• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Singapore ran the generational wealth cycle in 55 years instead of 100. Here's why our generation is paying for it.

Flibbertigibbet

Stupidman

Singapore ran the generational wealth cycle in 55 years instead of 100. Here's why our generation is paying for it.​

There's a theory called the Strauss-Howe Generational Cycle that says societies move through four phases roughly every 80–100 years: a boom, an awakening, an unravelling, and a crisis. The West is currently deep in the crisis phase.

Singapore did all four in about 55 years. And that compression is why millennials and Gen Z here are getting squeezed harder and faster than almost anywhere else in the world.

First, let's be honest about what boomers actually inherited

It wasn't talent. It wasn't harder work. It was timing.

Look at what the previous generation got versus what we get:

Housing: BTO was accessible and fast then. Now you wait 4–6 years, and the flat costs 10–15× your annual salary before you even get the keys.
CPF: withdrawal age was 55 then. It has been pushed back repeatedly — 60, 62, 65 — and the goalposts keep moving. Your own money, locked away longer each decade.
Job market: labour had bargaining power then. Capital dominates now.
Inflation: eroded their debt then. Erodes our savings now.
AI disruption: they retired before it hit. We get full career exposure.

A Singaporean boomer who bought HDB in 1980 and upgraded to private in the 1990s is sitting on generational wealth built almost entirely on timing — not talent. That same property cost 2 years' salary then. It costs 15 years' salary now. That gap is not a reward for effort. It is a lottery prize.

And here's the silent mechanism nobody talks about: inflation is a direct wealth transfer from people who hold wages to people who hold assets. Boomers are disproportionately asset-heavy. We are disproportionately wage and cash dependent. The transfer happens continuously, invisibly, with no political debate.

Then Singapore compressed the cycle

Phase 1 — The High (1965–1979)

LKY's generation built everything from scratch with existential urgency. HDB, CPF, EDB, SAF — institutions created in years, not decades. The social contract was honest: sacrifice political freedom, receive economic security. Most people took the deal because it was genuinely good.

Phase 2 — The Awakening (1980–1996)

Singapore became first world. GDP per capita overtook Britain. A generation grew up that had never known poverty and started asking uncomfortable questions. The social contract held but started showing cracks.

Phase 3 — The Unravelling (1997–2011)

Instead of letting wages rise naturally, immigration was opened aggressively to maintain GDP numbers. Housing prices began their climb. CPF withdrawal ages got pushed back. The implicit bargain — give up political voice, receive economic security — stopped being a bargain when a flat costs 25 years of median savings.

Phase 4 — The Crisis (2011–now)

The 2011 GE was the signal. PAP's worst result ever. But here's the structural trap: HDB asset values ARE the retirement savings of an entire generation of elderly Singaporeans. Make housing affordable for the young, and you destroy the retirement security of the old. These two things cannot both be true simultaneously.

So we end up here:

— TFR below 1.0, among the lowest on earth

— HDB resale regularly hitting $1M+

— K-shaped economy where asset owners compound wealth and wage earners fall behind

The part that doesn't get discussed enough: gerontocracy

It's not just that older people have more money. It's that they have systematically captured the political system.

Older demographics vote at much higher rates. Politicians serve those who vote. Senior civil servants and policymakers are from the same generation. So every policy decision — CPF rules, housing cooling measures, healthcare subsidies, NS obligations — is filtered through a governing class that is demographically identical to the class that benefits most from the status quo.

But here's the more uncomfortable layer: even when young Singaporeans DO vote, their political views are often shaped by their parents. Because they can't afford to move out. Because housing costs 20 years of savings. So they live at home longer, absorb their parents' political worldview, and often vote in ways that preserve the exact system keeping them stuck.

The loop is self-sealing:

Can't afford to move out → live with parents longer → absorb their political views → vote to preserve the status quo → housing stays unaffordable → can't afford to move out.

Economic dependence and ideological dependence compounding each other. It's not stupidity. It's a structural trap.

Why our cycle ran so fast

Three reasons Singapore compressed the 80-100 year cycle into 55:

1. We started from zero in 1965. No legacy institutions to slowly decay — we built fast and captured fast.
  2. Tiny open economy = price-taker in global capital. When Western financialisation accelerated in the 1980s, Singapore couldn't insulate itself.
  3. The CPF-HDB nexus is a policy trap with no clean exit. Retirement savings are structurally tied to property values. The older generation literally cannot support affordable housing policy without destroying their own retirement. Not malice — a system that locked in a generational conflict of interest.
What comes next

Lawrence Wong inherits this. Forward Singapore is an acknowledgement the old contract is broken. But whether the reset is managed or forced depends on whether there's political will to override the property-owning voting majority.

Singapore's one real advantage: a small technocratic city-state can theoretically execute managed redistribution faster than any large democracy. The question is whether it will — before demographic and economic pressure forces a harder landing.

Our parents got the miracle. We got the bill.

Not blaming boomers individually. Most just worked hard inside a system that rewarded them. The problem is structural. But structural problems still need structural solutions.

Anyone else feeling this or am I just coping?

[edit] thanks everyone for noticing this.. my first post to bravely speak out on reddit.. had this thought on gerontocracy for some time.. cheers.

Excellent piece but missed out on several important ones and the most important one (writer sounds single and is likely a Gen X or Y)...the social foundation is still and always built on the family nucleus of a husband, wife and child and majority would belong to the middle class. Now we all know husbands irregardless of how one wants to deny it, is hen pecked to a certain extent, and makes decisions based on wife's inputs. Without dwelling into details, with low marriage rates and now MGTOW, there is getting less women voices influencing the men to make decisions...and this is going to be the worrying trend soon

Singapore ran the generational wealth cycle in 55 years instead of 100. Here's why our generation is paying for it.​

There's a theory called the Strauss-Howe Generational Cycle that says societies move through four phases roughly every 80–100 years: a boom, an awakening, an unravelling, and a crisis. The West is currently deep in the crisis phase.

Singapore did all four in about 55 years. And that compression is why millennials and Gen Z here are getting squeezed harder and faster than almost anywhere else in the world.

Housing: BTO was accessible and fast then. Now you wait 4–6 years, and the flat costs 10–15× your annual salary before you even get the keys.
CPF: withdrawal age was 55 then. It has been pushed back repeatedly — 60, 62, 65 — and the goalposts keep moving. Your own money, locked away longer each decade.

A Singaporean boomer who bought HDB in 1980 and upgraded to private in the 1990s is sitting on generational wealth built almost entirely on timing — not talent. That same property cost 2 years' salary then. It costs 15 years' salary now. That gap is not a reward for effort. It is a lottery prize.

And here's the silent mechanism nobody talks about: inflation is a direct wealth transfer from people who hold wages to people who hold assets. Boomers are disproportionately asset-heavy. We are disproportionately wage and cash dependent. The transfer happens continuously, invisibly, with no political debate.

LKY's generation built everything from scratch with existential urgency. HDB, CPF, EDB, SAF — institutions created in years, not decades. The social contract was honest: sacrifice political freedom, receive economic security. Most people took the deal because it was genuinely good.

Singapore became first world. GDP per capita overtook Britain. A generation grew up that had never known poverty and started asking uncomfortable questions. The social contract held but started showing cracks.

Instead of letting wages rise naturally, immigration was opened aggressively to maintain GDP numbers. Housing prices began their climb. CPF withdrawal ages got pushed back. The implicit bargain — give up political voice, receive economic security — stopped being a bargain when a flat costs 25 years of median savings.

The 2011 GE was the signal. PAP's worst result ever. But here's the structural trap: HDB asset values ARE the retirement savings of an entire generation of elderly Singaporeans. Make housing affordable for the young, and you destroy the retirement security of the old. These two things cannot both be true simultaneously.

So we end up here:

— K-shaped economy where asset owners compound wealth and wage earners fall behind

It's not just that older people have more money. It's that they have systematically captured the political system.

Older demographics vote at much higher rates. Politicians serve those who vote. Senior civil servants and policymakers are from the same generation. So every policy decision — CPF rules, housing cooling measures, healthcare subsidies, NS obligations — is filtered through a governing class that is demographically identical to the class that benefits most from the status quo.

But here's the more uncomfortable layer: even when young Singaporeans DO vote, their political views are often shaped by their parents. Because they can't afford to move out. Because housing costs 20 years of savings. So they live at home longer, absorb their parents' political worldview, and often vote in ways that preserve the exact system keeping them stuck.

Can't afford to move out → live with parents longer → absorb their political views → vote to preserve the status quo → housing stays unaffordable → can't afford to move out.

Economic dependence and ideological dependence compounding each other. It's not stupidity. It's a structural trap.

1. We started from zero in 1965. No legacy institutions to slowly decay — we built fast and captured fast.
  2. Tiny open economy = price-taker in global capital. When Western financialisation accelerated in the 1980s, Singapore couldn't insulate itself.
  3. The CPF-HDB nexus is a policy trap with no clean exit. Retirement savings are structurally tied to property values. The older generation literally cannot support affordable housing policy without destroying their own retirement. Not malice — a system that locked in a generational conflict of interest.
What comes next

Lawrence Wong inherits this. Forward Singapore is an acknowledgement the old contract is broken. But whether the reset is managed or forced depends on whether there's political will to override the property-owning voting majority.

Singapore's one real advantage: a small technocratic city-state can theoretically execute managed redistribution faster than any large democracy. The question is whether it will — before demographic and economic pressure forces a harder landing.

Not blaming boomers individually. Most just worked hard inside a system that rewarded them. The problem is structural. But structural problems still need structural solutions.

[edit] thanks everyone for noticing this.. my first post to bravely speak out on reddit.. had this thought on gerontocracy for some time.. cheers.

Those 00 后cham liao. Don't say buy a bto. Buy a toilet also difficult

Who dare to have children at this rate unless got super rich parents.
I have a client 90 后 35 years old with new bto. Her partner 40 years old 1 infant girl. Told me want to try for a boy next year. If have meaning her partner and her need to work for next 25years to raise her 2 kids sad to say work until die. I kept quiet and said all the best. In fact if by 33 years u can't have your first child then better drop the idea. Older parents = higher risk of down syndrome and lower IQ child adhd autistic child.

Yep. Cos if kana one child got down syndrome or some terok illnesses, really will be ITE liao. Point of no return because cannot end child's life.

If the article is accurate and boomers hold significant generational wealth, why are cleaning jobs at hawker centres and food courts predominantly occupied by them?

Maybe the daotao of Cheng LH was right.:eek:

Later the child become Cambodian Scammer how? What if become gangster?
Most of them will end up as senior management if they don't know how to start a business. They will get to live in prime district and drive luxury cars. I'm not being sarcastic hor. I speak from the bottom of my heart. ACS 最棒! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

school_crest.png

Cost of raising a child to university graduate?
If u calculate and know the cost , your little brother will become flaccid immediately although u are in point of orgasm.555

So we end up here:

What comes next

..Are the following statements agreeable ? ,

"to solve these problems, simply import more non-Singaporean "Talents" , make them Singaporeans, and as gratitude these new Citizens will vote the incumbents to stay in Power

The incumbent Singkies - note the many Seniors we see in Publc - let them pass on and dissapear.

Incumbent Young Citizens who move out, nevermind. There are always International Talents to tap on

SG has always been an immigrant-society,

The Focus is on the Best Talents,Period"

Unquote