Retiree Sinkies Made To Bear Serf's Medical Bills!! Help! Help!

As me & my husband are getting on in age, nearing sixties; we decided to employ a Foreign Domestic Worker (FDW/maid) to assist us in our daily chores. We are both still working and getting on in age and having a FDW became a necessity. Two years on and suddenly my FDW fell ill and was hospitalized. She was diagnosed with aneurism in the brain (bulge in the wall of a blood vessel ). It was only in the hospital that we found out from our FDW that she has a history of High Blood pressure and was on medication until she came to Singapore to work and therefore stop her medication totally.

3 days after our FDW was admitted to our public hospital, we checked the cost incurred to-date and was told that it was about $3,000.00+. We were actually glad that our FDW was recovering and getting better and looked forward to her discharge. But no, from here on our NIGHTMARE began. More tests, procedures and examinations were carried out on her and on the 4th day she was transferred to the Intensive Care Unit. On the 5th day our FDW suffered a “seizure/fit” and we were informed about another procedure/surgery involving her brain region.

We told the hospital that we are not in the position to say yes or no as the procedure involving the brain carries a high risks and her family members would be more appropriate to authorize such procedures. But NO, the doctor told me that quote “I am not getting your approval but just telling you that we are going ahead with the treatment” unquote.

Then don’t ask me to pay for something decided by you. AN OPEN CHEQUE BOOK. Realizing that all these tests, procedures, surgeries and examinations would involve a substantial cost we checked with the hospital again and on the 7th day since admission , my FDW medical bill ballooned to $19,000.00+. Since that tele-conversation, the hospital has been in DIRECT contact with my FDW’s family and her family has been giving the go ahead for whatever tests, procedures, surgeries and examinations the “doctors“ deemed fit and necessary.

We checked again on the 9th day and from the 7th day till now; 2 days later; the medical bill ballooned to $26,000.00+. All this time the onus was on me the EMPLOYER to bear all cost incurred!!!! I have an insurance taken out for FDW which only covers medical up to a maximum of $15,000.00. The balance is supposed to be paid in cash by me, the employer.

We are unable to bear all these additional cost and to help in whatever way we thought possible, we approached the Ministry of Manpower, Humanitarian Organization for Migration Economics (HOME), the Philippine Embassy as well as my own company’s foundation for financial assistance. But NO, not one single organization is prepared to assist; it is your problem period. The hospital has a Social services who told us that there was a similar case involving another FDW whose hospital bill amounted to $100K+. For a $100K bill, assuming my medical insurance for the FDW is $15,000 the balance $85,000.00 is my problem.

Only after we terminated the FDW’s contract and wrote to the hospital that we are unable to pay the hefty medical bill, we were then “contacted again” and informed that my FDW has another attack/seizure that nearly cost her life and the hospital revive her back which means that the medical cost now would be more than $26,000.00+. We are liable to pay all these medical bills but were not informed of all the tests, procedures, surgeries and examinations carried out since the hospital got into direct contact with the FDW family. Is this fair to me, the Employer; who is supposed to bear all the medical cost????

Can you imagine the magnitude of a Singaporean Employers’ liability- an open cheque book if your FDW falls seriously ill ??? How much does being Ethical and humanitarian worth$$$??? ( I really cannot afford such a hefty bill) Is this what we Singaporeans are subjected to, where’s our protection from the state?? How did the FDW fall through the medical checks if she did not declare her medical history?? Who is going to help us pay such hefty medial cost??? How are we ever going to retire with such hefty medical bills levied on us ?? Is there any one and or any organization that we can turn to???? PLEASE HELP!!! I am at wits end

Helpless Retiree
A.S.S. Contributor

- More at AllSingaporeStuff.com http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/ar...er-pay-26000-medical-bill-after-maids-surgery

Two people staying together needs a maid. I assume if they have children, they are all grown up and working and living elsewhere. So why do they need a maid? They can hire day cleaners for maybe once or twice a week. Get ready cooked meals from their work place before they leave for home. Don't tell me they need someone to make coffee and breakfast for them.

The sinkee should have bought an insurance that covers for such eventuality.

Her employers should have just dumped her into a drain when the serf fell sick instead of bringing her to the hospital.

Who did the old couple voted for ?
Money is more important than a life ?
No mention of concerns of the maid sickness but all about money.
What a fuckup employer and country.

stupid sinkies vote for it, so you deal with the shit.. ball-less stupid sinkie shit deserve this truly..

luckily i stay away from sinkies..

No problem. More sickly maids coming to Singapore to enjoy our world class healthcare, thanks to the generosity of sinkies and its hapless insurance firms. Hehe. More. More!

this makes me very worried,my financial base is small and i dont have high networth,imagine if i fall drastically ill in this dumbfuck cocksucking country with no
free state funded subsidized healthcare thanks to the 70 percent,and my employer is one of these daft and stupid sinkies whose more worried about their check books than my life and they are dead fucking brokeass peasants and they dont have the brains to vote for canadian subsidized healthcare anyway when its clear even their puny pathetic cpf and medisave and savings is not enough to handle a major medical emergency of any scale.talk about double ass penetration.

i dont understand why are sinkie peasants so hard up about paying higher taxes.imagine if u paid just 5 percent extra taxes for healthcare and u are set for life.dont they understand that 5 percent tax is probably less negative impact and more merciful on their finances than if they had to foot their medical bills themselves.even with cpf and medisave and insurance even some consumers can chalk up some seriously big medical bills.how many sinkies have 50k or 90k just lieing around to deal with such emergencies?do they think their insurance plans is like Cow's $8 heart bypass surgeries?his premiums which is a perk for million dollar ministars is probably like $10,000 a month.

goal in life become a millionaire as soon as possible and leave this island of daft and estupido,preferably to some place where people believe in free health care.

this makes me very worried,my financial base is small and i dont have high networth,imagine if i fall drastically ill in this dumbfuck cocksucking country with no
free state funded subsidized healthcare thanks to the 70 percent,and my employer is one of these daft and stupid sinkies whose more worried about their check books than my life and they are dead fucking brokeass peasants and they dont have the brains to vote for canadian subsidized healthcare anyway when its clear even their puny pathetic cpf and medisave and savings is not enough to handle a major medical emergency of any scale.talk about double ass penetration.

i dont understand why are sinkie peasants so hard up about paying higher taxes.imagine if u paid just 5 percent extra taxes for healthcare and u are set for life.dont they understand that 5 percent tax is probably less negative impact and more merciful on their finances than if they had to foot their medical bills themselves.even with cpf and medisave and insurance even some consumers can chalk up some seriously big medical bills.how many sinkies have 50k or 90k just lieing around to deal with such emergencies?do they think their insurance plans is like Cow's $8 heart bypass surgeries?his premiums which is a perk for million dollar ministars is probably like $10,000 a month.

goal in life become a millionaire as soon as possible and leave this island of daft and estupido,preferably to some place where people believe in free health care.

Why don't you just buy a decent hospital insurance plan? It's better than paying high taxes.

insurance is not a magic pill to all your healthcare problems.the only way to be truly safe and 100 percent confident in life is to be rich,in which case to be a millionaire,plus live in a free health care country as a extra safety net.

remember health insurance doesnt cover everything,and worse come to worse if ur illness is major,the insurance company will fight u tooth and nail for what they cover or dont cover and u never know if they are giving u some third rate treatment or medicine to save cost.why leave ur life in the hands of scumbag companies?

insurance is not a magic pill to all your healthcare problems.the only way to be truly safe and 100 percent confident in life is to be rich,in which case to be a millionaire,plus live in a free health care country as a extra safety net.

remember health insurance doesnt cover everything,and worse come to worse if ur illness is major,the insurance company will fight u tooth and nail for what they cover or dont cover and u never know if they are giving u some third rate treatment or medicine to save cost.why leave ur life in the hands of scumbag companies?

There's two kinds of insurance. What you mentioned is mainly for terminal illnesses, death or permanent disability.

There's a hospital type of insurance, which deals with your hospital bill as a result of having to stay in the hospital for let's say, high fever, surgery or broken leg that will heal eventually.

My wife and I bought such kind of hospital insurance many years ago, both for ourselves and our kids. My wife was hospitalized for about a week some time back. We paid only a token amount because our hospital insurance and Medisheld insurance covered most of it. Luckily it was not some terminal disease. Otherwise, we would be filing separate claims from her life insurance.

'Hard time paying' the doctor, even with insurance

Among fully insured households that earned between 100 to 250 percent of the federal poverty level—or $11,670 to $29,175 for individuals—just 29 percent had liquid assets greater than the mid-range of maximum out-of-pocket costs: $3,000 for an individual, and $6,000 for a family.

That, however, fell to a mere 18 percent of households when their assets were compared to the high range of out-of-pocket costs: $6,000 per individual, and $12,000 per family.

Only 47 percent of fully insured families earning between 250-to-400 percent of the poverty level would be able to cover the mid-range of out-of-pocket costs with liquid assets, Kaiser found. And Just 33 percent of such families could cover the higher range.

Among fully insured households that earn more than 400 percent of poverty level, 78 percent had liquid assets in excess of the the mid-range of out-of-pocket costs. Still, when the high range of such costs were considered, just 65 percent of the richer households would be able to foot the maximum with their liquid assets.

"That explains why we get fairly large percentages of people saying they have a hard time paying their medical bills, even when they have insurance," Claxton said.

There's two kinds of insurance. What you mentioned is mainly for terminal illnesses, death or permanent disability.

There's a hospital type of insurance, which deals with your hospital bill as a result of having to stay in the hospital for let's say, high fever, surgery or broken leg that will heal eventually.

My wife and I bought such kind of hospital insurance many years ago, both for ourselves and our kids. My wife was hospitalized for about a week some time back. We paid only a token amount because our hospital insurance and Medisheld insurance covered most of it. Luckily it was not some terminal disease. Otherwise, we would be filing separate claims from her life insurance.

sure,anyone can afford a one time short term stay in the hospital with their insurance plus medisave.what happens if ur wife's illness gets complicated and snowballs like this pinoy?and u end up chalking up tens of thousands in scans and tests and expensive pills and medication?how long can u last?three weeks?three months?a year?before u have to sell ur HDB and live on the streets.

stupid sinkies vote for it, so you deal with the shit.. ball-less stupid sinkie shit deserve this truly..

luckily i stay away from sinkies..

Jiu hu dog, so what are you going to do about this? Complain behind your PC yet again?

sure,anyone can afford a one time short term stay in the hospital with their insurance plus medisave.what happens if ur wife's illness gets complicated and snowballs like this pinoy?and u end up chalking up tens of thousands in scans and tests and expensive pills and medication?how long can u last?three weeks?three months?a year?before u have to sell ur HDB and live on the streets.

The hospital type of insurance I am talking about covers precisely this sort of medical bills, the kind that doesn't fall under death, disability and terminal illnesses. I bought this sort of plan years ago, long before the government pushed for the compulsory Medishield Life sort of thing. Hence, going to hospital for surgery or physio had never hurt my pocket the way it hurt the uneducated people.

I think you didn't get what I was mentioning earlier. The plan my wife and I bought covered the hospital bill. The insurance took care of it. It's not deducting from our medishield, cpf and cash.