• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Question about sunglasses

I recently invested in a pair of ray ban aviator to look cool but realised a few points.

Why people have this mindset that sunglasses are more for holiday only ?
Why when I wear during daytime employer say I'm in holiday mood ? Cb can't I look cool ?
I also seldom see sinkie wearing sunglasses. Only see more in beach, which means they all think same same it is for holiday. Only the old folks wear sunglass everywhere they go. What logic is that :cool::*:

I wear my sunglasses whenever it's sunny.

It helps prevent premature cataracts.

Why put on the sunglasses during the day to look cool?......put them on at night ........ walk into some restaurant then you will have the Hollywood look. Remember to walk slowly for maximum impact.

I recently invested in a pair of ray ban aviator to look cool but realised a few points.

Why when I wear during daytime employer say I'm in holiday mood ? Cb can't I look cool ?
I also seldom see sinkie wearing sunglasses. Only see more in beach, which means they all think same same it is for holiday. Only the old folks wear sunglass everywhere they go. What logic is that :cool::*:

Sg is so sunny you should wear shades everywhere we go.
Invest in a good pair else you'll do more harm than good to your eyes.

I wear my sunglasses whenever it's sunny.

It helps prevent premature cataracts.

Yup . It also helps to prevent eye diseases and cancer. Also when viewing pc monitors it is soothing to the eyes. On top of looking cool it has many advantages. Simply cannot accept sinkie boss mindset.

I think Pasar malam 2 dollar sun glasses suit you the best

R
Sg is so sunny you should wear shades everywhere we go.
Invest in a good pair else you'll do more harm than good to your eyes.

Yes. Wearing a fake is worse than not wearing any
As our pupils will auto prevent harmful rays when not block by anything. Wear those fake uv400 will allow the pupil to invite the harmful ray.

If you live in countries like OZ, US and enjoy the outdoors, sunglasses are pretty much the norm. Much of Singapore is shielded by tall buildings and much of our activities are either indoors and under overcast conditions. Women wear it as a fashion accessory and statement. Men on the hand look out of place except in certain circumstances - read there is direct sunlight and not when the weather is hot.

I remember wearing sunglasses was a fad in the 80s even cabinet ministers donned them when doing walkabout. Not anymore.

But then again you will come across an Ah Beng or a Mat with a winter jacket and hood from time to time.

Do not underestimate certain pasar malam $2 sunglass. Some comes with real uv protection. It is very low cost to include uv protection. Lookout for uv tag.
The huge price difference with a branded sunglass and cheap type lies mostly with the lens quality .anti scratch etc

Where you bought your sun shades from?

I bought my Ray-Ban Aviator series in TOP GUN Academy in San Diego, USA. Those exact same model Top Guns pilots are wearing.

That was some 20+ years liow. Freaking heavy stuff, with gold rims.

Now I only wear Okley series while lazing on my sun deck.

Must follow up-to-date fashion to be seen as cool, bro. Ray-Ban is passé now and not many want to be seen wearing it.

I bought my Ray-Ban Aviator series in TOP GUN Academy in San Diego, USA. Those exact same model Top Guns pilots are wearing.

Must follow up-to-date fashion to be seen as cool, bro. Ray-Ban is passé now and not many want to be seen wearing it.

I bought it from hdb spec shop selling $200 after discount. Dare not buy online for branded goods.

I think it depend on our face shape lor. Aviator suit my face. Nowadays more hip are the oversize frame but look stupid on me :rolleyes:

If the local youngsters can wear glasses without the "glass" (lens) in order to look chic or educated, I don't see why you can't sunglasses without the sun to look cool.

If Mark Lee can wear glasses to mask his bo tak chek, surely you can wear sunglasses to look young.

Just do it !

If the local youngsters can wear glasses without the "glass" (lens) in order to look chic or educated, I don't see why you can't sunglasses without the sun to look cool.

If Mark Lee can wear glasses to mask his bo tak chek, surely you can wear sunglasses to look young.

Just do it !

Yes some people look better with shades. Those with unattractive single lid slit eyes type better wear their shades 24/7

Dey I already bought aviator la. 1 can wear inside and outside office ma.

Get those with night driving lens. Protect your eyes from car headlights and safety too. Now cars got led lights and many morons drive with high beams. Night time also must protect eyes

Cock la you. No Ray bans.
You kens conned by the movie and tom cruise.
Top Gun would only have stocked standard issue USAF aviators la.
The few brands ....being the armed forces contracted suppliers would be brands like American Optical, Randolph Engineering and B&L....the ex parent of ray ban before they sold off the company to some fashion house.

Cock la you. No Ray bans.
You kens conned by the movie and tom cruise.
Top Gun would only have stocked standard issue USAF aviators la.
The few brands ....being the armed forces contracted suppliers would be brands like American Optical, Randolph Engineering and B&L....the ex parent of ray ban before they sold off the company to some fashion house.

Yalor. Last time no internet to search for info while working. Didn't know mah. Bought from Top Gun In their warehouse island in San Diego.

But now with internet, quite bright so bought Okley Sport le. Can wear day or night or just put on top of head or back of neck while driving topless convertibles in CBD let the OLs go gaga.

Now back to no internet in government service so cannot check latest fashion, surely Ray bans back in fashion, I suppose?

I've stopped buying sunglasses ever since the sale of Transition lenses or Photochromic lenses. It's very convenient for me, no need to carry sunglasses anymore as my specs lenses can turn dark like a sunglass in sunny days.

A good pair of sunglasses not only reduce glare and UV, its polarizing properties improve eye comfort and visual clarity.

Note: many sunglasses are non-polarized