• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Senior Civil Servant says "Singaporeans eat like pigs" and "cut number of Cleaners"

Force 136

48a6f_icymi15061.jpg

‘Cut number of cleaners’ to keep Singapore clean
June 15, 2013

IT IS a suggestion that sounds perverse: keeping Singapore clean by cutting the number of cleaners here and cleaning up after Singaporeans less regularly.

But the head of the Keep Singapore Clean Movement Liak Teng Lit is convinced that this is what needs to done to make people think twice before they litter or leave a mess in public areas.

The Government is cleaning Singapore so efficiently that people are conditioned to behave badly, he told The Straits Times, ahead of the Keep Singapore Clean conference on June 29.

“In hawker centres we eat like pigs, with food and tissue all over the tables. It’s a disgrace. We don’t eat like that at home.”

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/cut-number-cleaners-keep-singapore-clean-20130611
http://marinabaysands.me/

Orion

Re: Senior Civil Servant says "Singaporeans eat like pigs" and "cut number of Cleaner

The pig is too used to eating at resturants and cant stand peasants eating haha

Re: Senior Civil Servant says "Singaporeans eat like pigs" and "cut number of Cleaner

... “In hawker centres we eat like pigs, with food and tissue all over the tables. It’s a disgrace. We don’t eat like that at home.” ...
pix dun eat lidat ... dun insult pix ... :oIo:

Devil Within

Show appreciation to cleaners by increasing their pay.

Logisex

My colleague's mum came to visit her from China and she commented that Singapore is much more dirty now and the public toilets smell like shit - a far cry from her last visit. She observed that the cleaners now are FTs and and they rather sloppy when they are working. We had a discussion and came out with the same conclusions:

Why are public places dirtier now?
- Tons of FTs using the public places now
- FTs throw their rubbish as and where they pleases, just like what they do in their countries. They cannot understand or can't be bother about carrying their rubbish with you till you see a rubbish bin

Why do public toilets smell like shit now:
- You get more FTs using the toilets
- In FT's land, all public toilets smell like shit so they will never understand that public toilets can smell good too. They are also damn lazy and will use the mop to wipe away the urine without washing the mop thoroughly so the smell will always be there. Even Changi Airport's toilets smell now

Even a foreigner can see the problem so stop blaming on the locals.

Poomer

Mr Liak, why don't you ask every eating establishment to install a sink prominently for customers to wash their plates after they are done?

Instead of champion the cause of cleaners by fighting for a decent pay for them, Mr LTL wants to take away their jobs. It's pretty apparent the only party who benefits will be the F & B operators as they enjoy lower operating costs and less manpower needs.

bryanlim1972

Mr Liak, why don't you ask every eating establishment to install a sink prominently for customers to wash their plates after they are done?

Instead of champion the cause of cleaners by fighting for a decent pay for them, Mr LTL wants to take away their jobs. It's pretty apparent the only party who benefits will be the F & B operators as they enjoy lower operating costs and less manpower needs.

the pigs will just clog up the sink. many (not all) singaporeans do leave a huge mess behind. especially the older heartland aunties.

on the plus side, many young students have been seen returning their trays at the foodcourts. kudos to them.

if the operating costs were lower, price of food will be cheaper, not higher. so stupid sinkies are screwing themselves over when they think they are engaging in civil disobedience by leaving a mess behind.

watchman8

My colleague's mum came to visit her from China and she commented that Singapore is much more dirty now and the public toilets smell like shit - a far cry from her last visit. She observed that the cleaners now are FTs and and they rather sloppy when they are working. We had a discussion and came out with the same conclusions:

Why are public places dirtier now?
- Tons of FTs using the public places now
- FTs throw their rubbish as and where they pleases, just like what they do in their countries. They cannot understand or can't be bother about carrying their rubbish with you till you see a rubbish bin

Why do public toilets smell like shit now:
- You get more FTs using the toilets
- In FT's land, all public toilets smell like shit so they will never understand that public toilets can smell good too. They are also damn lazy and will use the mop to wipe away the urine without washing the mop thoroughly so the smell will always be there. Even Changi Airport's toilets smell now

Even a foreigner can see the problem so stop blaming on the locals.
Last time only have 20 people using the toilet per hour, now got 30 people using the same toilet. Of course dirtier lah.

It is not that the cleaners are lazy, but their cleaning method is inefficient and stupid. Most of them are just spreading the urine around the toilet floor with the mops.

The toilet designs ought to improve to speed up cleaning, especially the men's urinal area. It's very simple, just need to cater for a proper drain right below the row of urinals, and taper the floor to speed up the water flow to the drains. Then the cleaners can regularly hose down the toilet instead of using the smelly mops.

The Chinks eat so much pork it's affecting their behaviour.

the pigs will just clog up the sink. many (not all) singaporeans do leave a huge mess behind. especially the older heartland aunties.

on the plus side, many young students have been seen returning their trays at the foodcourts. kudos to them.

if the operating costs were lower, price of food will be cheaper, not higher. so stupid sinkies are screwing themselves over when they think they are engaging in civil disobedience by leaving a mess behind.

Dun expect stall holders to pass on lower costs savings to you.
Or govt will up fees and rental to balance up....lppl.
Why be so obedient and listen to vile white scums?
Screw them and make the place dirty until FT cleaners also dun want the job.

bryanlim1972

Dun expect stall holders to pass on lower costs savings to you.
Or govt will up fees and rental to balance up....lppl.
Why be so obedient and listen to vile white scums?
Screw them and make the place dirty until FT cleaners also dun want the job.

you never heard of market competition? chinese businessmen are famous for slashing margins to kill the competition, benefiting consumers.

look at the price of economy rice vs nasi padang vs nasi briyani...

you've all gotten so up in arms over the "fuck pap" or "fuck opposition" shit that you don't know truth when its staring you in the face.

clean up your own mess, and things will get cheaper. fact. period.

and if it doesn't get cheaper... then by all means spill your bowl of laksa on the floor.

boring

excuse for them to cut cost

Evangelion

He's not far from the truth. I've been to hawker centers and most Singaporeans, after consuming their food, tend to leave a huge amount of mess behind. Food bits, bones and zhup spread on the table. It applies to those zhu cao restaurants or coffee shops, the tables are in a huge mess as though a bunch of animals just gorged on the food.

But I agree with devil within that the cleaners should be paid higher, they are getting way too little for the amount of work done.

excuse for them to cut cost

That's the whole idea behind the initiative to get people to return their trays. Mr Liak merely blurted out the true intention of Vivian.

It's rather easy to conceal an economic agenda behind ethics, in this case, dining etiquette.

Remember, the amount of money saved does not get passed onto the consumers of the food... it goes into the pockets of the operators and various cronies. For example, this one.

you never heard of market competition? chinese businessmen are famous for slashing margins to kill the competition, benefiting consumers.

look at the price of economy rice vs nasi padang vs nasi briyani...

you've all gotten so up in arms over the "fuck pap" or "fuck opposition" shit that you don't know truth when its staring you in the face.

clean up your own mess, and things will get cheaper. fact. period.

and if it doesn't get cheaper... then by all means spill your bowl of laksa on the floor.
You must be those who still wants to 'give chance' to pappies and hope they can 'reform'....
Rather then hope and wait for that miracle.......I'll rather forgo any non forthcoming savings and spill my leftovers now.

bryanlim1972

You must be those who still wants to 'give chance' to pappies and hope they can 'reform'....
Rather then hope and wait for that miracle.......I'll rather forgo any non forthcoming savings and spill my leftovers now.

cool man, that's your choice if you want to eat in a pigsty. you can politicize the foodcourt with your leftovers, but who do you think will suffer? the $500k/yr elites? or your fellow proletariat?

stop shooting yourself in the foot for the wrong reasons. dirty foodcourts will not bring about reforms. you can either shoot them or vote them out.

paiseh... all you so call ppl who have class can eat without creating a mess? if classy ppl can swallow the crab shells and cockles shells into their stomach so that the cleaners need not throw the shells into the bin? it a hawker centre for pete sake, after eating sure got mess. even go jumbo seafood also make the same type of mess.

as for those who believe in the return tray nonsense or cleaning crew, i totally disagree. cleaning company is very unfair to those stalls whose biz not so good or food they serve normally dont result in mess, ie.. soya milk and curd, drinks stalls, muffin stalls etc etc... pay the same amount as the BBQ seafood stall which make the most mess. why shd those stall subsidies stalls that have more biz than them. HC shd return to pre cleaning contract days where every stalls are responsible for the mess caused by their own customers. if a pop and mom stall can cook, serve, clear and clean in the yesteryears, then why current hawkers with 5 person manning the stall must self service and need cleaners. the current hawkers are a lazy bunch, saving from less cleaners wont result in lower food price.

pls lah, he is using the hard method of waking sinkies up???

His FT very clean??? Your sinkie country is wasted already..go and ask the locals how many of them want to emigrate...

those shit ass ministers run a country until the locals want to leave... what a loser.

cool man, that's your choice if you want to eat in a pigsty. you can politicize the foodcourt with your leftovers, but who do you think will suffer? the $500k/yr elites? or your fellow proletariat?

stop shooting yourself in the foot for the wrong reasons. dirty foodcourts will not bring about reforms. you can either shoot them or vote them out.
Everyone will suffer. And with the score at 60.1% vs 39.9%.......more of them will suffer.
Frankly, i'm not bothered about bringing reforms......i think they take too long.
I just want to hasten sinkieland going to the dogs so the 60.1% will wake up.
Politicize everything and rub pappies the wrong way. Since they are so lazy we should make them work a little bit harder for their fat salaries.