• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF MO scolds sick NSman: You can only report sick if you collapse!

Everyone who is enlisted has to first pass a medical assessment so the odds of dying are low.

However, as we all know, nothing is 100% certain except death and taxes and a few underlying medical conditions will go undetected resulting in the untimely demise of a few unlucky individuals.

While I sympathise with the family of these unfortunate exceptions, it doesn't alter the fact that premature death can occur under a variety of situations. Military training is but one of them.

If mankind's primary concern was the avoidance of risk, our species would have ended up extinct a long time ago.

The so call medical assessment is just to determine that you can be physically fit. That's all. It does not determine if you have a congenital heart condition, diabetes, cancer, any other underlying medical problems that might killl you. Its not a full comprehensive medical check up with all the bells and whistles. Therefore, in terms of determining your odds of dying, its useless.

Let the 'foreign talents' defend Singapore. There is no need for sinkees to do military service. Those who choose to join should be compensated well - half the MPs allowance.

Simbian

I have actually experienced worst bedside manner from MOs while I was serving my NS. And during that time I was mostly PES E and PES C9 due to real kidney ailment. Even my chief clerk (a kindly Chinese auntie) told the boys under her (all medically unfit personnel) not to bother the medical center people since they are going to be awful to us (say we are all chao-keng peng due to our physical ailments) and just go report sick outside.

Looking back, I am more philosophical about it. Must be the massive number of patients that they have to check out every day without fail and also the human tendency to compare and conclude that for some reason, it is unfair that people with medical ailments like us get a free ride through National Service.

The so call medical assessment is just to determine that you can be physically fit. That's call. It does not determine if you have a congenital heart condition, diabetes, cancer, any other underlying medical problems that might killl you. Its not a full comprehenive medical check up with all the bellls and whistles. Therefore, in terms of determining your odds of dying, its useless.

It's not "useless" you twit. It catches obvious problems but doesn't catch the more subtle ones. It would be ridiculous to put every single enlistee through an angiogram, ECG, cancer screening and a full array of blood tests especially when they're still in their teens.

People are going to die. That's simply a fact of life. It can happen in the SAF, it can happen on the roads, it can happen at home.

bryanlim1972

It's not "useless" you twit. It catches obvious problems but doesn't catch the more subtle ones. It would be ridiculous to put every single enlistee through an angiogram, ECG, cancer screening and a full array of blood tests especially when they're still in their teens..

People are going to die. That's simply a fact of life. It can happen in the SAF, it can happen on the roads, it can happen at home.

it is NOT ridiculous to expect the government to cater a full array of tests for teenagers waiting to spend 2 years of their lives in service.
it is NEGLIGENT of the government not to do so, as they are confronted with evidence of healthy young men dropping dead suddenly.

yes death happens everywhere, if one were to die on the road while going home, too bad. but if the fucking government is going to tell my kids to spend 2 years in jungle-land playing toy-soldiers to impress an imaginary enemy, then they bloody fucking well do a proper pre-enlistment checkup.

KinKeeChiu

it is NOT ridiculous to expect the government to cater a full array of tests for teenagers waiting to spend 2 years of their lives in service.
it is NEGLIGENT of the government not to do so, as they are confronted with evidence of healthy young men dropping dead suddenly.

yes death happens everywhere, if one were to die on the road while going home, too bad. but if the fucking government is going to tell my kids to spend 2 years in jungle-land playing toy-soldiers to impress an imaginary enemy, then they bloody fucking well do a proper pre-enlistment checkup.

Unless your kid has a WH stamped on the medical docket, chances are the army won't give a hoot.

bushtucker

if reservists dulan, they can disobey orders just to get the PC/OC in trouble. The scout platoon once refuse to move out and stay in bunk because support OC pull rank on them, in the end, CO must go down to rectify the problem and he farked the PC and OC for making him lose face as the news spread to the brigade.

I like this. People Power!

If you're so concerned about the health of your children, you can send them for any number of tests you want as long as you foot the bill.

I could understand this being necessary if they were sending your aging father or grandfather through boot camp. However, to expect your fellow taxpayers to pay for tests for someone in their teens which, in 99% of all cases, would be a complete waste of money is plain ridiculous and is typical of the selfish, "it's all about me" attitude that most Sinkies seem to have adopted.

If I have any underlying concerns regarding the health of my children when it comes to enlisting, I'll send them for additional tests that I think would be helpful. That's what a responsible parent does rather than just bleating about how some other party is supposed to be more concerned about your own flesh and blood than you are.

Kohliantye

If you're so concerned about the health of your children, you can send them for any number of tests you want as long as you foot the bill.

I could understand this being necessary if they were sending your aging father or grandfather through boot camp. However, to expect your fellow taxpayers to pay for tests for someone in their teens which, in 99% of all cases, would be a complete waste of money is plain ridiculous and is typical of the selfish, "it's all about me" attitude that most Sinkies seem to have adopted.

If I have any underlying concerns regarding the health of my children when it comes to enlisting, I'll send them for additional tests that I think would be helpful. That's what a responsible parent does rather than just bleating about how some other party is supposed to be more concerned about your own flesh and blood than you are.

My Patriotic Leongsam,

If I want to hire my entire fully-furnished house to someone, must I also ensure that everything in it is good at all times?

On the other hand, older people probably deserve less tests as their shelf life is more limited than a younger person. This is beside the fact that older people are more sickly.

soIsee

But you got no kids, you cohabit with your supposed partner, right?

So what level of concern are you aware of in regard to bringing-up children of your own?

Do you know what a responsible parent is, other than reading from magazine and editorials?

Now I can see where you are coming from, you are be so cold hearted and lack empathy on many issues, simply becos you're a person who hates other humans anyway, right?:biggrin:

It's not "useless" you twit. It catches obvious problems but doesn't catch the more subtle ones. It would be ridiculous to put every single enlistee through an angiogram, ECG, cancer screening and a full array of blood tests especially when they're still in their teens.

U have just defeated your own argument by admitting that the medical assessment does not catch "subtle" problems. So, if you have a "subtle" problem, the medical assessment will not help you reduce your odds of dying by reducing it. Judging by the number of supposedly fit, medically passed young men who are dying, I would say these subtle problems are not that subtle, and hence the standard SAF medical assessment is useless.

bryanlim1972

of course i would, if i could afford it. so now it becomes the responsibility of the parent to foot the medical bill for pre-enlistment? great! parents might as well foot the bill for food and uniform too, since its our kids who are benefiting from the super nutritious SFI food and Batam made no.4s!

hey, why not the NS kids give up their allowance too? since its such a privilege to serve the country, they should not be so ungrateful as to demand compensation for their time.

and what's wrong with expecting my fellow tax payers to pay for OUR kids' pre-enlistment checkup? after all, these taxpayers are enjoying the protection afforded by our kids when they serve in the SAF. when our kids die in the line of duty, do any of these mother-fucker tax payers give a hoot? bollocks.

if you want to talk about "its about me" attitude, the biggest (middle) finger should be pointed at the PAP. its all about the sacrifices WE the people are expected to make for THEM our masters.

not everyone can afford to buy their way through and around the system. those who can, great for them. but to leave those who can't to die... good luck if that's how you believe a country should be run.

but that the way the system currently work. no $$ then be slave lor. now that i become a parent, then i will pay whatever amount to get my son a C9L9 at minimium. only C9 and E excuse outfield. dont get me wrong, i not against NS but i dun see why singapore men shd serve NS anymore since the whole nation are not appreciative of the efforts put in by my fellow reservists and current NSFs. giving $100 more rebate does not cut it. There no longer any pride in the uniform anymore, only kenna laugh at by FTrashs. If the current situation continue till my son enlist, i am willing to spend the money for him to downgrade and teach him all the ways to keng his way during NSF.:rolleyes: I am the type "u gave an inch, i give a yard" person. from NSF till reservist end, it had been govt demanding 100yards from me and give a watch in return. well, they can shove the stupid watch up where the sun wont shine. 45yrs of NS my arse!!!

Kohliantye

of course i would, if i could afford it. so now it becomes the responsibility of the parent to foot the medical bill for pre-enlistment? great! parents might as well foot the bill for food and uniform too, since its our kids who are benefiting from the super nutritious SFI food and Batam made no.4s!

hey, why not the NS kids give up their allowance too? since its such a privilege to serve the country, they should not be so ungrateful as to demand compensation for their time.

and what's wrong with expecting my fellow tax payers to pay for OUR kids' pre-enlistment checkup? after all, these taxpayers are enjoying the protection afforded by our kids when they serve in the SAF. when our kids die in the line of duty, do any of these mother-fucker tax payers give a hoot? bollocks.

if you want to talk about "its about me" attitude, the biggest (middle) finger should be pointed at the PAP. its all about the sacrifices WE the people are expected to make for THEM our masters.

Sir, Good points raised.
No point in arguing with someone who do not know what "do not know" is and yet claims he knows something that he actually "do not know".
Maybe the Great Leaders should also give up their hefty allowances just like the meagre one given to our kids in NS

KinKeeChiu

Easier said than done. How to get a C9L9?

Pre Enlistment, go get a letter from a specialist to certify that your son has some form of injury (dick too short no counted), best is heart problem, spinal issue or past injury (i heard knee injury is the best).

Submit the specialist letter during pre-enlisment checkup, then just have to sit back, relax and wait for the posting letter.

I_Hate_Pappies

So you will only be happy if someone's signature state "A Medical Officer KILLED my best friend!"?

Your best friend is someone's son, father and husband. This NSman have none?

Easier said than done. How to get a C9L9?

read post #98 by bro kinkeechiu.

his example machiam like my boss's son. fell down while hiking in washingston state. come back see specialist, show medical report from US. then specialist gave him a letter to submit to MO during pre enlist checkup. Now a C9L9 who drive to and fro to camp everyday. he play football everyday, pai kar my arse... btw, both sons are downgrade personnel, where got so heng one right? one thing for sure, both sons went to the same local specialist.

of course must have injured b4 first lah. so let the boy go out and play, and being kid, sure will fall down. any injuries also must die die go hospital to have medical record. all these medical records will determine where the boy will go during NS, of course must add specialist letter. Just keep seeing specialists till get letter lah. what is a few thousand $$ when can chao keng for 20months plus lobo ICTs.