• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Survival Is In Question!!!

Loofydralb

Listen to 3:04:40. HSK mentioned George Yeo saying, "what does Sg need to do to ensure our continued survival".

To the smart ones. This would not be a surprise. It also ties in to CCS asking his audience, how long they think Sg will exist. Also consistent with kiasu approach to governing.
They know something clueless Sinkies don't know.

Anyone wants to hazard a guess? Let me give the first kick:

Our CPF is actually empty!

Depending on the geopolitical outcome, Sinkieland's days of being a money laundering hub may be over in future.

Also, the country has been gutted out from within and sold to the highest bidder e.g. NOL, Globalfoundries etc.

CharKuayTeow

Depending on the geopolitical outcome, Sinkieland's days of being a money laundering hub may be over in future.

Also, the country has been gutted out from within and sold to the highest bidder e.g. NOL, Globalfoundries etc.
Not to mention Chartered Semiconductor. Started about the same time as TSMC, look where TSMC is now… (edit: if I recall, Globalfoundries bought out Charted Semi when it couldn’t compete anymore.)

met some chartered semi scholars decades ago. “deer in headlights” was my impression. young, arrogant, clueless, and shallow who thought highly of themselves.

Loofydralb

met some chartered semi scholars decades ago. “deer in headlights” was my impression. young, arrogant, clueless, and shallow who thought highly of themselves.
Even mediocre graduates here who work in big MNCs like Google, HP, Exxon, Shell, etc behave the same way thinking that they are the super talented that keeps the company profitable. Little do they realize they are nothing but toe-the-line bureaucrats that offer nothing new of value.
That is why companies like Shell are going bankrupt.

Listen to 3:04:40. HSK mentioned George Yeo saying, "what does Sg need to do to ensure our continued survival".

To the smart ones. This would not be a surprise. It also ties in to CCS asking his audience, how long they think Sg will exist. Also consistent with kiasu approach to governing.

Singapore is just a temporary arrangement. There was never any long term plan in the first place.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Even mediocre graduates here who work in big MNCs like Google, HP, Exxon, She'll, etc behave the same way thinking that they are the super talented that keeps the company profitable. Little do they realize they are nothing but toe-the-line bureaucrats that offer nothing new of value.
That is why companies like She'll go bankrupt.

She'll?

pvtpublic

dont fall for the fear mongering

sg will be around for at least the next 50 years. you think Temasek can sell 50 year SGD bonds if Singapore really going to sink meh.

more likely Malaysia will split up first before Singapore collapses. LOL

Loofydralb

Singapore is just a temporary arrangement. There was never any long term plan in the first place.
That is where most people got misled by LKY. He instinctively knew Sg could not survive in the long term without the hinterlands of Malaysia and Indonesia.
As these neighbours developed, they no longer needed Sg as a port of trade, so LKY had to switch to manufacturing and now financing and further investments into being hub-centric.

Sooner or later they will develop their own industries and Sg will be left with growing the economy by only increasing the population. Which is what we are seeing now.

So really we are at the last phase of development which may stretch decades.

So where was the mistake?
Ans: Trusting politicians. Especially sly cunning ones like LKY. See how he installed his son as PM? Is that no different from an African despot's effort in continuing their plunder?

That is where most people got misled by LKY. He instinctively knew Sg could not survive in the long term without the hinterlands of Malaysia and Indonesia.
As these neighbours developed, they no longer needed Sg as a port of trade, so LKY had to switch to manufacturing and now financing and further investments into being hub-centric.

Sooner or later they will develop their own industries and Sg will be left with growing the economy by only increasing the population. Which is what we are seeing now.

So really we are at the last phase of development which may stretch decades.

So where was the mistake?
Ans: Trusting politicians. Especially sly cunning ones like LKY. See how he installed his son as PM? Is that no different from an African despot's effort in continuing their plunder?

I doubt if it will stretch for decades. The country is already on the decline and there is a limit how many heads you can inject into a population ponzi scheme.

My advice to sinkies has always been to cash out while you still can because once the death throes are obvious it will be too late.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I doubt if it will stretch for decades. The country is already on the decline and there is a limit how many heads you can inject into a population ponzi scheme.

My advice to sinkies has always been to cash out while you still can because once the death throes are obvious it will be too late.

I think Singapore is quite resilient. As long as Singapore uses their reserves wisely it will flourish.
I predict that GIC and Temasek will be able to make good on their investments to the extent we should see Universal income in Singapore.

Dont be so pessimistic.

I think Singapore is quite resilient. As long as Singapore uses their reserves wisely it will flourish.
I predict that GIC and Temasek will be able to make good on their investments to the extent we should see Universal income in Singapore.

Dont be so pessimistic.

There is no transparency or oversight with regards to what is happening with the reserves so "wisely" is devoid of any real meaning.

If I was to lay hands on the reserves I would tell everyone that it is being invested prudently for the benefit of all Singaporeans. However I would secretly be funneling the money into some tax haven with the sole aim of enriching myself and my family and cronies.

Sooner rather than later someone like me will get his hands in the till and then it will be all over.

nayr69sg

Staff member
There is no transparency or oversight with regards to what is happening with the reserves so "wisely" is devoid of any real meaning.

If I was to lay hands on the reserves I would tell everyone that it is being invested prudently for the benefit of all Singaporeans. However I would secretly be funneling the money into some tax haven with the sole aim of enriching myself and my family and cronies.

Sooner rather than later someone like me will get his hands in the till and then it will be all over.

Singapore has a robust system of checks and balances. The Elected President is one.
Singapore's economy is still doing very well. From what I have seen it looks like more Singaporeans than ever are returning from abroad to go home to Singapore because the job prospects there are better and overall Singaporeans feel that Singapore has a very bright future ahead.
Talk about Singapore decline and sinking has been for over 20+ years now Sam.
It isn't going to happen.

Singapore has a robust system of checks and balances. The Elected President is one.
Singapore's economy is still doing very well. From what I have seen it looks like more Singaporeans than ever are returning from abroad to go home to Singapore because the job prospects there are better and overall Singaporeans feel that Singapore has a very bright future ahead.
Talk about Singapore decline and sinking has been for over 20+ years now Sam.
It isn't going to happen.

You have developed a great flare for satire in recent years. Keep up the good work.

mahjongking

Dont be so pessimistic.

what reserves????
this island is already on a permanent downtrend when the imbecile took over

nayr69sg

Staff member
what reserves????
this island is already on a permanent downtrend when the imbecile took over

Property prices in SG still going up.
Lots of rich people. Very high paying jobs especially in finance sector. Many insurance salesmen calling themselves financial advisors also raking it big money.
Medical specialists doing very well too.
Many rich businessmen in Singapore.

I don't hear much about people wanting to migrate or migrating anymore. Surely that's a sign Singapore is doing well.