• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serangoon Gdn Woman: I AM FED UP! FCUK PAPee!

Dormitory decision upsets some Serangoon Gardens residents
By Pearl Forss, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 03 October 2008 2124 hrs
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD align=right width=240>
phpIbTVjf.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top height=60> </TD><TD class=update vAlign=top height=60><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=138 bgColor=#f6f6f6>Photos </TD><TD width=47 bgColor=#f6f6f6>3 of 3</TD><TD width=18 bgColor=#f6f6f6><INPUT id=btnPrev disabled onclick=Prev(); type=image height=15 width=18 src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" value="<< Previous"></TD><TD width=19 bgColor=#f6f6f6><INPUT id=bntPlay onclick=Play() type=image height=15 width=19 src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" value="Play - Stop"></TD><TD width=18 bgColor=#f6f6f6><INPUT id=btnNext disabled onclick=Next(); type=image height=15 width=18 src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" value=" Next >> "></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

The former Serangoon Garden Technical School</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=update> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=topic vAlign=top align=left>Related News </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left bgColor=#cccccc>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%"><TD class=bodytext width="96%">MND gives go ahead for workers' dormitory at Serangoon Gardens</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%"><TD class=bodytext width="96%">Foreign workers dorm in Serangoon Gardens not definite</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%"><TD class=bodytext width="96%">Foreign workers prefer to stay away from residential estates</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%"><TD class=bodytext width="96%">FM George Yeo says townships for foreign workers being considered</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top bgColor=#cccccc>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Related Videos </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top bgColor=#cccccc>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>Dormitory decision upsets some Serangoon Gardens residents</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left background=images/dotline_240.gif>
shim.gif
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE: Despite the various mitigating measures being proposed, some residents in Serangoon Gardens did not take too well to news that a foreign workers' dormitory is going to be set up in the area.

The dormitory will be at the former Serangoon Garden Technical School school site, just right across the road from the residents.

There is going to be additional fencing to keep workers in as well as planters to screen the site. But is this a satisfactory compromise for residents?

"I am fed up!" a woman screamed from her car.
"I am thinking of moving out," said a resident.

"We are living with people; they move around. If you fence them up, and say 'this is your area, this is my area', I don't think it is going to work," said Angela Yeo, a resident at Burghley Drive.

Although the dormitory is for manufacturing and services foreign workers, residents said it does not mean security is less of a concern.

Chen Sung Sheng, a resident at Burghley Drive, said: "I think it is the same, isn't it? It all boils down to the same.....foreign workers, regardless of what they are working as. Of course, we can't say that all foreign workers are bad. But majority of us are not very happy about it."

The other issue that irks residents - the way the decision was made.

"The whole consultation process, while it was useful, it kind of makes the residents feel 'what was the point?" said Lim Chia Joo, a resident at Burghley Drive.

=> Wayang for short!

But some felt the proposed measures allay their concerns.

Rose Tan, a Serangoon Gardens resident, said: "If, after that study, they think that it is feasible to go ahead with the project, I am sure they would have taken steps to address the many concerns that were raised by the residents."

Residents are asking the police to step up patrols in the area. They also want the police post, which operates from noon to 10pm, to extend its opening hours.

- CNA/ir

Singapaporean

HA HA HA.....thanks to the 66.6% :biggrin:

"The whole consultation process, while it was useful, it kind of makes the residents feel 'what was the point?'" said Lim Chia Joo, a resident at Burghley Drive.

cass888

HA HA HA.....thanks to the 66.6% :biggrin:

"The whole consultation process, while it was useful, it kind of makes the residents feel 'what was the point?'" said Lim Chia Joo, a resident at Burghley Drive.

Typical attitude befitting the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan:

If they don't do it our way, the consultation is pointless.

Typical attitude befitting the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan:

If they don't do it our way, the consultation is pointless.

Care to tell us when your owners have ever respected Sporns' feedback, short of an open rebellion?

DIVISION1

Foreign talents also require a place of residence, though the residents of Serangoon Gardens are also entitled to their opinion. The government of Singapore is trying to make the best of compromise, respecting human rights on all fronts.

Neh_Neh_Pok

Foreign talents also require a place of residence, though the residents of Serangoon Gardens are also entitled to their opinion. The government of Singapore is trying to make the best of compromise, respecting human rights on all fronts.

Foreign talents (e.g. the pingpong players) they have special place prepare for them to live, this place is for 600+ workers live together, pple in Serangoon Garden scare they may riot there. Abt 600 pple leh, one time pia zhui how to handle all?

How do u define human rights that u claim your owners respect?

Neh_Neh_Pok

you sure or not? you consider Bodmin, borthwick side rich man area? A lot of move out of there already.

:o

Rich of cos rich, the hse there ex, i cant afford.. :( The reason for them to move out maybe they cant tahan the gov decision and want to migrate out of sinky

silverfox@

Rich of cos rich, the hse there ex, i cant afford.. :( The reason for them to move out maybe they cant tahan the gov decision and want to migrate out of sinky

No lah, east coast, holland v, not to talk about bukit timah area already costs more than that side. The people there like to lead a yuppie lifestyle but the house value there not considered high lah:p

madmansg

=========

then how come dont put in istana ?

silverfox@

=========

then how come dont put in istana ?

You are starting to talk crap. Even myanmar, vietnam, indonesia, thailand don't place foreign workers at where the president stay.

Neh_Neh_Pok

No lah, east coast, holland v, not to talk about bukit timah area already costs more than that side. The people there like to lead a yuppie lifestyle but the house value there not considered high lah:p

Ya those area even higher, but at least the Serangoon Garden hses are si lin chu, more ex than hdb cells