• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Kid Chose Death Over Being Replaced by FTrash After Slogging Through Exams

we do need someone to do cleaning jobs, clear rubbish, coolies and night soiler removers. These are valued jobs in their times.

Pay cleaners the same as lawyers and you will see more would prefer cleaning than be lawyer, a sick job if not for the money.

While it may be upsetting, the fact remains that in order for a society to progress, it is necessary to separate the wheat from the chaff at an early an age as possible.

The net result is a stronger and more resilient society which is what a country needs in this age of cut throat competition.

If anything blame the administration of the education system for making education a business, disregards for children mental health.

Educators are not paid well and used devious method to make more money for themselves disregards for the kids mental health.

The PAP may the architects of the system but parents can choose whether to participate. Unfortunately many parents are kiasu, kiasee, kiachenghu and so force their kids to become part of the rat race in grades and scholarships. An all-rounded education need not be this way. You can mentor your child to value things other than grades, such as acquiring social skills, reading widely about everything under the sun, developing critical thinking, etc.

Many parents are only too happy to see their kid raised as a sheep and chase after paper qualification without developing thinking skills.

agree, there are still village places in Hunan provinces with happy children growing up happily and education is what they learn from their parents how to survive in the life style in their region.

What's wrong with a fishing village? A fishing village is much more better.At the very least we won't see a 16 years old jump down because he or she cannot cope.

The parents are only the by-product of the PAP's rotten system.The root problem is the PAP.

Although the pappies are responsible for introducing rotten education system in SG, there are still foreigners rushing to enrol their children in SG schools. If these FTsh children could manage to pass, why couldn't the sinkie children? Are sinkies children less intelligent than the FTsh children?

No wonder, the pappies' attitude is "you die, your business."

Last year I heard that a neighbours child jumped out of the window & died. It was during the exam season & obviously the parents put too much pressure on the child.

Some parents don't understand their kids because they spend too much time in the office than with their kids. It is common to hear parents giving orders to their kids like they are in the army after all we spend more time in the army than with their kids:eek:

Indeed a tragedy for a school kid to commit suicide due to school grade.

During our time, school was the best place to enjoy life. Playing truant, playing football, making fools of teachers, getting into fights with boys from nearby school, disturbing girls, etc and always exciting days in school. Exams came, we took it easy as our parents were too busy making a living to bother us. What a wonderful life back then.

we do need someone to do cleaning jobs, clear rubbish, coolies and night soiler removers. These are valued jobs in their times.

Pay cleaners the same as lawyers and you will see more would prefer cleaning than be lawyer, a sick job if not for the money.

If cleaners earned what lawyers earned, there'd be 100,000 applicants for every cleaning position so how would you sort out who to hire?

While it may be upsetting, the fact remains that in order for a society to progress, it is necessary to separate the wheat from the chaff at an early an age as possible.

The net result is a stronger and more resilient society which is what a country needs in this age of cut throat competition.

Well, why didn't your parents follow your advice? they should have thrown u off the nearest HDB block when u were young. and spare society your stench.

Typical PAP ballslicker comments. Always diverting the attention to another country. Hey fucking retard, who cares about Korea? I don't give a damn about them, or whether their children dying or not. i only care about singapore and what the PAP is doing about it. cocksuckers like u always rush to google the other cases in other countries and still have not addressed the problems of singapore. Is this PAP way? thanks for illustrating the PAP style of no substance but lots of bullshit.

No thanks to the MentaL attitudes' of those Kiasu & Kiasi Parents ! ..:(

Typical PAP ballslicker comments. Always diverting the attention to another country. Hey fucking retard, who cares about Korea? I don't give a damn about them, or whether their children dying or not. i only care about singapore and what the PAP is doing about it. cocksuckers like u always rush to google the other cases in other countries and still have not addressed the problems of singapore. Is this PAP way? thanks for illustrating the PAP style of no substance but lots of bullshit.

I would like to thank LHL and his team for keeping child and youth suicide figures as low as possible through their astute management of resources and conservative approach towards education.

Kudos to the government for being so progressive.

I would like to thank LHL and his team for keeping child and youth suicide figures as low as possible through their astute management of resources and conservative approach towards education.

Kudos to the government for being so progressive.

Now you're confusing. So is our suicide rate acceptable because it happens elsewhere, or is it low thanks to the PAP?

Both. Thanks to the PAP, the suicide rate is lower than it would otherwise be if some other party was in charge of the country.

If cleaners earned what lawyers earned, there'd be 100,000 applicants for every cleaning position so how would you sort out who to hire?

agreed. some of the comments here are so stupid and idiotic that these people whould go and kill themselves. If cleaners and taxi drivers were to be paid almost as much as lecturers, engineers, doctors, judges, CEOs, inventors then why waste 20 years of your life studying and suffering? every idiot would want to be a cleaner and taxi driver. no need to slog so hard. just drive a taxi or empty rubbish bins which any retard can do. talk cock idiots here

talk cock idiots here

The talk cock idiots are the opposition supporters. These 40% don't have a clue how the world works.

Thank goodness we have a solid foundation of 60% who are intelligent enough to understand basic economic theory and appreciate what a fantastic job the PAP is doing.

agreed. some of the comments here are so stupid and idiotic that these people whould go and kill themselves. If cleaners and taxi drivers were to be paid almost as much as lecturers, engineers, doctors, judges, CEOs, inventors then why waste 20 years of your life studying and suffering? every idiot would want to be a cleaner and taxi driver. no need to slog so hard. just drive a taxi or empty rubbish bins which any retard can do. talk cock idiots here

Nobody here is seriously arguing that taxi drivers must be paid same as doctors. I have personally argued that it is income inequity rather than income inequality that is the social evil. As it is, inequity in society is sky high. And it is due to govt policies, not the free market.

And its not the case if two jobs are similar in pay, they are equally replaceable. I would rather study for 20 years to become a top class engineer than become a cleaner even if the cleaner enjoyed a higher pay than an engineer. This is because I hate cleaning but I love engineering. Some people would be cleaners in a heartbeat and I say good luck to them, they provide non-cleaners like me a most valuable service. That is why the free market is so important - but not forgetting govt has to intervene if free market gets out of hand.

PArents also kan chiong spider... push the kids to the limits.. set ridiculous targets... everytime want their kids to be number one in everything..