Quality Of Life.....your take

Sorry need to start another thread.

it seems everyone got different views when it comes to acceptable expenditure in sinkieland.

i might have came across as saying money and nothing else improve the quality of life.......

ok so lets try another route.....

What is your take on the acceptable quality of life for you and your family.

Everyone knows we are not at the swiss standard yet, but where are we at and what you aspire it to be.

Is it like $800 mat's 2 roomer existence or a PS's french cuisine training?

Just for a single person living alone:

Pay rent/mortgage = S$1,000+/- p.m.

Pay PUB = S$100+/- (if got aircon S$200+/-) p.m.

Buy car = S$100,000+/- lump sum or S$1,000 p.m.

Road tax & insurance = S$2,000+/- p.a.

Parking, Petrol & ERP = S$50+/- p.d.

Don't buy car also can, EZlink card = S$100+/- p.m.

Take taxi also can, budget = S$1,000+/- p.m.

That's not including eating, drinking, smoking, phone and internet yet!

Pay rent per hdb aircon room = S$600p.m. max (Can lower by half if you share room with someone)

Pay PUB = S$0 included in rent

Don't buy car, take taxi, bus or mrt. EZlink card can liao= S$100+/- p.m.

Food = very flexible but preferbly mixture of eat out and eat in = $500 unless you have a habit of having Starbuck Coffee daily.

Smoking/Drinking = best to kick to habit.

Phone and internet = $100 should be enough unless you chitchat on the phone often.

Pay rent per hdb aircon room = S$600p.m. max (Can lower by half if you share room with someone)

Pay PUB = S$0 included in rent

Don't buy car, take taxi, bus or mrt. EZlink card can liao= S$100+/- p.m.

Food = very flexible but preferbly mixture of eat out and eat in = $500 unless you have a habit of having Starbuck Coffee daily.

Smoking/Drinking = best to kick to habit.

Phone and internet = $100 should be enough unless you chitchat on the phone often.

Are you married? If not, will you marry me? We can share the costs and chores. :D

$1000 as mentioned by Ram already got problem getting a masterbed room. A ROOM.
Now still got to share.....
You see the problem with this already?
Why must sinkies be staying in rented rooms? Dont they deserve better?
I understand if you talking about undeegrads staying in dorms.....back then there was a promise/hope of a better future.......the dorm room was only temprorary at best.....

It depends on how many people the guy has in his 2 roomer.
If it's himself in a 2 roomer, that's probably ok.
Unfortunately, the reality is usually 5 or 6.

As for french cuisine training, he can even go for Icelandic cusine and that would be fine.
It's even fine that he's a PS.
Unfortunately, he chose to trumpet it in the local press, where people who are struggling to survive, can read it.
This type of lifestyle is not for me, even if I had the dough.

And note that I'm still not coming up with any figures. ;)

wat u mean by quality of life? ...

do you get to do what you like, spend quality time with your family or do you slog so hard 12 hrs a day squeezing into MRT rushing here and there, 15 mins for lunch......go home to sleep wake up again tomorrow.

rich poor gap in sinkieland is even wider than hong kong where many sleep under bridges.....

does tells you something......

It depends on how many people the guy has in his 2 roomer.
If it's himself in a 2 roomer, that's probably ok.
Unfortunately, the reality is usually 5 or 6.

As for french cuisine training, he can even go for Icelandic cusine and that would be fine.
It's even fine that he's a PS.
Unfortunately, he chose to trumpet it in the local press, where people who are struggling to survive, can read it.
This type of lifestyle is not for me, even if I had the dough.

And note that I'm still not coming up with any figures. ;)

Sorry need to start another thread.

it seems everyone got different views when it comes to acceptable expenditure in sinkieland.

i might have came across as saying money and nothing else improve the quality of life.......

ok so lets try another route.....

Everyone knows we are not at the swiss standard yet, but where are we at and what you aspire it to be.

NW, this is my frank opinion (from an retiree or semi-retiree)
Quality of life regardless of single or married or divorced means:

1. Not having to worry about month end rental/mortgage, credit card, electricity, car and all non-ending list of other payments.
2. Enough money and time to indulge in your favorite hobbies, be it healthy/unhealthy or expensive/cheap ones.
3. And most important, a healthy mind where you know you are not robbed everyday by the garberment.

Never describe about the monetary value because think it's meaningless or numb to many.

rich poor gap in sinkieland is even wider than hong kong where many sleep under bridges.....

does tells you something......

The wealth gap should only be justified by one factor - value creation.
Not only in terms of innovative products, but also innovative services and good ideas that benefit many.
Unfortunately, what we have in singkieland is a whole bunch of bureaucrats, and even corporate people and so called businessmen, who are
basically stating and doing the obvious and tapping on resources already there.
What's worse is that they even bring in plenty of low level foreigners, so that there will be more of those at the other end.
Perhaps so it won't be so obvious that they have become the undeserving rich.
Just look and listen to what some of our multi millionaires say and do.
Pathetic. I reckon that we could form a cabinet from SBF forummers, and they couldn't do any worse than the incumbents.

$1000 as mentioned by Ram already got problem getting a masterbed room. A ROOM.
Now still got to share.....
You see the problem with this already?
Why must sinkies be staying in rented rooms? Dont they deserve better?
I understand if you talking about undeegrads staying in dorms.....back then there was a promise/hope of a better future.......the dorm room was only temprorary at best.....

Don't be mistaken. $1000 can get a master bedroom in a condo liao lah. With PUB bills included also.

If want to live better, live with parents lor. Only give allowance nia. Food and laundry included too. Save up all the money to get your own flat. :D

Don't be mistaken. $1000 can get a master bedroom in a condo liao lah. With PUB bills included also.

If want to live better, live with parents lor. Only give allowance nia. Food and laundry included too. Save up all the money to get your own flat. :D
bro market rate....master bed room is not possible.
I am renting out the master bedroom in my old condo in Loyang for $1800 per month excluding PUB.
My common rooms go for $900-$1100.
I have rented master bedrooms in crumbling golden mile complex for $1200-$1500 for thai girls.

I'm happy in my rented room in Toa Payoh.

I am renting out the master bedroom in my old condo in Loyang for $1800 per month excluding PUB.
I have rented master bedrooms in crumbling golden mile complex for $1200-$1500 for thai girls.

Hello, she is a chio milf lah, why call her brother. Shes very active in JB folder. Later the brothers there come whack you :D

OK, final one. Quality of Life means you can sleep anytime you like. :)

Wow! Didn't realise the rate spiked so fast. Must up my tenent's rent liao! Akan datang! ;)

acceptable quality of life for me and me family...

1. good work life balance, for me believe in earning my keeps
2. quality and quantity of family time
3. sufficient food on the table at meal time
4. a little indulgence once in a month

if me had a breakdown of my monthly expenses, it'd look something like this:

if income (gross income) = 100%
then
CPF ~ 20%
income tax (personal, after tax relief) ~ 2%
for parents (personal) ~ 10%
food (personal, at work) ~ 5%
transport (personal) ~ 5%
HP/net bills (personal) ~ 2%
donations (personal)~ 2%
savings (personal) / lottery ~ 9% :D:D:D more strikes means more personal savings lah!
common account with wife ~ 45%

of the 45% that goes into the common account, me wife contributes the same amount.
bulk of the amount goes to groceries and food, ang baos (for relatives during their birthdays / weddings / baby showers), housing repayment, utilities
we always have a decent buffer in the common account, i.e. either one can go on "no pay leave" for at least 6 months.

:o:o:o