• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

RAM capacity survey - how many GB you are using now?

Current computer RAM capacity

• Total voters
I don't know what is GB but I reckon mine can extend to about 8 inches. Many women told me very shiok.

I believe cloud computing will stop or slow down this trend.

Yeap. Actually most end users don't need the kind of specs the average laptop/PCs are using now. The high specs for end users are usually only needed for gamers or pple dealing with graphics to begin with. Most end users just gets con by Tech companies to buy stuff they don't need

I use 16Gb on my Mac Pro. It's used mainly for photo editing.

On my laptop, all I need is 4Gb.

why no 12 GB, there are 6 slots on my motherboard. So 2GB on one slot, mean 12GB on all 6 slots, why do you jump from 8GB to 16GB. and why are there 64GB, only 8x8GB enterprise/server model have such ram support, no one using home computer have 64GB ram. Before you write this poll, do you know the present PC market?

I use 16Gb on my Mac Pro. It's used mainly for photo editing.
On my laptop, all I need is 4Gb.

I bet 100% your mac pro never uses 16GB of ram before. Even for photo editing or any other application. Photoshop is notorious to can use 4GB of ram max for the 64 bits OS.

Dun try to con the computer noob in this forum.

I am still around.

Price hor.... must see which type / speed.

There are DDR / DDR2 / DDR3

Each got different speeds e.g. DDR333 533 1666 got higher

And got to see DIMM (PC) or SODIMM (laptop) the laptops are slightly higher price.

Average DD3 is per GB S$15 or so S$53 for 4BG piece

Expensive ones are matched set / pairs with heat sinks

RAM these days got lifetime warranty damn reliable

;)

The only thing in computer that is most reliable part.

I bet 100% your mac pro never uses 16GB of ram before. Even for photo editing or any other application. Photoshop is notorious to can use 4GB of ram max for the 64 bits OS.

I am still around.

The advantage of having 16Gb is that I can run Photoshop along with my Raw Editor (Capture One) HDR software etc all at the same time. Previously, I'd have to quit one application before opening another. Running all these applications simultaneously would result in the spinning beach ball appearing at regular intervals.

The advantage of having 16Gb is that I can run Photoshop along with my Raw Editor (Capture One) HDR software etc all at the same time. Previously, I'd have to quit one application before opening another. Running all the same time would result in the spinning beach ball appearing at regular intervals.

Impossible, your capture one used so much memory? i never use capture one before on my hackintosh, since i use canon. if your photoshop use 4Gb of ram, and let say your OSX uses 700MB, are you telling me your capture one uses more than 11 GB of ram, it is impossible.

I think you have a sickness, call RAM deficit synchrome, due to at a younger age, your computer always require more ram than you can afford.
When you grew up, RAM is cheap and thus you overload your computer with RAM, and delude yourself that your computer are using all the RAM.

I also use os x, and i say it is impossible for you to need 16MB of RAM.

I am still around.

Wrong! x86_64 Linux kernels max memory limits are e.g. 64TB for Red Hat E L.

For 64 bit CPUs Linux OS is actually real limits, it is actually PER CPU SOCKET limit @max=16TB and practically can get 1TB per CPU socket.

This is because a memory controller is within each CPU which sits on a socket on the mother board. Each memory controller of 64 bit has 16TB address space. Huge servers and workstations has multiple CPU sockets some time 8 CPUs per board.

http://ph.fuckwarezone.com/img/data/articles/2005/1612/Tyan-8-way-opteron.jpg

http://www.behardware.com/news/7578/iwill-octo-opteron-motherboard.html
This is 8 AMD Opteron socket motherboard it is a back-plane configuration as large systems usually are:
IMG0012981.jpg

4 CPU cards each with 2 sockets on the back-plane, each CPU socket has own bank of memory @ 4 DIMM slots. Total of 64 DIMM slots on this system. 512GB if using 8GB DIMM all.
IMG0012982.jpg

Linux kernels are patched & complied in supercomputers with few thousand 64bit CPUs, total memory is in PB ranges (1024xTB).

:rolleyes: :eek:

hello even if you computer can support the ram, your OS can suppor the ram, that does not mean your software and application are using the ram.
Most are just FREE, never used.

maybe you can name one forummer here using 8 AMD opteron socket PC at home in sink city than we talk.

Impossible, your capture one used so much memory? i never use capture one before on my hackintosh, since i use canon. if your photoshop use 4Gb of ram, and let say your OSX uses 700MB, are you telling me your capture one uses more than 11 GB of ram, it is impossible.

I think you have a sickness, call RAM deficit synchrome, due to at a younger age, your computer always require more ram than you can afford.
When you grew up, RAM is cheap and thus you overload your computer with RAM, and delude yourself that your computer are using all the RAM.

I also use os x, and i say it is impossible for you to need 16MB of RAM.

16Gb isn't what I'm USING you twit. It's what I've installed.

I could probably get by with 12 Gb at the moment but not much less. Don't forget that I'll also have Firefox running all the time as well as Mac Mail, Fetch and a few others that I hardly ever quit unless it's necessary.

All image editors use up memory and the more layers and the more undo steps you configure, the more ram it hogs. A 24 megapixel image with 10 photoshop layers can easily reach 300 Mb.

I monitor my memory allocation in real time using http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/8069/memorystick and it tells me that 16 Gb is about right. There's a bit to spare but not much.

I could probably get by with 12 Gb at the moment but not much less. Don't forget that I'll also have Firefox running all the time as well as Mac Mail, Fetch and a few others that I hardly ever quit unless it's necessary.

That what i am saying all along, you are not using all your 16GB of ram, so you agree with me. So if you instead of buying overprice mac pro, but make a hackintosh like me, which uses 12GB of RAM, you have just the right amount of RAM. Hackintosh all the way, yeah.

The only thing in computer that is most reliable part.

2 parts are very reliable in Desktops - CPU & RAM, laptop CPUs are soldered on cheaper models. So that is fucked.

Motherboards are unreliable, you solder CPUs on them you write off that CPU!

Motherboards are unreliable because of high current voltage regulators which constantly runs and high temperature without own heatsink / fan. They supply very low voltage @ very high currents to CPU & RAM. 0.9 to 2.5 volts ranges. sometimes 60A max per CPU socket. These are very unreliable, one cheap MOSFET failed or one solder joint bad or one rectifier burnt, you are dead.

CPUs are lifetime warranty like RAM.

not really, my CPU always die on me.

Because i always overclock my CPU, but it always an excuse to make a new PC.

2 parts are very reliable in Desktops - CPU & RAM, laptop CPUs are soldered on cheaper models. So that is fucked.

Motherboards are unreliable, you solder CPUs on them you write off that CPU!

Motherboards are unreliable because of high current voltage regulators which constantly runs and high temperature without own heatsink / fan. They supply very low voltage @ very high currents to CPU & RAM. 0.9 to 2.5 volts ranges. sometimes 60A max per CPU socket. These are very unreliable, one cheap MOSFET failed or one solder joint bad or one rectifier burnt, you are dead.

CPUs are lifetime warranty like RAM.

No point of reuse CPU/RAM if motherboard damage. Normally when change motherboard, consumer will change CPU and RAM. Because newer CPU and bigger RAM coming to market. Unless is very new PC.
Normally will change MB, CPU and RAM as a set other can be consider worth using back.
The only thing reuse is HD because of the data inside and also Blueray drive/DVD drive. Other are not worth it.

No point of reuse CPU/RAM if motherboard damage. Normally when change motherboard, consumer will change CPU and RAM. Because newer CPU and bigger RAM coming to market. Unless is very new PC.
Normally will change MB, CPU and RAM as a set other can be consider worth using back.
The only thing reuse is HD because of the data inside and also Blueray drive/DVD drive. Other are not worth it.

Exactly! CPUs & RAM are still working when I phased them out. Very wasted.

CPU can not reuse when their Socket Type are phased out, or when you want to use a newer type of RAM, because memory controllers are integrated inside CPUs. e.g. upgrade DDR2 to DDR3, motherboard + CPU + RAM must altogether be changed. Usually this is done when just only the mother board mati!

Usually mother board mati due to the power regulator section which I mentioned. That force me to wasted many GBs of old RAM & Quad-Core CPUs which are still very strong and reliable. They are wasted when mother board's power regulator mati! & as a result the user upgraded to what is latest in the market. ;(

Overclock is murder.

Like man overworking restless, sure going to mati.

it is fine with me, i love the speed.

true it will die young, but what a thrill.

so far, i find that my overclock cpu last about 2-3 years, always the time to build a new computer.

I burn out so many CPU, i can mention. Some still have life in it yet. But force to upgrade. Like the time just before core2 was out, i was force to upgrade, to something not value for money. But lucky i still have a job, and spend money on upgrading my computer like a hobby.

My next aim is to overclock my next CPU to close to 5GHz, oh yeah .