• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Roy Ngerng earns his stripes

Yes. Its up to Roy to secure and show the evidence. And it also cannot be a fishing expedition.

Everyone has different agendas. All of them can be genuine and well intentioned by in this case, even if the Roy becomes the poster boy for many it will be him alone that will be the sole recipient of whatever penalties that befall.

Bear in mind the stakes increase and we are looking at aggravated damages as more defiant statements are made.

His best defence is exuberance of youth, the genuine need to serve the community etc. The case will still not be thrown out but the sympathetic judge might award a small amount.

While it sounds like a good dream, the judge is not within your order to secure evidence. The onus in securing evidence lies in the defendant, which would of course be impossible to get from CPF.

Bro, though you have argued your case well, the guys in power have convinced themselves that no individual should burden their system. The pioneer generation package is a big step forward and should twee the economics but I have little faith.

They also forget the Howe Affair where on the question of CPF the community including their PAP members rebelled.

Unfortunately the CPF engine is the main and cheap source of funds to fire the govt investment which brings in close to $3B into the annual budget. POSB which was the other cheap source in the first 30 years is now with DBS.

There is no way the PM is going to make his wife look bad when these funds no longer are available to generate returns as in the past. That is also the reason why conflict of interest and family linkages are frowned upon and discouraged. It is to avoid a scene like this.

What is important to note is the fact that, for us ordinary citizens, the CPF is OUR blood and sweat money from years of toiling. It is only fair that it is returned to us at age 55 as per past practice.

For us ordinary citizens especially in our 50s, this money come in very handy. It can be used to finance the tertiary education of our children, especially many who marry late. Alternatively, it can be used to upkeep on our older parents who are in their late 70s and 80s.

To the rich, the CPF is nothing but for ordinary and poorer citizens, it means a lot. Do have a heart !:o

His best defence is exuberance of youth, the genuine need to serve the community etc. The case will still not be thrown out but the sympathetic judge might award a small amount.

Old fart is the one (now become lhl's job) to determine how much damages he gets for these libel suits and he will inform the presiding judge on the amount before the big day. The judge just pass out the sentence as per his instruction in court. no?

Judge will get some money too when always favouring the Lees.

Roy overstepped with his article. There is so many things wrong with the conduct of CPF but one has to be cautious.

There is no way to he can win.

My advice to Roy is this: There's no need to show off by writing blogs upon blogs. Make your opinions known on popular forums frequented by poly & uni students, young professionals, etc...

Go underground

In Roy's case, it was not even a suggestion or an innuendo. He outright made those comments. In the case of Alex Au and Vincent W, the comments were in the greyzone and not worth the gamble in court.

All humans including judges in an environment like ours, will follow the herd. There are no medals for being a hero as ex Judge Khoo found out. The other exception is when Ex-Judge GP Selvam only awarded GCT a small paltry sum (I think it was $10K) in a lawsuit and caused much embarrassment to then PM. The figure was dramatically increased on appeal.

Old man doesnot have to do and say anything. It the climate and tone that he sets that will do the damage. I bet you if Judge was allowed to pick cases, no one will pick this one. Hard to sleep at night.

Fully agree. There is ready audience out there.

My advice to Roy is this: There's no need to show off by writing blogs upon blogs. Make your opinions known on popular forums frequented by poly & uni students, young professionals, etc...

Go underground

hahaha....have to agree with empty vessel on this.....
only insane pple believed that PM (and by extension his wife and father) is misappropriating CPF monies..

Since u are in such an agreeable mood, can we also agree that you like sucking dog lancheows?

Agree fully that it is best for Roy to back down. No one except the insanely naive will doubt what has truly happened.

If the case goes to court, the media will tar him even further, and not to mention that he will not be able to procure evidence that the court will consider in his favour. Even if token amount is awarded, it will not be worth the fight and the damage the media will do.

Roy should continue to write in his blog and in various media like social media and forums. And also some of the writing can be less high brow. Too many charts and too lengthy articles tend to spoil the broth sometimes. After a while, you lose track of what is being said.

Agree fully that it is best for Roy to back down. No one except the insanely naive will doubt what has truly happened.

If the case goes to court, the media will tar him even further, and not to mention that he will not be able to procure evidence that the court will consider in his favour. Even if token amount is awarded, it will not be worth the fight and the damage the media will do.

Roy should continue to write in his blog and in various media like social media and forums. And also some of the writing can be less high brow. Too many charts and too lengthy articles tend to spoil the broth sometimes. After a while, you lose track of what is being said.
he is a brave under 30.

there are many more if you have attended the HL gatherings.

While it sounds like a good dream, the judge is not within your order to secure evidence. The onus in securing evidence lies in the defendant, which would of course be impossible to get from CPF.

It is extremely difficult to prove misuse of public funds by a minister. Even the Labour Front was not brought down because a minister embezzled money. In other countries, people just vote out the party.

You have to do such things from within, like for example whistleblowers stepping forward. That is why whistleblower protection is important - which we have none.

On Facebook Roy shoots off his mouth profusely, cheered on by hundreds of Facebook friends. In real life, he shoots off his mouth in Hong Lim Square during Gilbert Goh protest. Where are his friends now? You dont need to protest like that.

Roy's defence should be as follows:

A Prime Minister in the most public of all offices, who chooses not to reveal all his sources of income has some illegal activity to hide. therefore there is an insinuation of some guilty misdeed on the part of the Prime Minister. As such, the misappropriation of CPF is one of the logical possible avenues of these illegal activities. By not revealing all his sources of income, the PM has brought upon himself suspicions of misdeeds. This is a supposition that all logical persons will make. Roy is just voicing what everyone suspects by the PM's actions of non disclosure. If the PM claims that he has not misappropriated CPF money, lets see all his assets and income.

Everyone should see what this is all about.

The PAP is afraid that Roy will run in the next election, whether as an independent or as a candidate for an oppo party, in say a single constituency. They have been waiting for him to slip up on something so that they can sue him in court, get a bankruptcy judgement against him, and make him ineligible to run in the next election. They are afraid of him. This shows they are starting to get scared now. This is indirectly good news for all freedom loving sinkies here.

On Facebook Roy shoots off his mouth profusely, cheered on by hundreds of Facebook friends. In real life, he shoots off his mouth in Hong Lim Square during Gilbert Goh protest. Where are his friends now? You dont need to protest like that.
y dun u go read post 60 in tis thread? ...

he mentioned about alll his family n frens "have all reached out to stand behind me" ...

iz hilited in bold oso ...

Yes, he back down to back to fight for another day. Wish him well.

Blogger Roy Ngerng takes down blog post about PM Lee

PUBLISHED ON MAY 20, 2014 3:10 PM

Roy Ngerng Yi Ling speaking during a three-hour protest rally at Speakers’ Corner in Hong Lim Park on 8 June 2013. Blogger Roy Ngerng has removed a blog post accusing the Government of "misappropriating" CPF funds, a day after he was asked to do so by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's lawyer.

BY THAM YUEN-C

SINGAPORE - Blogger Roy Ngerng has removed a blog post accusing the Government of "misappropriating" CPF funds, a day after he was asked to do so by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's lawyer.
The health-care worker said he took down the blog post on Monday night, but is still deciding how he should respond to a letter of demand sent to him from Mr Lee's lawyer.
Mr Ngerng said on Tuesday his lawyer M. Ravi would be meeting with Mr Lee's lawyers to discuss the issue.
In the meantime, he has published another blog post with the headline Your CPF: The Complete Truth And Nothing But The Truth, which he said would show Singaporeans "once and for all" how CPF funds are being used.