed that the other 2 were locals?

Shamugan should add that foreigner drivers worsen the woes.

Sinkie drivers have never been any good. Way back in the 80s when the expressways were free flowing, I used to come across taxi drivers, aunties, merc drivers and overall blur fucks doing 80kph in the overtaking lane and no amount horn blasting, light flashing and tailgating could persuade them to move over so I could pass.

It boils down to the fucking attitude of the Sinkie drivers, especially Taxi, their reasons I am not speeding, I am law abiding, follow the law 90km/hrs, so doing 85km on right lane is RIGHT! I don't care even if you tailgate or honk me!! this is the attitude of these drivers, seem to me that their steering is locked and can't turn left or right!!

Re: CB...we have been saying this for many times...

Sinkie drivers have never been any good. Way back in the 80s when the expressways were free flowing, I used to come across taxi drivers, aunties, merc drivers and overall blur fucks doing 80kph in the overtaking lane and no amount horn blasting, light flashing and tailgating could persuade them to move over so I could pass.

I simply could not understand why they had to use the extreme right lane when the others two lanes were available.

We once had a German sales rep over and he said that this sort of road hogging would cop a huge fine in Germany as it was more dangerous than speeding. That's why it hardly ever happened back home.

Ultimately, it boils down to education and enforcement. In Singapore, there is neither.

i agree with you

Sadly, I concur with you.

I have to say Singaporean driver are mostly kiasu and kiabo; how many testify that you can only switch a lane without signalling as the driver at the next lane will usually speed up when he see your intention of switching lane?

I am a culprit sometimes and I constantly remind myself to be a better driver.

It boils down to the fucking attitude of the Sinkie drivers, especially Taxi, their reasons I am not speeding, I am law abiding, follow the law 90km/hrs, so doing 85km on right lane is RIGHT! I don't care even if you tailgate or honk me!! this is the attitude of these drivers, seem to me that their steering is locked and can't turn left or right!!

More unsafe driving on S'pore roads, says Shanmugam
By Tan Qiuyi | Posted: 20 August 2012 2112 hrs
[TABLE="align: right"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="align: right"][/TD]
[TD="width: 240, align: right"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"]
dotline_240.gif

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]
<!-- for social media sharing functions --><!-- END social media sharing functions -->
SINGAPORE: Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K Shanmugam said he has noticed more unsafe driving on Singapore roads. Writing on his Facebook page, Mr Shanmugam commented on his experience on the roads on Monday.

He cited two incidents, where drivers almost caused accidents because they did not indicate before switching lanes.

Mr Shanmugam also cited one incident where his wife, who was driving, indicated to switch lanes but a lorry deliberately moved much faster to prevent them from pulling into the lane.

The post also garnered dozens of comments within minutes on the Channel NewsAsia Facebook page. Some have suggested deploying more Traffic Police officers on the roads, to tackle bad drivers.

<!-- Zone Tag : Channel News Asia In Text <script type="text/javascript"> innity_pub = "66368270ffd51418ec58bd793f2d9b1b"; innity_zone = "12251"; innity_width = "**"; innity_height = "**"; innity_country = "SG"; </script> <script type="text/javascript" src="http://cdn.innity.com/network.js"></script>-->

Sham is such a fucking idiot. The one and only reason why the roads have more unsafe drivers is BECAUSE HIS OWN GOVT. KEEPS LETTING IN MASSIVE NUMBERS OF PEOPLE FROM THE 2 COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD WITH THE WORSE DRIVERS, NAMELY CHINA AND INDIA. U go to any Indian city or chinese cities, and you will know what I mean. Those fuckers there drive like shit with no regard for traffic rules. Than this Sham's PAP let them in to be bus drivers, taxi drivers, lorry drivers, rich sons of millionaires who have more money than brains driving high power cars, etc. and he wonders why the road has more unsafe driving? Just because they come to singapore, he thinks they are suddenly civilised drivers? Is he a retard or what? I am amazed no one on this thread picked that up.

how about shamu (if i may) have a full week of heartland experience dwelling in hdb enlighten himself with uncouth,lowlife pinoy,neh,tiong..and occasional sinkie @#%&^!# cb kia making life miserable for neighbour

Typical ivory tower minister. We have been living with this kind of driving day in day out for years.

LKY some years back said that one can reach any part of the island in 20 mins.

Sham is such a fucking idiot. The one and only reason why the roads have more unsafe drivers is BECAUSE HIS OWN GOVT. KEEPS LETTING IN MASSIVE NUMBERS OF PEOPLE FROM THE 2 COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD WITH THE WORSE DRIVERS, NAMELY CHINA AND INDIA. U go to any Indian city or chinese cities, and you will know what I mean. Those fuckers there drive like shit with no regard for traffic rules. Than this Sham's PAP let them in to be bus drivers, taxi drivers, lorry drivers, rich sons of millionaires who have more money than brains driving high power cars, etc. and he wonders why the road has more unsafe driving? Just because they come to singapore, he thinks they are suddenly civilised drivers? Is he a retard or what? I am amazed no one on this thread picked that up.

Indeed. These ah nehs and PRC drivers are the worst in the world. As I said earlier, Sham should add that foreign drivers make worse the woes.

Typical ivory tower minister. We have been living with this kind of driving day in day out for years.

i think his ahmad driver went on long hari raya leave.

forced to drive himself, that's why he noticed these habits only now after all these years.

Indeed. These ah nehs and PRC drivers are the worst in the world. As I said earlier, Sham should add that foreign drivers make worse the woes.

Yeah lah, Sham conveniently had an amnesia attack. He himself is foreign affairs minister, so he cannot act like he don't know. This lancheow let in millions of PRCs and Indians, many fo them to be professional drivers on our road, and than he wonder why the roads getting unsafe. HAhaha. Other than these assholes, he let in very wealthy people who end up buying ferraris and what not and driving at high speed and crashing them.

More unsafe driving on S'pore roads, says Shanmugam
By Tan Qiuyi | Posted: 20 August 2012 2112 hrs
[TABLE="align: right"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="align: right"][/TD]
[TD="width: 240, align: right"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"]
dotline_240.gif

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]
<!-- for social media sharing functions --><!-- END social media sharing functions -->
SINGAPORE: Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K Shanmugam said he has noticed more unsafe driving on Singapore roads. Writing on his Facebook page, Mr Shanmugam commented on his experience on the roads on Monday.

He cited two incidents, where drivers almost caused accidents because they did not indicate before switching lanes.

Mr Shanmugam also cited one incident where his wife, who was driving, indicated to switch lanes but a lorry deliberately moved much faster to prevent them from pulling into the lane.

The post also garnered dozens of comments within minutes on the Channel NewsAsia Facebook page. Some have suggested deploying more Traffic Police officers on the roads, to tackle bad drivers.

<!-- Zone Tag : Channel News Asia In Text <script type="text/javascript"> innity_pub = "66368270ffd51418ec58bd793f2d9b1b"; innity_zone = "12251"; innity_width = "**"; innity_height = "**"; innity_country = "SG"; </script> <script type="text/javascript" src="http://cdn.innity.com/network.js"></script>-->

There are no Traffic police now monitoring the roads. There are all busy escorting our Ministers around.

Hey ShanMuGaM,

Singapore roads becoming unsafe because the ultra-rich can speed as many times as they like and get 'dua pek kong' to 'own up' for their offences. If get caught need to pay 1k fine only. Blame it on the double standard lax law for the ultra rich.

Where has he been.. Driving in Singapore has always been this ever since I started driving 13 years ago..

Problems IMHO that has surfaced in recent years:

1) Trucks not keeping to the left lane, many of them hogging the centre lanes on the expressways leading to cars being pushed to the right most lane, which is meant for overtaking

2) Slow vehicles hogging the right lane in Expressways, perhaps they are afraid to drive behind trucks which occupy the centre lanes

3) Some SBS Buses ignoring pedestrians at traffic lights! Seen 3 instances where they just drive in front of pedestrians, who are still in the midst of crossing, when the buses are turning right!
They give the pedestrians a big fright, after thought would be if they would end up like the old lady who got run down..

Everytime I see this, feel like stopping my car in front of the bus and giving a driver a good lashing of the tongue! :oIo: These incidents that I've seen occurred after the incident where the old lady got run down by the bus in Sengkang