• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sex blogger Alvin Tan’s scholarship terminated

Extremist

The National University of Singapore (NUS) has terminated the scholarship of sex blogger Alvin Tan.

The Straits Times understands from a source that the Asean scholarship holder was not expelled but will have to pay full, unsubsidised fees as a foreign student should he want to conclude his final year of studies at the NUS Law School.

The revelation comes on the same day that Parliament discussed the matter of Mr Tan’s conduct. During the debate in the House, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat strongly condemned the exhibitionist behaviour of Mr Tan, saying that it was “reprehensible and unbecoming of a scholar”.

Though the Minister did not reveal the details of the punishment, he said he was confident that the NUS management took the matter seriously and would do the right thing.

The punishment meted out to the 24-year-old has been a subject of much speculation since NUS announced last week that it would not be revealing the details of the penalty because disciplinary proceedings were private.

It did, however, say that Mr Tan’s behaviour was “detrimental to the reputation and dignity of the university”.

Many, especially online, urged the school to make details of the punishment public, a call that was echoed by several MPs in Parliament.

I do not see why NUS cant make the details of punishment public. Whats there to hide?

Does it mean that if you have money, you can do the wrong things and still get away it? (Ie can still graduate?)

If only Sinkies would grow some balls and do the right thing, this guy would be booted out straight away.. No need so much hide n seek n wayang in Parleement, n still allow him to graduate!

So henceforth, broadcasting your sexcapades in you tube no worries anymore as long as you got $$$!

i am getting more and more tulan about all these fucking foreigners getting more lenient treatment! KNNBCCB!
only need to pay the final yr??? KNNBCCB!!! should ask him pay back every cent he wasted!!! and make him pay full, unsubsidised fees as a foreign student for the past few yrs!!!
if sg kid sure kena expelled! no need to talk much!

dun rely on garmen handouts lah, lest you be control by them.

hanky panky they also want to get involved...

bunch of sickos..

I do not see why NUS cant make the details of punishment public. Whats there to hide?

Alvin may be involved in swingers parties with other (foreign) NUS students who enrolled into NUS by using elite connections.

This will embarrass NUS and anger the ignorant peesai if they know the truth of exactly what is going on.

i am getting more and more tulan about all these fucking foreigners getting more lenient treatment! KNNBCCB!
only need to pay the final yr??? KNNBCCB!!! should ask him pay back every cent he wasted!!! and make him pay full, unsubsidised fees as a foreign student for the past few yrs!!!
if sg kid sure kena expelled! no need to talk much!

I think the punishment is that he has to pay full fares as an unsubsidised student meaning he probably have to cough up all the subsidies he enjoyed. Anyway, what's the big deal about making porn? Our students also leh and their education also subsidised.

it is the right we have. who the fuck is he? a stupid chuihukia! the resources should be utilized to for one of our people, not some stupid foreigners who dont give a fucking damn.

u r right no big deal making porn, ask him to go into porn and make a living out of it.

I think the punishment is that he has to pay full fares as an unsubsidised student meaning he probably have to cough up all the subsidies he enjoyed.

The report is not very clear on that point. The way I read the report initially is that he pays full unsubsidised fees for the final year. But now that you mention paying for all the subsidies he enjoyed, that is possible. Note that the word "terminate" is used, and not "revoke". A revocation would involve recovery of past subsidies.

Anyway I hope the MSM throws more light on this.

I think only if someone starts a facebook petition, garnering many thousands of LIKES, would NUS expel the guy.

The report is not very clear on that point. The way I read the report initially is that he pays full unsubsidised fees for the final year. But now that you mention paying for all the subsidies he enjoyed, that is possible. Note that the word "terminate" is used, and not "revoke". A revocation would involve recovery of past subsidies.

Anyway I hope the MSM throws more light on this.

I think only if someone starts a facebook petition, garnering many thousands of LIKES, would NUS expel the guy.

this guy probably laughing at the stupidity of NUS board and sinkies. His scholarship terminated at final year???? that means he got years 1-3 of his course FREE and only got to pay final year in full. That means NO more bond!!!! No bad considering he pay only 1 year in fees and get NO BOND after that as he is treated as full paying student!!!!! this would set a precedent and ALL final year scholarship students in ALL faculties would start posting their sex videos to get off their bonds/scholarship. Free lunch for 3 years!!!! pay only 1 year then he can run off to another country,

Asean scholarship does not come with a bond. In fact, they are expected to return home to work. NUS is a bloody joke for not having the moral courage to expel this idiot.

http://www.ibiblio.org/BurmaEducation/singaporescholars.html#SME

<National University of Singapore ASEAN Graduate Scholarships

Applying for the NUS AGS

Introduction
1. There are 40 ASEAN Graduate Scholarships [AGS] offered by the National University of Singapore [NUS] each academic year. Only citizens or permanent residents of a member country of ASEAN* are eligible.

2. The NUS AGS is only for full-time course-work graduate degrees** conducted at NUS and designated for the scholarships. Candidates receiving other awards will be disqualified from the NUS AGS.
**(The NUS AGS is not for Research or Doctorate [Ph.D.] programmes. The NUS Research Scholarship is available for these programmes. Please write to the Registrar stating your full name, postal address and interest in the NUS Research Scholarships and send it by post to “Registrar, National University of Singapore, 10 Kent Ridge Crescent, Singapore 119260”.)

Provisions of the award
3. The NUS AGS will provide each scholar with:

a. A monthly stipend of S$1,350.00 throughout the period of the award (inclusive of the University's vacations);

b. A one-time book allowance of S$500.00;

c. Tuition, health insurance, examination fees and other approved fees, allowances and expenses at NUS and throughout the period of the award;

d. Cost of economy travel directly from the home country to Singapore upon award of the scholarship; and

e. Cost of economy travel directly from Singapore to the home country upon successful completion of the course of study leading to the award of the degree.

4. The NUS AGS is initially awarded for 2 semesters or the equivalent of an academic year. The NUS AGS may be extended for an additional semester on the basis of the NUS AGS scholar's performance in the previous semesters and the recommendation of the appropriate NUS Faculty or School.

5. There is no bond or obligation for the scholar to be employed by NUS or in Singapore. The scholar is expected to complete the designated graduate degree and return to the home country.>

Why did it NUS take such a long time to come out with a decision ?
Why was this matter mentioned in Parliament ?
Which Gahmen treat foreigners better than their own shitizen ?

I did not cast my vote on the mainstream party , that's for fucking sure
:mad:

Again; it is $$ issue. How much, NUS do u want from us taxpayers(public) to pay u, in order
that Alvin not step into NUS again to Porn-Terrorise our daughters in Law Faculty? How Much?
Damn $$ face like the PAp.
I hope Public n parents revolutionise.

Why did it NUS take such a long time to come out with a decision ?
Why was this matter mentioned in Parliament ?
Which Gahmen treat foreigners better than their own shitizen ?

Understandably, the university wants to keep the media spotlight as low as possible as it is very negative on its own reputation. However the way NUS has handled the matter has in fact fanned the flames. It should have been transparent from day one, considering the amount of public interest in the matter.

A department scholarship is not public funds per se, yes. That much is true. This guy however is an ASEAN scholarhship holder. That comes from public funds.

NUS as a whole is subsidized by the government on a yearly basis, and the government uses public funds to do so. NUS is therefore indirectly accountable to the public on the behaviour of ALL of its students, NOT just scholarship holders.

For scholarship holders, especially ASEAN holders, the accountability must be hell of a lot higher.

I'm sure if this was a local student, perhaps an honours year student receiving a bursary, his bursary would have been withdrawn and NUS would have publicly denounced his behaviour with no holds barred.

Asean scholarship does not come with a bond. In fact, they are expected to return home to work. NUS is a bloody joke for not having the moral courage to expel this idiot.

Provisions of the award
3. The NUS AGS will provide each scholar with:

a. A monthly stipend of S$1,350.00 throughout the period of the award (inclusive of the University's vacations);

b. A one-time book allowance of S$500.00;

c. Tuition, health insurance, examination fees and other approved fees, allowances and expenses at NUS and throughout the period of the award;

d. Cost of economy travel directly from the home country to Singapore upon award of the scholarship; and

e. Cost of economy travel directly from Singapore to the home country upon successful completion of the course of study leading to the award of the degree.

4. The NUS AGS is initially awarded for 2 semesters or the equivalent of an academic year. The NUS AGS may be extended for an additional semester on the basis of the NUS AGS scholar's performance in the previous semesters and the recommendation of the appropriate NUS Faculty or School.

5. There is no bond or obligation for the scholar to be employed by NUS or in Singapore. The scholar is expected to complete the designated graduate degree and return to the home country.>

Monthly stipend of $1350 x 3 years already = $49k given to this fellow, not mentioning the tuition fees and other benefits that are given to him. Foreigners really have royal treatment, like that also not expelled and no need to cough back money taken, just enjoy and go back where they come from!

I don't understand why he's been punished for anything. Nobody was forced to read his blog.

However, those who suffered the trauma of seeing his girl's grotesque twat should be compensated in some form.