• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retired Riot Police Officer gives his views on the Poodles's lame actions.

Must be a fucking balless cantonese shit that run out first lah. Hokkien and teochew kias sure fight one.

knn, today singapore police boh lampar one, cho lang png boh eng, so many Police Vehicles kanna burn, dunno where they hiding, wahaha.

SPF must add this as part of their SOP..

1 : Officers to take cover inside an Ambulance or any empty vehicles large enough to keep them protected against any violent mob who have the intention of hurting them grievously.

Retired Riot Police Shocked at Poodles Abandoning Patrol Cars to Rioters!

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/it-s-a-‘wh...-singapore-riot-police-officer-095039613.html

[h=1]It’s a ‘who dares wins situation’: ex-Singapore riot police officer[/h]<CITE class="byline vcard">
Yahoo-5-jpg_044949.jpg
transparent-1093278.png
By Jeanette Tan

By Jeanette Tan | Yahoo Newsroom – <ABBR title=2013-12-11T09:50:38Z>Wed, Dec 11, 2013</ABBR></CITE>

• Yahoo Newsroom - Roy Danker in full uniform during his riot squad days between 1964 and 1971. In the picture on the left, he is standing in front of a command vehicle. (Photos courtesy of Roy Danker)

<META content=2013-12-11T09:50:38Z itemprop="datePublished"><META content="Yahoo Newsroom" itemprop="provider"><META content="It’s a ‘who dares wins situation’: ex-Singapore riot police officer" itemprop="headline"><META content="Whenever Roy Steven Danker was on standby as a riot police man in Singapore back in the 1960s, he would sleep in his boots waiting for the emergency bell to ring." itemprop="description"><META content=http://l.yimg.com/os/publish-images/news/2013-12-11/283251db-ff97-4f80-ad8d-06858cb24031_roy-back-then.jpg itemprop="image"><!-- google_ad_section_start -->
Whenever Roy Steven Danker was on standby as a riot police man in Singapore back in the 1960s, he would sleep in his boots waiting for the emergency bell to ring.

Doing so was a small discomfort for him because when riots were raging – and they frequently did at that time – riot squad officers sometimes had to go 72 hours without getting a wink.

Danker, now 68 years old, more than 40 years on from his time serving as a senior police officer in the then-named Riot Squad's Red Scorpions (Alpha Troops), still remembers spending full days running from place to place, armed with a wicket shield, a revolver, a baton and either a rifle or a gas grenade launcher, as he cordoned and rounded up rioters with nylon string.

"In those days, one person would arrest three to four people, and we had to use tear gas, while wearing respirator masks. That would send them haywire," he told Yahoo Singapore in a phone interview from Batam, Indonesia, where he now lives.

edcde57d-f2a8-4740-b608-2b4a2d05ecf3_Screen-Shot-2013-12-11-at-9-57-52-AM.png

Singapore's then-named riot squad practicing drills in formation during the 1960s. (Photo courtesy of Roy Dank …

He said he faced "anywhere between 30 and 50" episodes of rioting and unrest in the roughly eight years he served (between 1964 and 1971) with the riot squad. Having lost around 10 of his good friends in the line of duty and himself having had numerous close brushes with death, the incidents then have burnt themselves into his memory.

Of these, he dealt with slightly fewer than 10 larger-scale riots, including the 1964 and 1969 racial riots, as well as what he calls the "Chinese school riots" around the middle of that decade.

He recalls one particular day when students took to Singapore's old District Court building at Empress Place, near Pickering Street, and he was among the first responders to the riot that started there.

"We were told that these are schoolchildren, do not use force on them," he said, adding that they were told to leave their sidearms and rifles inside the command vehicle that accompanied them. "There were a lot of girls, who took ground fresh chili and threw it at our faces… we were blinded, and then the boys took over, whacking us with sticks and poles. Thank God we had our helmets on," he added.

72e2baf4-e3a9-499e-a3d0-a0671c47d772_Screen-Shot-2013-12-11-at-10-07-47-AM.png

Members of Singapore's riot squad standing in formation in the 1960s, in a different set of uniform. (Photo courtesy …

That day, he says he personally sustained injuries to his knees, back, spine and shoulders, while others were warded in hospital. He was fortunate enough to escape without any broken bones, but many of his colleagues, upon release, went right back to the streets and into the thick of the action.

"We didn't like staying in hospital or being out of action for long, really," he said. "Even if the doctor offered us one or two days' MC, we'd just take the medicine and go!"

When not dealing with an actual riot, Danker said the riot squad officers also did coastal patrolling and traffic policing.

"We did practically everything in those days," he said. "We were really the backbone of the Singapore police force."

aeed8c2e-19d8-44fc-a2b3-46b57b7baf14_Screen-Shot-2013-12-11-at-9-56-03-AM.png

A section of Singapore's riot squad pose together with their shields for a group photograph. Roy Danker is in the …

Asked for his views on Sunday's riot in Little India, where about 400 South Asian workers mobbed a bus that ran over and killed an Indian national, Danker said he was shocked that so many police and emergency vehicles were damaged and burnt.

"I don't know what the procedure is now but our jobs were to protect lives and public property… we would have guarded the vehicles at all costs," he said.
"Back then, we had lorry guards whose job it was to protect our command vehicles — when there was a threat (to the vehicles), they would sound a signal that would recall all of us to form up around the vehicles with our shields. We wouldn't have let that (the damage of police and emergency vehicles) happen."

bed1e36f-c7c6-4c0a-ac83-eae34a68b095_Roy-today.jpeg

Former riot policeman Roy Danker in a more recent photo. He is now 68 years old, and resides in Batam. (Photo courtesy …
That said, he hopes Singapore's current special operations command forces will learn from this and improve their approach should their services be required again in the future.

"It's a 'who dares wins' situation," he said. "If they ran forward with their shields and tear gas, they would have easily been able to throw them (the rioters) haywire, and prevent things from spiralling so far out of control."

Re: Retired Riot Police Shocked at Poodles Abandoning Patrol Cars to Rioters!

EMPTY POLICE CARS WERE BLOCKING THE WAY OF THE FIRE TRUCK AND AMBULANCE

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/a5ne2U8aOrQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The video clip above shows that the ambulance was sandwich between two empty police cars (assume that the policemen had flee else it would have been driven off). And the fire truck on the other lane was also block by a empty car.

The ambulance managed to escape only after the police car in front was flip over by the rioters (at around 04:20).
The fire truck had no choice but to reverse (at around 6:44).

New mantra is teammate or citizen is just collateral damage, run road while you can, you died your business[/QUOTE]

Re: Retired Riot Police Shocked at Poodles Abandoning Patrol Cars to Rioters!

Eurasians are second best! after europeans!
Police should stand their ground and retreat orderly. Not by scrambling for cover.
I wonder why this guy now lives in batam. I heard these eurasians have a fetish for minahs. Everytime go to pub, these old eurasians will always be with some nice minahs.
But of course, when faced with a hostile crowd/situation, easy to say from the sidelines.
Some say, you have to stare back at the threat/hostility and see who gives way in the end.

This will happen when the scholar ministers and civil servants have an unlimited budget to buy new wares.

Slizerr wrote:

Like Roy Danker I too was part of the Riot Squad in those days and we knew each other. It is sad to see Police Vehicles being damaged in that manner. I retired from the Police Force as a Sr Officer with the rank of Sr Inspector. Roy and I were then constables in the Riot Squad in those days. As a matter of fact some of us formed the backbone of the Reserve Unit as it was known in those days after the withdrawal of the FRU from Singapore after the separation from Malaysia.

We were young then but the training was harsh and rigid under the command of Mr T E Ricketts. We learned from scratch and the experience gained will forever be etched in my memory. I served in the SPF for 26 yrs in various units and during my time I have dealt with various incidents but I have never seen Police Vehicles being damaged or torched.

Some of my colleagues were Malaysians but because of the separation had to go back to their own country but through the years some of whom remained in PDRM have kept in touch with me.

One of them told me recently in local bahasa quote " Apa suda jadi Singapore sampai orang mogoh bakar Kerata Police" Dalam kawasan Malaysia ini perkara tak boleh jadi." ("What has happened to S'pore where police cars can be set ablaze by mobs. This will not happen in Malaysia"). I laugh it off and said that this is a different era and times change.

But as a former Policeman I cannot help but wonder how this burning of vehicles was allowed to happen. Restraint or no restraint simply put, it tarnishes the image of the force.