• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Severely Hit By Once in 50 Years Ponding Again!

songsongjurong

why don't introduce watertaxi to solve chronic traffic congestion during 'flooding' days ? marina bay to changi or bedok jetty
singapore-river-water-taxi.jpg

This is more serious than Orchard flood.
Express way flood and even NUS on high land also flood.

sinkieland is becoming so 3rd world now..

feels like THailand, but hor, thailand has been improving ever since... Thailand going to be first world soon.

this ponding must be treated with love
it's a cleansing process of nature
after the 7th month of utter misery and bad business
now the business will boom and boom
our GNP will go up and up for the fourth quarter
singapore is blessed with so many talented people
even the forummers here are so gifted and so intelligent
many of them are brilliant scholars with top scores
we are truly blessed....majulah singapura!!!

Why Ms Vivian has no statement to issue ah? I was expecting him to say that such 'ponding' comes only once in a century. So, there is nothing we should do.

Looks like you are on the wrong meds. See your doctor ...I heard PAP members get free medicals.

Sivali

I thought we always proclaimed to be lumpar one? So our infrastructure not lampar one now??:kma:

blackmondy

One will notice gahmen going all way out to cover up drains, big and small.

So how can there be no flood ?

Don't you just miss those days in the 1990s to early 2000s when floods were virtually unheard of? So how can they say our country has progressed to 1st world status? Its regression, pure and simple.

"global warming" and "climate change" were unheard of in the 90s. :p

Ms Vivian will announce that yesterday's flooding, oops, it should be PONDING, is once a century event. So, no need to worry or spend a single cent to deal with this.

The next big PONDING, Ms Vivian will declare that it is a ONCE IN 150 years event. You get the drift ...please don't beat up the PAP. They and their scholars have their bases covered.

"global warming" and "climate change" were unheard of in the 90s. :p

OK, assuming that "global warming" and "climate change" are at fault. Where is our prepareness as a result of having the best brains in the land? Do you not think that the constant floodings are a result of localised man-made factors?

Dengue, haze & now floods. Spore is really going down the drain:eek:

Nowadays must have a home emergency kit to prepare for such emergencies. My shopping list is the following:

masks for SARS & haze
Home air purifier for SARs & haze
water proof boots for floods
torch light in case power goes off.

Have I missed out anything :confused:

OK, assuming that "global warming" and "climate change" are at fault. Where is our prepareness as a result of having the best brains in the land? Do you not think that the constant floodings are a result of localised man-made factors?

prolonged torrential rains as a result of climatic perturbances will temporarily flood any place on the planet, including an arid desert higher elevation city like las vegas. i've seen floods in vegas, not pretty. it's very difficult to plan for that. however, the situation in sg can be attributed to a lack of an underground tunnel or drainage system for catastrophic floods. even that, with underground canals or artificial aquifers below sea level, it's extremely challenging to rely on them. e.g. new york city, manhattan to be specific, during hurricane sandy. there are giant and deep tunnels in nyc running all over (under) the city just to carry excess water, yet water flooded the subways and underground stations with little respite for it to dissipate into the underground canals. it had to be pumped out to street level, then overflowed to alternate drainage at the streets. imo, the parapetted design of highways and roadways in sg partially contributed to creating waterways on the streets as run offs funnel from highways to ramps and roadways to street drainage not designed to handle a sudden torrential surge, akin to a small home router flooded by a concerted ddos-like message storm. time to upgrade small routers from 1g to 100g. :p

Ms Vivian has lots of strikes against him ....YOG financial fiasco, floods, cleaning of hawker centres, dengue, haze and rats in hawker centres, now flood again. How many more screw-ups before LHL considers him a failure?

sinkieland is becoming so 3rd world now..

feels like THailand, but hor, thailand has been improving ever since... Thailand going to be first world soon.

Chump, before you laugh at others!! See your own country!!

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/MM979pmzTNI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/F-1WAX9WZdw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/_OPzNdBrKHQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sinkieland getting worse every year..sinkapore liao.wahahhahaha...just love it when.Sinkies are screwed.

Chump, before you laugh at others!! See your own country!!

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/MM979pmzTNI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/F-1WAX9WZdw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/_OPzNdBrKHQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

SgGoneWrong

prolonged torrential rains as a result of climatic perturbances will temporarily flood any place on the planet, including an arid desert higher elevation city like las vegas. i've seen floods in vegas, not pretty. it's very difficult to plan for that. however, the situation in sg can be attributed to a lack of an underground tunnel or drainage system for catastrophic floods. even that, with underground canals or artificial aquifers below sea level, it's extremely challenging to rely on them. e.g. new york city, manhattan to be specific, during hurricane sandy. there are giant and deep tunnels in nyc running all over (under) the city just to carry excess water, yet water flooded the subways and underground stations with little respite for it to dissipate into the underground canals. it had to be pumped out to street level, then overflowed to alternate drainage at the streets. imo, the parapetted design of highways and roadways in sg partially contributed to creating waterways on the streets as run offs funnel from highways to ramps and roadways to street drainage not designed to handle a sudden torrential surge, akin to a small home router flooded by a concerted ddos-like message storm. time to upgrade small routers from 1g to 100g. :p

Since planning will not fully solve the problem, might as well don't plan and spend a cent on the problem? Just blame it on nature will do. Anyway, Sg will not have space for tunnels, etc, underground space is meant to house living as well.