Rowdy Scenes At Terminal 2, Changi Airport - Welcome Home Lions of Singapore.

Kohliantye

Yesterday at 5pm, I had the "misfortune" of having to go to Terminal 2 of Changi Airport to meet an overseas acquaintance.

I waited outside the Gate that catered to those collecting their baggage from Belt 31 to 38.

Outside these gate I saw a sea of red tee-shirts, some carrying banners and making so much noise.

For a moment I thought that I was in an alien environment. Surely cannot be "squeaky-clean" Singapore........

It then rained on me that the crowd was waiting for the returning Lions (footballers of Singapore) from Malaysia Cup.

Wonder whether they won or lost, as I am no fan of footballers.

These footballers were led by an Indian guy (I was later told he was Sundramoorthy).

Among the crowd were kids and some heavily pregnant and other obese women.

They were singing a Rasputin-tune songs with words like, "Thank you Lions".........

Some airport security guards were among them in full uniform. They too seems jubilant.........

But sadly, these guards seems to be deaf to all the noise generated by these crowd.

Then the "heroes" appeared in a row. All hell broke loose and screaming started.

While exiting, none of the Customs officers asked them to open their bags. Many others had to do so, even flight crews of Silkair.

I wonder how much of contraband was smuggled in by these Lions.

"Uniquely Singapore", I quipped to my friend.

Uncle Koh, thanks for this thread. I still remember the good old days in the forum when people would post about their real life experiences and base the theme of their threads or posts on those. Of course, some of those were sex related, but never mind. :p

A few comments in point form:

1. I'm a big football fan, but over the years, have gradually lost interest in local football.
2. Don't see any problem in football fans cheering their team coming home at the airport.
3. Customs and security could have done better, but perhaps they had their own reasons or judgement too.
4. Presumptious and perhaps even unfair to talk about contraband.
5. "Uniquely Singapore" is not this. It is something more sad and unjust. This incident you saw, I would consider a happy occasion and leave it at that.

Today on the Shit Times, I saw pic of Sundram at the airport being carried by 2 jubilant big sized Lions supporters..

The fans celebrate as if the Spore Kittens won the World Cup..:eek:

Many others had to do so, even flight crews of Silkair

Any bros still taking Silkair? I remember back then my company always book us Silkair flights to return back to Spore each time we completed an offshore job project within the region..

I remember Silkair had the best lovely looking slutty Minahs back then as their crew..

I rank Air Asia Minahs a close second behind Silkair's Minahs..

Go Minahs Go!!!

Lost why still have heroes welcome? pengz

The same reason why Sinkies are fucking happy to support the world's most expensive government that does nothing but ask Sinkies to solve their own problems. :D

this is nuts. Didn't the lions lose? So i guess it's a good thing then? Since so many sinkies still support local football no matter how screwed up it is?

Today on the Shit Times, I saw pic of Sundram at the airport being carried by 2 jubilant big sized Lions supporters..

The fans celebrate as if the Spore Kittens won the World Cup..:eek:

I can do a better job than that joker. Dumb sinkies who know nuts about football assume that great players must necessarily be great coaches. The greatest football coach of all time never played professionally and was a mere shoe salesman prior to becoming a coach. :rolleyes:

You already obtained your AFC coaching badges ahh? :D

Back then when Sundram was playing for Kedah, he was assaulted in JB by few chaps under the orders of a big bookie..

He also mixed with a notorious bookie who is also a fellow Mama..

sundram is a great player meh?
That's my question too..save for his dribbLing skiLLs, he did not make much of an impact in his heydays.Infact i remembered the Likes of Arshard Khamis & Mohd Nor tiLL today.

How many Sinkie players can claim that they have played football in Europe before?

[video=youtube;pVOc0phJGkg]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVOc0phJGkg[/video]

All these jia Liao bee stars should be glad that still got fans scream at them. ho Tao Cheow Liao.

Sinkiemen 8-Brunigens 0, so what's the deaL ?..

I am sure you remember the bicycle kick sundram did during one of the lions matches. If i recall correctly he only scored one goal while others like fandi scored more goals but nevertheless that was the most impressive goal of the match. Front page on new paper if i remember correctly.

Anyway i remember one forummer talking about how sundram kept on missing opportunities for easy goals so as to recreate his bicycle goal again on later matches. He actually missed easy kicks into the goal net or attempted to sumersault into the air to do another dramatic goal.

Back then when Sundram was playing for Kedah, he was assaulted in JB by few chaps under the orders of a big bookie..

He also mixed with a notorious bookie who is also a fellow Mama..

Didn't sundram also go to singapore pools to place bets on the matches his team was playing on.

Didn't know about that Jah..

Sundram was not retained by the FAS for the 1994 Malaysia Cup season..

Heard one of the reasons was because of the FAS suspecting him of Kelong due to his lacklustre performance during the 1993 Malaysia Cup final when the Lions lost to Kedah..

There was no concrete evidence so the FAS played safe by not offering him a contract for the 94 season..

Didn't know about that Jah..

Sundram was not retained by the FAS for the 1994 Malaysia Cup season..

Heard one of the reasons was because of the FAS suspecting him of Kelong due to his lacklustre performance during the 1993 Malaysia Cup final when the Lions lost to Kedah..

I think one forummer here mentioned he saw the sundram of today betting on matches his team the lionsXII were playing.

Just suspected only?

Also why are there so many sg teams? This team isn't the national team. What happened to the first XI team the one where the host gurmit singh was announcing loudly first episode about them being idiots for not standing up.