• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Traumatic Reunion Dinner at bf’s house

Tragedeigh

Stupidman

Traumatic Reunion Dinner at bf’s house​

Shocking

I feel like such a horrible person for even thinking about these things, but I honestly don't know who to talk to without sounding like a judgmental person.

I’ve been with my BF for close to a year. He’s the sweetest guy, super hardworking, and I love him to bits. Yesterday was the first time I went to his place for CNY reunion dinner. For context, I know that my family and his family has some SES differences, but I haven’t been bothered by it until yesterday.

My family stays in a landed home in District X. I knew he stayed in a 3-room HDB , but seeing it in person was a total culture shock.

The moment I stepped in, I felt so out of place. The house was so cramped, and the smell of cooking oil was everywhere because the kitchen is right next to the living room. His parents don't speak a word of English, only very loud, broken Hokkien/Mandarin.

I tried my best to smile and use my limited Hokkien to communicate with them. I wanted to make a good impression, so I really dressed up. I wore a modest designer cheongsam (the lace one from SC brand) with some jewellery.

I thought I looked respectful and proper for the elders. However, this has bad fired badly. His dad was quite uncouth... throughout dinner, he kept staring at me. He made some comments in Hokkien like, "Wah, your gf so 'swee,' body also very 'tok kong.' You better faster make her pregnant so she don't run away." Then he winked and made some hand gestures that made me feel so violated. Everyone else (including his siblings and mum) laughed like it was a normal joke, even my BF just chuckled and told him to eat more. I felt so cheap.

Now I’m caught in a dilemma. I love my BF, but I’m thinking about our future. If we get married, my parents (who are very refined/particular about etiquette) have to sit across the table from a man who makes sexual jokes about his own daughter-in-law? I duno how both of our families can mingle in future. Now I feel so naive for thinking "love conquers all." Is this what life is going to be like? Am I being a classist snob for being bothered by the 3-room flat and the lack of manners, or am I right to be scared? Please don't roast me as an entitled princess as I’m already feeling like trash, so appreciate constructive comments and advice to help me clear my mind.

This kind of RS sure got problem cos not 门当户对
I think mostly will but not all.
I forgot to ask
Is the bu really chio in all aspect?
Becos it matter with the earlier question of
Does the bf has edison chen or 1 class below look.

Becos when I was having John lone look, a chiobu , unfortunately with an elephant leg, staying in landed home in x district, went steady with me.
She doesn't have problem having dinner in my hdb 3 room, and neither me have problem having dinner at her high ses home.

But the bad me broke off with her as I cannot accept elephant legs. And she wept.
Else I would now be a 付马爷 lo

KNN

I think mostly will but not all.
I forgot to ask
Is the bu really chio in all aspect?
Becos it matter with the earlier question of
Does the bf has edison chen or 1 class below look.

Becos when I was having John lone look, a chiobu , unfortunately with an elephant leg, staying in landed home in x district, went steady with me.
She doesn't have problem having dinner in my hdb 3 room, and neither me have problem having dinner at her high ses home.

But the bad me broke off with her as I cannot accept elephant legs. And she wept.
Else I would now be a 付马爷 lo

KNN
U regretted?

Seriously, I doesn't have a answer for myself, whether I legretted, even today.

As there are still many pro and cons, whether I'm now a 付马爷

I doesn't like elephant legs, so if I had forced to accept at that time, I would probably be not happy and confident.
Also, probably I would have children, and personally I doesn't like the idea to have children, provided I can assure myself that I can provide my children with full love & support. There is no assurance of such thing.

However, I would have leeceived lots of care and concern from that elephant leg chiobu, and this is the part that only can trigger a leegret.

she should have won a skimpy low cut mini dress. show deep longkang and camel toe to bf’s daddy and let him have a hard-on and heart attack.

I doesn't like elephant legs, so if I had forced to accept at that time, I would probably be not happy and confident.
Also, probably I would have children, and personally I doesn't like the idea to have children, provided I can assure myself that I can provide my children with full love & support. There is no assurance of such thing.

However, I would have leeceived lots of care and concern from that elephant leg chiobu, and this is the part that only can trigger a leegret.
Your rejection of Miss Elephant Thigh proves rare fidelity to marriage. Most men would have first married her for wealth and status. Once established in high society, your John Lone charm alone would draw female admirers lining up to flash their pussies at you.

You made the right choice. Morals 1 - 0 Lust :thumbsup:

Your rejection of Miss Elephant Thigh proves rare fidelity to marriage. Most men would have first married her for wealth and status. Once established in high society, your John Lone charm alone would draw female admirers lining up to flash their pussies at you.

不可能! Lust always win.:cool::sneaky:

In this case, it is considered lust over wealth and status.
There is no lust with elephant leg for me, even face is chio.

I suggest that, outside your football betting time, you keep a folder on your computer and start recording your life experiences. You are a rare breed with an ability to think outside the box, and your perspective on life will be both interesting and, for some, valuable.

I began cultivating this habit more than a decade ago after returning from Taiwan. My Taiwanese business partner was often surprised by some of the views I held, and he was the one who suggested that I keep a personal 語錄 (quotations or reflections). You will be amazed when you read your own 語錄 years later.

I remember a collaboration proposal I had written to a professor at 東海大學 for a project involving the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office. Years later, when I returned to Singapore and was doing some housekeeping, I read my own writing and could hardly recognize it as mine. At different times and in different spaces, your inspiration shifts. Inspiration is not permanent — it can fade quickly. That is why you need to jot it down. These notes become a treasure once the inspiration has passed.

The same goes for music composers. Take Joseph Koo, for example. Were he still alive, I’m certain he would not be able to recreate hits like 用爱将心偷 or 铁血丹心. He created his compositions for entertainment, but he preserved his inspirations for history.​

You should do likewise. :thumbsup:

It's traumatic because it's true. A woman's hypergamous nature never lies. :cool:

Even in ancient China, there is a reference to this phenomenon. Look up the story of the proverb 东食西宿 :biggrin:
https://baike.baidu.com/item/东食西宿/1239325
https://www.eol.cn/english/bbc/the_teacher/201509/t20150923_1320239.shtml

In ancient times, a girl in the State of Qi had reached marriageable age. Two families delivered betrothal gifts to propose marriage.

In the family on the east, the young man was short and ugly, but the family was rich. The family on the west was very poor, but the young man was handsome and talented.

The girl's parents considered the matter from different angles, but were unable to come to a decision. So they called the girl andlet her make her own decision.

Seeing the daughter lower her head, blushing and shy, the father said: "If you are too shy to tell your decision, you can do it by exposing your arms. If you like the son of the family on the east, expose your right arm; if you like the son of the family on the west, expose your left arm."

After pondering for some time, the girl silently exposed both her arms.

"Now what does this mean?" her parents asked in surprise.

"I…’ the girl said bashfully. "I want to dine in the family on the east, and sleep in the family on the west."

1983.07.106.01.cut.jpg

You are a rare breed with an ability to think outside the box
I had never thought that I'm a rare breed.
But I believe there are not many people like me, who used to have many gfs, but ended up being single towards the end.
And basically, these are people who preferred not to be tied down by marriage.

I only think of myself being a rare bleed on beating mgt to puppies every where they work.

KNN

I had never thought that I'm a rare breed.
But I believe there are not many people like me, who used to have many gfs, but ended up being single towards the end.
And basically, these are people who preferred not to be tied down by marriage.

I only think of myself being a rare bleed on beating mgt to puppies every where they work.

KNN
Your knack for squeezing every dime from government welfare makes you a rare breed - most people just sit around and complain. :biggrin: :thumbsup:

Traumatic Reunion Dinner at bf’s house​

Shocking

I feel like such a horrible person for even thinking about these things, but I honestly don't know who to talk to without sounding like a judgmental person.

I’ve been with my BF for close to a year. He’s the sweetest guy, super hardworking, and I love him to bits. Yesterday was the first time I went to his place for CNY reunion dinner. For context, I know that my family and his family has some SES differences, but I haven’t been bothered by it until yesterday.

My family stays in a landed home in District X. I knew he stayed in a 3-room HDB , but seeing it in person was a total culture shock.

The moment I stepped in, I felt so out of place. The house was so cramped, and the smell of cooking oil was everywhere because the kitchen is right next to the living room. His parents don't speak a word of English, only very loud, broken Hokkien/Mandarin.

I tried my best to smile and use my limited Hokkien to communicate with them. I wanted to make a good impression, so I really dressed up. I wore a modest designer cheongsam (the lace one from SC brand) with some jewellery.

I thought I looked respectful and proper for the elders. However, this has bad fired badly. His dad was quite uncouth... throughout dinner, he kept staring at me. He made some comments in Hokkien like, "Wah, your gf so 'swee,' body also very 'tok kong.' You better faster make her pregnant so she don't run away." Then he winked and made some hand gestures that made me feel so violated. Everyone else (including his siblings and mum) laughed like it was a normal joke, even my BF just chuckled and told him to eat more. I felt so cheap.

Now I’m caught in a dilemma. I love my BF, but I’m thinking about our future. If we get married, my parents (who are very refined/particular about etiquette) have to sit across the table from a man who makes sexual jokes about his own daughter-in-law? I duno how both of our families can mingle in future. Now I feel so naive for thinking "love conquers all." Is this what life is going to be like? Am I being a classist snob for being bothered by the 3-room flat and the lack of manners, or am I right to be scared? Please don't roast me as an entitled princess as I’m already feeling like trash, so appreciate constructive comments and advice to help me clear my mind.

AI slop. Obvious and fake as fuck.