• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Raffles Reunion - Interesting

Hi Scrooge I am surprised a old hat like you do not realize this. The PMETs in their late 50s have already retired or downgraded. Go to any progressive companies and do a count of how many of their senior managers are still working?? Except for CEOs or top tier the middle tier are already replaced by younger candidates. In fact u will find a Hugh no of oldies still working. They are in the bottom tier where these people cannot afford to retire.

Inheritance? Oi, we are the sandwich generation. Where do we get our inheritance from?

We are the very gen that supports an older gen whilst bringing up the next. Our older gen came from China and India with nothing on their backs.

Those with inheritance are connected or in the closed family.

I totally agreed. We are the tough generation which have to support our elderly parents and also our children...and even our grandchildren. Ours is the landmark historical generation!!!

Actually if they want to do survey they will find most of the local 50+local managers in semi retirement. A lot of them are replaced by younger and cheaper FTs. These managers have a hard time getting equivalent jobs to the ones they had before and most just gave up and relied on their savings or depends on their wves or grown up children for support.

quite a number of them are driving taxis and pushing the carts...or just limkopi in kopitiam....bored to death. sian lah!

Re: Raffles Institution at Bras Basah Road

yo..... RI is a secondary school lah......

Many ex-Rafflesians are probably in this forum cow-pay-cow-bu everyday though they are in the top 25%........

Some who never grow up are in EDMW pretending to be kids......

Many voted for alternative parties though they are likely to be senior civil servants by day......

:D

raffles-institution.jpg

The real RI..... others are fakes..... :D

That is old RI, the basketball court north of Beach Road, and west of Raffles Hotel.
At the corner (not in the photo) of Bras Basah Road and Beach Road is the air rifle range.
My Secondary One classroom was just north of the basketball court.

You missed the point completely by a mile.

The issue is unemployed or underemployed. Nothing to do with they achieving a high grade job. For example an RI boy who could only achieve the grade of an admin manager for a small store because of his calibre is no longer holding the post but doing something that of a clerk. A downgrade.

Hey wake up lah.

When is it that being a rafflesian or a ex one MUST BE EMPLOYED?

These ppl can enjoy a CARE FREE LIFE STYLE OF THEIR OWN CHOICE and

you jealous of it? LOL

I totally agreed. We are the tough generation which have to support our elderly parents and also our children...and even our grandchildren. Ours is the landmark historical generation!!!
You know the true situation and yet everyday you KPKB about your lau hero.
Either you are a selfless man or a totally useless man,make your pick.

You know the true situation and yet everyday you KPKB about your lau hero.
Either you are a selfless man or a totally useless man,make your pick.

Both options incorrect,

should only state one option.

A BALLESS MAN!LOL

RafflesInstitution.jpg

the infamous haunted hall which produced a few demons and ghosts
the dilapidated building which housed a few lunatic and drugs overdose
the bras basah school which produced many brilliant fools
the muddy fields that bred many rascals, thugs and arrogant screws.......wow!!!

RI boys, RI boys, give up on them

RI boys are intellectually smart but emotionally retarded

They are good administartors, professionals but cannot be businessmen - never mind, different people have different roles and ways to flourish

But when it comes to emotions, they don't know how to tell apart what is good for them and what is not

RI boys are the favourite targets of fox spirits, - good stable high income and emotionally very very easily manipulated

With an RI boy, the fox spirits can enslave him easily and make him do everything she wants

When you see an RI boy, run!

For your info, Kong Hee is a RI boy.

RafflesInstitution.jpg

the infamous haunted hall which produced a few demons and ghosts
the dilapidated building which housed a few lunatic and drugs overdose
the bras basah school which produced many brilliant fools
the muddy fields that bred many rascals, thugs and arrogant screws.......wow!!!

The only thing good about this picture is a reminder that these buildings no longer exist.

i am happy to note however that the Victorian era buildings of my old school exists, as the Singapore Art Museum. :D

rafflesion reunion is now a thing of the past
the new guys share no such strong sentiments
to each his own
the old is long gone
the new is nothing but just another song.....

The only thing good about this picture is a reminder that these buildings no longer exist.

i am happy to note however that the Victorian era buildings of my old school exists, as the Singapore Art Museum. :D

yes,many things gone ...gone ....gone....uprooted and replaced by the nameless few.....

RI boys, RI boys, give up on them

RI boys are intellectually smart but emotionally retarded

They are good administartors, professionals but cannot be businessmen - never mind, different people have different roles and ways to flourish

But when it comes to emotions, they don't know how to tell apart what is good for them and what is not

RI boys are the favourite targets of fox spirits, - good stable high income and emotionally very very easily manipulated

With an RI boy, the fox spirits can enslave him easily and make him do everything she wants

When you see an RI boy, run!

1. yo! fpg!
2. if a ri guy is willing to sacrifice himself bonking you.
3. i guess you shall stay!

1. aiyoh!
2. how come no one raise this yet leh?
3. to those affected rafflesian: what did you last voted for?

1. aiyoh!
2. how come no one raise this yet leh?
3. to those affected rafflesian: what did you last voted for?

Rafflesians mostly voted for PAP one lah ..... all tow the party line and dare not rock the boat. They are all so proud that Goh Chok Tong and LKY were alumni.

This is not ACS. This is the cohort that stepped into primary 1 when Raja and the old guards treated all Singaporeans as equals and foreigners were not given a free pass. The best in each primary school went to Raffles - true meritocracy. The guy who told me this grew up in a small room on the 2nd flr of shop house in boat quay when bumboats were tied together and facing them. He was raised by his father as his mum passed away at childbirth. He is now a millionaire and has properties in 3 continents. He had no inheritance, no network and no special favours.

A man of his background knows poverty and was dismayed by what he saw of his classmates.

I know one ex-rafflesian who is over 80s years old and still making millions, and is rich as fuck. These unemployed rafflesians should follow his example mah.

Rafflesians mostly voted for PAP one lah ..... all tow the party line and dare not rock the boat. They are all so proud that Goh Chok Tong and LKY were alumni.

True, even all white uniform also adopted by the scums

Some time back, I shared the generational cohort analysis. The P65 is a good cut off point for those whom PAP policies have failed. Extrapolating forward, this would be everyone 48 and younger. The fact that PAP opposition is strongest in the East is not a fluke but a connsequence of urban development policies of when the East part of Singapore was developed.

Met a Rafflesian who shared the outcome of his class reunion after 2 decades.

In a nutshell he was dismayed to find that a significant number were not employed or underemployed. Some masquerading as engaged in social work, charity, part time work etc. and they had more than a decade to go before the retirement age.

I wonder if the authorities are prepared to undertake research to confirm or dispel this. If they do please do not ask the discredited SPH Research Unit. They will classify failures as social entrepreneurs.

I am sure if the the elite of the country's education system are impacted, i am sure the wider community is not far behind.

Some time back, I shared the generational cohort analysis. The P65 is a good cut off point for those whom PAP policies have failed. Extrapolating forward, this would be everyone 48 and younger. The fact that PAP opposition is strongest in the East is not a fluke but a connsequence of urban development policies of when the East part of Singapore was developed.

Aurvandil, you must be mathematically and satistically correct .I like the way you make the calculations in the GAMING SECTION. I believe the P65 cut off point was derived from your own experience with those cohorts prior to
P65. Do you belong to the P65 or earlier cohort? Are you a Rafflesian yourself ?

I believe the RI Boys from the Bras Basah Road were the pioneers and the ones responsible for building this wonderful and this awesomely modern Singapore.You find them everywhere holding top posts in every field.

Those from the Grange Road were okay and those from the Bishan Camp were so so. But those Bras Basah Road rascals made the difference!