• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shanmugam: Reporter Parked Car iLEEgally so Handcuffed

knnpapccb

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_566965.html#

:mad::oIo::mad::oIo::mad::oIo:

ln-sg-why.jpg

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Aug 16, 2010
Why photographer was handcuffed
Mr Shamugam said that the Police Officer assessed that it was necessary to use handcuffs to restrain Mr Shafie Goh (above) and stop him from continuing an action which the officer felt posed a danger to others and the photographer himself. -- PHOTO: WANBAO

POLICE handcuffed a photographer taking flood pictures along Bukit Timah Road last month because public safety was involved, said Law Minister and Second Minister for Home Affairs in Parliament on Monday.

Mr K. Shanmugam, replying to a question from Marine Parade GRC MP Ong Seh Hong, said the police generally do not interfere with the media or members of the public taking photographs of floods 'so long as it does not obstruct police operations or does not pose a danger to others or themselves.'

Dr Ong had asked the minister on guidelines for the use of handcuffs following an incident which concerned Lianhe Wanbao chief photographer Shafie Goh in Bukit Timah, near Maplewoods Condominium, on July16.

In his reply, Mr Shanmugam said it was raining heavily that morning and the rain had caused a road divider, which had been excavated, to be flooded. Ordinarily, the construction work would have been surrounded by safety barriers, but the safety barriers had been washed away due to the flood. Motorists driving along the road were unable to see the depression, leading three cars to land in the depression.

The photographer had stopped his car illegally along the road at about 7.40am to take the photographs, causing an obstruction to other motorists, he told the House.

'There was clear danger not only to the photographer but to other motorists as well,' said Mr Shamugam.

When the photographer ignored a second advice from police against taking pictures on the flooded centre divider, he was handcuffed. He was uncuffed after his identity was verified.

The minister also explained that police officers are trained to assess the situation when exercising discretion in using handcuffs. Handcuffs may be used if a suspect is violent or if there is a flight risk, or if a serious offence had been committed.

'In this case, although it was not intended to be an arrest, the Police Officer assessed that it was necessary to use handcuffs to restrain the photographer and stop him from continuing an action which the officer felt posed a danger to others and the photographer himself,
' he said.

He added that both the police and the media have important roles to play. �

While the police respect and understand the role the media has to play, the police have a duty to ensure public safety and security.�

'We cannot allow our officers on the ground when performing their duty to ensure public safety and security to have their directions ignored,' he said.

However, Mr Shanmugam said in hindsight, both parties could have handled the situation better.

uncleyap

phpyfs67iam.jpg

The mata no need handcuff to protect reporter from flood lah.

See they can do this!

Why not?

:biggrin::biggrin::oIo:

knnpapccb

phpyfs67iam.jpg

The mata no need handcuff to protect reporter from flood lah.

See they can do this!

Why not?

:biggrin::biggrin::oIo:

You mean for safety of reporter cordon him using 10 policeman to let him take photo of the flood safe from the water huh?

Like that police die liao :biggrin::biggrin:

knnpapccb

Time is up and things are all against PAP, if not SPH & NKF fucked each other how would we know so much? If not DRUNK PRESIDENT Devanair & LKY fucked each other how do we know so much?

Heard from Cpt. Goh...

Why are they all named Nair?

Drunken President Devan Nair.

Drunken Lawyer Gopalan Nair.

NAIR really means No Alcohol I Resign is it? :biggrin:

Queen Seok Duk

Parking offence is now an arrestable offence ?

Wow....handcuffed for parking offence ? Singapore's laws damn strict...wahseh !

HTOLAS

Hmm... I wonder... what congestion was he causing that the floods hadn't already caused?

Parking offence is now an arrestable offence ?

Wow....handcuffed for parking offence ? Singapore's laws damn strict...wahseh !

Can someone repost the Police Force original reply?, something like the reporter was standing on a manhole....??

Lie, must lie properly....who is a better liar, now?, another story?:wink:

kingrant

Singapore is a police state with the govt leaders suppressing news on floods and covering up incoimpetencies.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Shanmugam is supposed to be top lawyer but he can't even spin a probable lie. See how pathetic the PAP and their lackeys are? In Singapore you can humtum someone jialat and still the police cannot arrest you because it is not a seizable offence. But you take picture and you can kena hancuffed. How can parking be illegal in a flood? What traffic is there to obstruct?

Jabba

he might have drown if he had fallen into the depression accidentally while being led away...that is worse...

†††††

Shanmugam is supposed to be top lawyer but he can't even spin a probable lie. See how pathetic the PAP and their lackeys are? In Singapore you can humtum someone jialat and still the police cannot arrest you because it is not a seizable offence. But you take picture and you can kena hancuffed. How can parking be illegal in a flood? What traffic is there to obstruct?

Shanmugam is implying "I dun care how deep the flood is, flood or no flood, do not stop your car, drive deeper into the flood, your die, your pasa, just dun block the road"

fukyuman

Ganja should be legal for PAP judges and lawyers. This way they can smoke until white is black and black is white.

No smoking & no porn....they can already switch between black & white & to colour & HD 5.1 sound & now to 3D...:wink:

Velma

Wah parking is a serious offence warranting an arrest.

We are becoming more and more like North Korea.

denzuko1

Shamuggam's own definition on handcuff procedure contradict his own explanation on why the reporter is to be handcuffed. Is the reporter going to hit the police officer with the camera or is he trying to run away from the police? If not then the police officer has in fact broken protocol.