• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Kid Chose Death Over Being Replaced by FTrash After Slogging Through Exams

Ten-year-old Lysher Loh climbed over the parapet on the fifth floor of her flat and jumped to her death. Two weeks before she committed suicide, she told her maid she did not want to be reincarnated as a human being because she did not want to have to do homework ever again. The last straw came when she fared poorly in her mid-year exams.

Tragically, Lysher’s case is not uncommon. Twelve-year-old, Simran Kaur, jumped 12 floors to her death when she found out that she was placed in the Normal (Academic) stream. In 2009, an 11-year-old student killed himself when he jumped 16 storeys from his apartment block at Compassvale Walk after an exam.

The statistics below paint an all-too-depressing picture of the pressure that the education system piles on our children.

22 percent of Singaporean children aged between 6-12 indicated or entertained thoughts of killing themselves.

17.2 percent of primary-school children in Singapore have symptoms of depression.

The number of youths seeking psychiatric help increased by 16 percent from 2005 to reach 3,126 in 2010. More than half of them were primary-school children.

The number of children warded for “aggressive, suicidal or hallucination tendencies” at the IMH jumped by 35 percent from 259 cases in 2005 to 351 in 2010. Mental health professionals attribute these problems to academic stress.

Calls to an IMH programme to help schoolchildren with psychological problems increased from 306 in 2007 to 8,336 in 2008 - a nearly 30-fold jump with one year. 70 percent of the cases involved primary-school children.

One in three students say they sometimes think that life is not worth living because of the fear of exams. “That’s scary. What kind of life are we putting our kids through if they’re so frightened of examinations?” a psychiatrist said.

While a majority of the American and Japanese children said that losing a friend or the death of their parents was their number one fear, Singaporean students said that not achieving good grades was what they were most afraid of.

Over 50 percent of our schoolchildren diagnosed with shortsightedness which, according to the Health Promotion Board, is caused by engaging in “long hours on near work such as reading and doing homework”). Singapore is the myopia capital of the world.

In spite of this, PM Lee Hsien Loong boasted: "Among the top performers worldwide, we have the highest proportion of students who are in that top performing group." This is the price our children pay so that the Government can claim that they are the top performers in the world.

This is wrong. We must not subject our children to such crippling school pressures that they are psychologically maimed and, in some cases, have their young lives taken.

The SDP has a different idea about education. We must let our children be children. At such a young age, they should be encouraged to read, play, discover themselves and develop a love for books. In so doing, they will develop a love of learning.

Subjecting them to such cutthroat competition during their formative years is not only inhumane but also socially counterproductive. Also, our economy gains nothing - especially in a world that is changing so rapidly - by making our children learn by rote and streaming them at such a young age.

The goal should be to lead our students to learn, not push them to study. The former will open up their naturally enquiring minds and foster creativity, the latter will kill off curiosity.

It's time for Singapore to have a rethink of our approach to education and, to this end, the SDP will propose our policy ideas in our soon-to-be-released paper.

http://www.domainofexperts.com/2014/05/why-do-we-do-this-to-our-children.html

This is heartbreaking. A kid should never have to commit suicide over school results. Parents have to look at the warning signs and and not be keeping up with the smiths by pressuring their kids to have better results than their friends kids. I enjoy my school times in singapore, even with the pressure on academic results. It don't sound like these kids do nowadays. I wasn't a great student and I was in one of those classes that you would consider lower achievers, but things turn out well. Some of my classmates who i thought would end up in jail, actually are CEOs of their own companies now, commodities traders, living in landed properties and doing quite well. On the other hand, I know friends who were in the top class in Secondary school, and they are now teachers, earning a lot less than i thought they should, and driving old Proton Sagas. Academic results do no translate to real world success. Parents don't understand that. They also live vicariously through their kids. They have imprinted their hopes and dreams onto their kids because they failed to make it themselves. very sad.

By the way, I suspect that you can double all the numbers above for depression and suicidal thoughts for kids. These stats are always under reported.

20070410_Lee-Hsien-Loong_1_2_4.jpg

Good riddance! I can make room for a few more FT pets! *hee*hee*

20070410_Lee-Hsien-Loong_1_2_4.jpg

Good riddance! I can make room for a few more FT pets! *hee*hee*

SAVE SINGAPORE KIDS

KILL ALL THOSE PAP BASTARDS

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.
https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

An economy based on the sacrifice of children -any difference from the Nazis or North Korea?

The strangest part is 60% of parents actually voted to give hell to their own kids thinking it will prevent their pigeon hole prices from falling.

This is heartbreaking. A kid should never have to commit suicide over school results.

While it may be upsetting, the fact remains that in order for a society to progress, it is necessary to separate the wheat from the chaff at an early an age as possible.

The net result is a stronger and more resilient society which is what a country needs in this age of cut throat competition.

The strangest part is 60% of parents actually voted to give hell to their own kids thinking it will prevent their pigeon hole prices from falling.

The parents are the ones who drive their kids to breaking point.

Last year I heard that a neighbours child jumped out of the window & died. It was during the exam season & obviously the parents put too much pressure on the child.

Some parents don't understand their kids because they spend too much time in the office than with their kids. It is common to hear parents giving orders to their kids like they are in the army after all we spend more time in the army than with their kids:eek:

If you're no ability to be a parent, then dun have children.

Why end up like this?

Last year I heard that a neighbours child jumped out of the window & died. It was during the exam season & obviously the parents put too much pressure on the child.

Some parents don't understand their kids because they spend too much time in the office than with their kids. It is common to hear parents giving orders to their kids like they are in the army after all we spend more time in the army than with their kids:eek:

It wasn't this bad when I was a schoolkid. Sure, some pressure has always existed, but back then we had leisure time to do our own thing.

Nowadays I see kids no older than six being herded to various tuition centres or enrichment classes. Even on a Saturday morning.

pap always want to be number 1, why can't we slow down in our pace. just go back to 10 20 years ago, it was fine then...today, i see many sinkies are obsessed to be number 1, seems that we have been brainwashed and engineered to excel in our academic and professional life later. i really fucking off...i want to lengthen my life and not trapped in this always striving to be number 1 society, too much defects spotted in this sinkie society.

WASTE OF THAT KID TO DIE ALONE

SHOULD HAVE TAKEN ONE OF THOSE MOTHERFUCKER PAP BASTARD AND SEND THAT BASTARD TO HELL
THAT KID SURE GO TO HEAVEN

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

Of course pigs can fly in stinkapore land

Maggots and cockroaches are appointed as ministers in parliament
Kangaroos are frolicking in High Court instead of being allowed to wander and roam about in the Zoo

And lowest scums of society known for their vicious self interest driven greed are preaching to sinkies on morality and elitism.

PIGS THAT FLY IS THE LEAST AND LAST OF OUR WORRIES IN STINKAPORE LAND

What's wrong with a fishing village? A fishing village is much more better.At the very least we won't see a 16 years old jump down because he or she cannot cope.

Very soon Pinky Lee will use kids' suicide as an excuse of declining population and import more trash from overseas.

The PAP may the architects of the system but parents can choose whether to participate. Unfortunately many parents are kiasu, kiasee, kiachenghu and so force their kids to become part of the rat race in grades and scholarships. An all-rounded education need not be this way. You can mentor your child to value things other than grades, such as acquiring social skills, reading widely about everything under the sun, developing critical thinking, etc.

Many parents are only too happy to see their kid raised as a sheep and chase after paper qualification without developing thinking skills.

come to think of it, besides the reason to be lumber 1, i think gahment 1st priority is enrich themselves and their close circle of cronies first, before passing their wealth to peasant sinkies.

SPOT ON!!! YEAH...:D