• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shanmugam posts on Tan Wu Meng versus Pritam Singh on Alfian Sa'at

UltimaOnline

shanmugam-alfian.jpg

Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam has asked Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh to clarify his position with regards to Alfian Sa'at, as a follow-up to a matter that was raised two days ago by Jurong GRC MP Tan Wu Meng in an article targeting Singapore's oft-reference playwright.

Shanmugam's comments were made after a Sunday morning walkabout on June 21, during an interview with the media at Block 418 Yishun Avenue 11 in Nee Soon GRC.

Shanmugam: Pritam doesn't make clear what his position is

The minister highlighted that there were two aspects to Alfian's views.
Shanmugam first characterised Alfian's views to be pro-Malaysia to being recognisable, but he asked Pritam to clarify where he stood on the issue, and if he was in agreement with Alfian.
Shanmugam noted that Pritam's post "seems to accept that Alfian's posts do mean what Dr Tan said, but he doesn't make clear what his position is".
Pritam's reaction to Tan's remarks was kept to a short response on his Facebook page:

"A loving critic. A son of Singapore. Not perfect. As imperfect as you and me Dr Tan, maybe more, maybe less".

Shanmugam's questioning of Pritam's stance stemmed from a remark the opposition MP made during his recent Fortitude Budget speech on June 5.
Pritam had said then:

In my view Mr Speaker, we should count ourselves fortunate that we have citizens who are the loving critics amongst us, some of whom have been questioned in this very House in this term of government. Members would recall one citizen’s poems were nit-picked with a view to cast wholly negative aspersions on his character, even though that individual was not present in the House to defend himself.

However, the use of the term "loving critic" did not originate from Pritam.
Tommy Koh, Singapore's ambassador-at-large, had said it in a Facebook post on Oct. 8 in defence of Alfian, who had his poetry read out in Parliament and critiqued without the author's response.

"We should not demonise Alfian Sa’at. He is one of our most talented playwrights. I regard him as a loving critic of Singapore. He is not anti- Singapore."

Shanmugam also said in his interview that he wanted to hear Pritam's take on the matter as Singaporeans should not take another country's side.
He added that he was asking for Pritam's position as WP's former secretary-general Low Thia Khiang's stance on such issues was clear.
Shamugam also said Pritam ought to clarify if he is aware of Alfian's numerous posts about Malaysia over the years, or if he has just come to know of them.

This was what Shamugam said during his media interview in full:

Dr Tan Wu Meng's post was a very serious post, was a very thoughtful post.
I think the point may be missed quite easily.
He put out what Mr Alfian Sa’at had said and he didn't make anything up.
He just put out the various posts by Mr Alfian Sa’at.
In summary, one can say that Mr Alfian Sa’at's position is that he would like for Singapore to merge with Malaysia and he thinks that the Chinese are being wrong in not wanting a merger.
He dislikes Mr Lee Kuan Yew intensely and loves Dr Mahathir and he takes Malaysia's side and Malaysian government vessels are in Singapore's waters and in a very tense standoff on territorial issues, as well as air issues, he takes Malaysia's side and says that Singaporeans are egoistic, and various other things.
You know, this is a free country, and he is entitled to his views and most Singaporeans know him for what he is. That doesn't call for any comment.
Mr Sa’at is irrelevant in this issue to that extent, but when Mr Pritam Singh, as leader of the opposition, stands up in parliament and support Mr Alfian Sa’at, and say he is a loving critic of Singapore, then I think we are entitled to ask, in a healthy democracy, which side do you stand on?

Because, under Mr Low (Thia Khiang), it was very clear, we may disagree on policies within Singapore, as Singaporeans, what is better for Singaporeans.
Workers' Party can take one issue, we might take another issue, we may take different positions but politics stop at the boundary, you never take another country's side against Singapore.
So, Dr Tan Wu Meng's note, is a very serious note, saying this is what Mr Low and the Workers' Party used to be like, does that continue to be the position?
And to give Mr Pritam Singh the benefit of doubt, Dr Tan asked, 'have you read those posts before you said Mr Alfian Sa’at is a loving critic of Singapore and should not be criticised?'
Or perhaps to give you the benefit of doubt, maybe you haven't read them, and after reading them, are you still of the same position?
Mr Singh has put up something which seems to suggest that everyone is not, no one is perfect, which means he seems to accept that Alfian's posts do mean what Dr Tan said.
But he (Pritam) doesn't make clear what his position is, whether he knew what Alfian has said. Now that's one part of it.
It's a very serious issue - what should politics be like.
And all that Dr Tan did, was to set out the posts that Alfian has said, and then ask, 'Did you know about this when you supported him in parliament?'
There was nothing about Mr Pritam Singh's character, there was nothing about attacking Mr Pritam Singh, it was a legitimate question.
But what surprised me, for the vast majority of people who read it and I think they understood, both in Mandarin and in English.
But you have a group, it's almost a Pavlovian response, by a small group of people 'Oh, this is character assassination', 'oh you know this is an attack, bullying tactics'.
You know, everyday, PAP (People's Action Party) MPs and PAP Ministers are attacked, 'Shameless lot, you are this, you are that'.
Personal attacks, which are untrue and unfair, attacking the family, attacking the individuals, gutter politics.
These people who now rise up to complain about Dr Tan Wu Meng, never breathed a word about that.
Oh that's fine, it's a democracy, free speech.
When somebody on the government side raises a question, 'Oh it's gutter politics'.
It's sheer hypocrisy.
And I say it's Pavlovian. PAP says anything or the government say anything, 'oh it must be wrong, it's unfair'.

I think people ought to be more honest, go and look at the post, what did Dr Tan Wu Meng say and then ask themselves, is he entitled to raise this question.
And deal with it, rather than attacking the man. Or rather than trying to do character assassination. Which character has been assassinated in this process?
What did Dr Tan say? He just sets out what Alfian says and he says to Mr Singh, did you know this?
So you get, you know, but it's a group, the usual people, they will come up and they will all foam at the mouth. But that's one group.
There's a separate group of people I accept, middle of the road, honest, reasonable people who either didn't read the post, they just read what other people said about it and got the impression that something wrong has been said, 'oh Dr Tan has attacked'.
I can understand. If you don't read the post, you just read what other people say, you get mistaken.
And there are others legitimately, after reading Dr Tan's post, nevertheless, feel, 'why does he have to say this'.
I can understand that.
There are people who feel react that way.
That's legitimate. In a free society, you are entitled to take that view too.

https://mothership.sg/2020/06/shanmugam-alfian-saat-pritam-singh/

Who is that dr Tan ? It’s because of upcoming GE that he squeaks to make attention. Otherwise he is a no body who entered parliament on coattails.

UltimaOnline

Who is that dr Tan ? It’s because of upcoming GE that he squeaks to make attention. Otherwise he is a no body who entered parliament on coattails.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?id=492779724105442&story_fbid=3197143573669030

Calvin Cheng
19 June at 02:50 ·
TAN WU MENG (CHEN YOUMING)
I have known Wu Meng for 28 years. We were at Hwa Chong JC at the same time.
Even amongst academic high-achievers, Wu Meng was extraordinary.
Wu Meng is a double doctor. He has both a medical degree and a PhD in medicine from UK’s second-best university- Cambridge. He is certainly no intellectual midget.
Wu Meng was and is one of the good guys.
At Hwa Chong, being from Raffles Institution was already hard, as he was a tiny minority surrounded by us ching-chong Chinese High guys.
But he made friends with all of us by being down-to-earth and with sincerity.
Wu Meng is straight as a rake, and does not have a bad bone in his body. In fact, I always tease him for being too straight and upright, as I was a troll and wanker from young.
If you disagree with what he said, the last person anyone has any chance of character-assassinating is Tan Wu Meng.
Instead of “how dare he” moral outrage, if he has said anything incorrect or unfactual, counter that. As the subject matter Alfian himself did.
Politics is a contest and sometimes one has to get their hands a bit stained.
And for someone as conservative as Wu Meng to throw a punch, he would have had a good reason.

LaoTze

PAP RIGGED THE ENTIRE SYSTEM TO BE AGAINST SINGAPOREANS

AND YOU RIGHT

SINGAPOREANS ALLOWED THE FUCKING PAP TO DO ALL KINDS OF SHIT THINGS SUCH AS LETTING CECAs IN WITH FUCKED UP PAPERS FROM UPTRON ACL AND SOUTHERN PACIFIC UNIVERSITY

AND GAVE LUNCHES AND DINNERS OF SINGAPOREANS TO THOSE PUKING CECAs AND FOREIGN TALENTS

VOTE OUT THE FUCKING PAP MAGGOTS

WE ALL NOW PRAYING AND PRAYING AND PRAYING

NEXT CLUSTERS WILL BE CENTERED WITH PAP MAGGOTS AND MAGGOTESS

AND ANOTHER CLUSTERS WITH THE ROTTEN PEOPLES ASSOCIATION AND RC MEMBERS
AND YET ANOTHER CLUSTERS WITH PAPER GENERALS LINKED OR UNLINKED TOTALLY IRRELEVANT TO US ALL

AS LONG AS THOSE MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENNA WUHANED

EVEN BETTER WILL BE THEY ALL HUM KAR CHANG

LET THEM GATHER
MORE KENNA WUHANDED THE MORE LIKELY THAT GET BACK TO MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE AND THEIR ENTIRE FAMILIES
AND THEIR KANGAROOS AND PAPER GENERALS AND CRONIES AND BROWN NOSERS
ALL HUM KAR CHAN

MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND THEIR CRONIES AND PAPER GENERALS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS WILL ALSO DIE
MAY THEY ALL DIE BEFORE US , OR WITH US
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE AGAIN

SPREAD WIDELY
UNTIL IT GET TO THE MAIDS AND SONS AND DAUGHTERS AND STAFF OF MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE
UNTIL ALL THOSE OLD MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KENA WUHANDED
AND TOGETHER WITH YOUNG MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS AND ALL IN THE FUCKING PA AND KANGAROOS AND POODLES
WUHAN WILL DELIVER US ALL FROM THE FUCKING MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS IN WHITE FINALLY
MAGGOTS MAGGOTESS KANGAROOS CANNOT FIX WUHAN THE WAY THEY CAN FIX ELECTED PRESIDENT AND OTHER SHIT THINGS THAT THEY CAN FIX
WUHAN WILL FIX THEM INSTEAD

Emoji Laugh GIF - Emoji Laugh Laughing - Discover & Share GIFs

Laughing Emoji GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

UltimaOnline

SureBoh.sg's take on this saga :

Lao niang explain: The Xiao Ming, Prabu and Ali Saga
June 20, 2020 Soon Xue Ling Reading Time: 3 minutes

Disclaimer: The story, all names, characters, and incidents portrayed in this production are fictitious (lao niang say one). No identification with actual persons (living or deceased), places, buildings, and products is intended or should be inferred. No poems were copied in the production of this article.
Tan-Wu-Meng-Pritam-Singh-and-Alfian-Sa’at-saga.jpeg

Xiao Ming, Prabu and Ali work in ABC company.
Although colleagues, all 3 of them work in different departments.
One day, Prabu type one email and mass send to everyone in the company to say,
“Ali is a very good employee and he is very talented. Although he always complain about the way the company do things, but I know he do that because he loves the company a lot.”
After Xiao Ming saw that email, he go reply to that email and ask Prabu,
“Wah Prabu, you like that praise Ali ah, I think you buay gam leh. Do you know what Ali did to the company last time a not?
Even though Ali works in this company, but actually his heart is with DEF company. He openly tells everyone that if he can, he confirm guarantee plus chop want to go work in DEF company. He works here in ABC only because he bo bian, he wants to earn money here because ABC pay him more.
And then hor, last time when DEF company abuse our carpark and park their (Honda) vessels at our carpark, Ali still say well done to them, side them and say they park 2 vessels only mah, never mind what. Don’t be so gei gao.
Somemore, I tia gong this Ali forever say ABC founder not good despite founder built the company until sibei gaolat, and he everyday also go say DEF company’s CEO good and idolise him despite DEF founder chut pattern to ABC company. Is jitao no loyalty one lah!
Now Prabu, since you also love ABC company so much until you willing to die for the company one, after you know all the things he did to ABC company in the past, you will still say Ali is an A star employee, who love our company a lot a not?
Obviously this Ali heart’s is not with ABC company lah!”

After reading this email, everyone in the company sibei hot.
They started scolding Xiao Ming for being an asshole, for abusing the mass email system to ask Prabu questions, macam want to make Prabu paiseh in front of whole company, and say Xiao Ming is bullying Prabu.
Lai lai lai, you all bystander, you all 评评理 and be the judge.
Xiao Ming got do anything wrong for asking if Prabu know about Ali’s history and what he did to ABC company?
Lao niang think Xiao Ming and Prabu both got good intention for ABC company, they want ABC company to prosper with the correct and right employee.
Xiao Ming no wrong to ask Prabu that question and Prabu also got no wrong for not knowing enough so he go and praise Ali, because it seems like this Prabu really don’t know mah.
But then hor plot twist lai liao, macam Yanxi Palace.
After Prabu found out about Ali, he also never thank Xiao Ming for telling him about Ali’s dark history leh.
Instead hor he whack Xiao Ming back and say that Xiao Ming bad, play cheat and play office politics. Because you know lah, Prabu paiseh liao mah. Gei kiang, but actually is because he never do homework properly, end up praise wrong people. So he scared all the colleagues don’t want to trust him liao.
Actually lao niang think it is reasonable for Xiao Ming to ask the question leh. But in the end, Prabu also never answer the question leh. So Prabu know or he don’t know ah?
Is it he don’t know so make the stupid mistake?
Or
He knows and doing it on purpose? Gua gua gua…
Lao niang think hor if it is the latter then a bit xiao bad right? How can you side and support one 卖国贼 (traitor who sell own country)?
And this Ali also another one lah. If he don’t like ABC company, then he should just leave and go and join DEF company lah! Tio bo? Take train 5 minutes nia, very fast one.
By the way, lao niang not referring to the Tan Wu Meng, Pritam Singh and Alfian Sa’at saga hor.
You all better don’t anyhow accuse lao niang, or I will go and burn down your house.
If you’d like to contribute your story to us, drop us an email at [email protected] and we’ll review it. We read each submission that comes to us within two weeks of receiving it.

Soon Xue Ling

Managing Person (MP) at Sure Boh Singapore

https://sureboh.sg/2020/06/20/lao-niang-explain-the-xiao-ming-prabu-and-ali-saga/

Tan Wu Meng is the MP of Jurong GRC, notably the Clementi region after it was carved out and forcibly made part of Jurong GRC.

He is a doctor, and he does MP things like showing face at funeral wakes. Always escorted by some of his minions, of course. :wink:

Tell u all some thing u already know. Pritam is not really support Alfian. He just want to draw parallel say worker party also critic of PAP and mean well. Now got cornered by sir sham Obie good! :biggrin:

bobby

There are more pressing matters now than something that may hurt the feelings of AWARE.....

knnb40

Mr Alfian Sa’at is a writer (sorry not very familiar with Mr Alfian Sa’at as when I open a book to read, less than 2-lines I fall asleep)
when Mr Alfian Sa’at state is for reader to read and decide if it made sense of not.
Mr Alfian Sa’at only get paid upon selling his work therefore his work has to be with fire, drum, sing and dance....to attract eye ball.

Million dollars MIW, your salary and benefit come from Singapore coffer, no matter my tax is one dollar or more, your salary come from us.
you made polices that is not to the benefit of Singaporean and we are Lan Lan suck thumb.
at least you know what Singaporean call you xxx and yyy but yet still go ahead with your bad policies....means you are asking Singaporean to show you what we can ?
ok I will show you what I can come GE2020/GE2021