Rebuking PM Lee's flawed "two party state" rubbish

Avantas

For the second time in a week, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong broached the impracticability of having a two-party system in Singapore, a reflection of how close the topic is to his heart.

A TWO-PARTY system cannot work in Singapore, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Sunday as reported by The Straits Times. This is because it is adversarial and guarantees neither good governance nor progress.

XXX

Mr Lee is taking a leaf out of his father’s book by resorting to the usual PAP-style scare-mongering tactics again to frighten Singaporeans from voting for the opposition out of fear that the emergence of another political party will result in political instability.

The PAP has 82 out of 84 seats in Parliament. The opposition will need to win at least 40 seats in the next General Election in order for a two-party system to materialize and we all know this is a tall order given the gross disparity in strength between the PAP and the opposition now.

The PAP can afford to lose one, two or even three GRCs in the next General Election and still maintain its dominance in Parliament where it can pass its bills unrestrained under the “dominant party” system advocated by PM Lee. There will be no changes in the status quo.

Why does the PAP needs all 84 seats in Parliament to ensure good governance and progress in Singapore ? Or is because Mr Lee will be spending his time fixing the couple of opposition MPs in Parliament as alleged by him during an election rally in 2006 ?

Read rest of article here:

http://wayangparty.com/2008/11/20/rebuking-pm-lees-flawed-concepts-of-two-party-state/

Sooner or later the PAP will be voted out... Ass Loong will smile and quietly walk out

A 2 party system will take time to develop. First will be independent parties to win some seats and thenform a coalition party with other parties and later form a new gahment. LHL can go fly kite to re- use the threats from his old fart.

Iman Al Harry, ST Harry, Venerable Sik Kuan Yew and International Politician Master. G21 Prophet of God and Allah

Tell Ass Loong Son that Rep of Singapore neither belong to him nor his dad nor his famiLEE. It belong to us the citizens. We don't want a 1-party famiLEE LEEgime, and this is not up to him. He isn't wining this fight thus the choice is further from being his.;):cool:

Singapore is good for Mixed Member Proportional representation (MMP).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mixed_member_proportional_representation

http://www.elections.org.nz/voting/mmp/history-mmp.html

Then most of the people even those on the fringe will be represented. The MMP system will empower the little people who normally have no say in any political direction to group up and use their votes tactically instead of wasting their votes on non winnable candidates or worse, abstentions.

The origins of electoral reform in New Zealand lay in the gradual breakdown of public trust and confidence in politicians, Parliament, and the simple certainties of the old two-party system. This process began in the 1950s and 1960s and gathered momentum in the 1970s and 1980s, decades marked by economic uncertainty and the emergence of new social and political movements.

PM is looking at his own interest to make life easy for himself lah...

I can't see any progress for the ordinary Singaporeans since LHL became PM. In fact life has regressed for many Singaporeans while life for PAP has improved tremendously with multi-million dollar salaries and bonuses. If LHL doesn't want a 2 party system, then PAP has to be thrown out.

He thought he could choose whether or not Singapore should be 1-party state. He seems to have forgotten that his whole family were fed by taxpayers money. Taxpayer will decide whether he performed or not. In recent years, he has failed all vital assessments and became a laughing stock. His whole gang of cronies are no better than a piece of shit like him. Lee Hsien Loong should count himself lucky if the coming election resulted in two-party state, PAP might not even become a government given that it has lost the prestique status and well-hated by Singaporeans at large.

PM Loon can just abolish election. Then, he can his cronies can rule forever. No need to talk so much. LKY, LHL and Ho Ching must die if singaporeans want to have a better life.

He doesn't need to because there are still PLENTY of STUPID and IGNORANT S'pore voters out there in the HDB HEARTLANDS who are DIEHARD PAP supporters.

He thought he could choose whether or not Singapore should be 1-party state. He seems to have forgotten that his whole family were fed by taxpayers money. Taxpayer will decide whether he performed or not.

You are wrong.
You are paying for protection money so that he will not FIX you.
Otherwise, put down your name and nric number and we see if you still can talk cock about you taxpayer having the decision.

You are wrong.
You are paying for protection money so that he will not FIX you.
Otherwise, put down your name and nric number and we see if you still can talk cock about you taxpayer having the decision.

I will put down my name and contact if our kangaroo is not a daft. Otherwise why should I fear the pap because he has psycho the boxing kangaroo. Besides, its poodles are even worse and go hand cuffing everyone standing in their way. Without these doggies and kangaro, I will make the tyrants bent on their feet and kow tow to me. Anyway, with election coming, they will be begging me for sure!

You don't get two women as option to get married .

You have an option of 6 - 10 .

Anything is possible if Oppositions win 30 seats in the Parliament :)

Totally agree!!!

Sinkies must have the balls to yank all these mother whores out to the PADANG and have them publicly beheaded and all their assets confiscated & return to the national coffer! Vive La Liberia!!!

Totally agree!!!

Sinkies must have the balls to yank all these mother whores out to the PADANG and have them publicly beheaded and all their assets confiscated & return to the national coffer! Vive La Liberia!!!

Wah, you can reply to a year old post. You are amzing!!! :)

For the second time in a week, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong broached the impracticability of having a two-party system in Singapore, a reflection of how close the topic is to his heart.

A TWO-PARTY system cannot work in Singapore, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Sunday as reported by The Straits Times. This is because it is adversarial and guarantees neither good governance nor progress.

XXX

Mr Lee is taking a leaf out of his father’s book by resorting to the usual PAP-style scare-mongering tactics again to frighten Singaporeans from voting for the opposition out of fear that the emergence of another political party will result in political instability.

The PAP has 82 out of 84 seats in Parliament. The opposition will need to win at least 40 seats in the next General Election in order for a two-party system to materialize and we all know this is a tall order given the gross disparity in strength between the PAP and the opposition now.

The PAP can afford to lose one, two or even three GRCs in the next General Election and still maintain its dominance in Parliament where it can pass its bills unrestrained under the “dominant party” system advocated by PM Lee. There will be no changes in the status quo.

Why does the PAP needs all 84 seats in Parliament to ensure good governance and progress in Singapore ? Or is because Mr Lee will be spending his time fixing the couple of opposition MPs in Parliament as alleged by him during an election rally in 2006 ?

Read rest of article here:

http://wayangparty.com/2008/11/20/rebuking-pm-lees-flawed-concepts-of-two-party-state/

good governance? How good has governance been?

I agree with PM Lee. A two-party system can not work in Singapore. Time to kick out the PAP, I say. :)