• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Qing Ming Jie

saratogas

Have you guys paid your respect to your dead loved ones?

Qing Ming is a time to remember the dead and the dearly departed. More importantly, it is a time to honour and to pay respect to one's deceased ancestors and family members. Because it reinforces the ethic of filial piety.

Literally meaning "clear" (Qing) and "bright" (Ming), this Chinese festival falls in early spring, on the 106th day after the winter solstice. It is a "spring" festival, and it is an occasion for the whole family to leave the home and to sweep the graves of their forebears. Chinese being practical people, this sweeping of the graves is given an extended period, that is 10 days before and 10 days after Qing Ming day. Among some dialect groups a whole month is allocated.

remember the dead one is indeed important. but the alive one is lagi important. bros & sis, quicky meet up ur old age parents for breakfast, tea, eat with them their favourate food etc. time is limit! quick quick. when they gone, too late liao. or maybe we gone first, who know.here come the rap;树欲止而风不静,子欲养而亲不在。。。。

and for those christian who place god above their parents, i got TWO words and ONE picture for you;;;; FUCK YOU and :oIo:

The hokkiens are the best. Always see lorry loads of hokkien families going to their ancestral tombs in the morning.

As Sinkies get more educated, they think they are wiser with many Certificates, they tend to analyse things too much. Many think that Qing Ming - paying respect to the dead loved ones are superstitious and backward. Many Chinese sinkies are losing their roots.

Stupid people can't tell the diff between paying respect to ancestors and praying to gods.

The hokkiens are the best. Always see lorry loads of hokkien families going to their ancestral tombs in the morning.

Bro, hokkiens are the best, no dispute here. But we teochews also not bad la. Last weekend my family n relatives all went to pray respect to my grandparents. Althought we didnt go in lorry loads, we went in cars n vans. on a rough count, total we got 20 heads. No bad la hor? :p

A question now... I have a elder bro whom pass away for abt 30 years liao. Every year, we stil go area D (LCK) to pray respect to him. He died as a child due to an illness. Any of you thinks he has re-born? Do we still need to go pray respect to him? Any serious reply would be appreciate. Thanks!
!&!!

and for those christian who place god above their parents, i got TWO words and ONE picture for you;;;; FUCK YOU and :oIo:

speaking of this, i have a chinese cousin (my mum side is chinese ok) who is born a buddist. when he grew up, he converted to xtian (belongs to shitty harvest).

1 day my maternal grandma passed away. during the wake, this cousin refused to offer joss sticks or burn incensed paper for our grandma. bear in mind my grandma got about 20 grandchildren. out of 20, this cousin is the one she dotes most.

at that moment, i think my grandma is crying blood inside her coffin.

xtian:oIo::oIo: fuck you too!

Bro, hokkiens are the best, no dispute here. But we teochews also not bad la. Last weekend my family n relatives all went to pray respect to my grandparents. Althought we didnt go in lorry loads, we went in cars n vans. on a rough count, total we got 20 heads. No bad la hor? :p
not bad. for my case its only the men in the clan who will go. women prepare the offering and breakfast.

A question now... I have a elder bro whom pass away for abt 30 years liao. Every year, we stil go area D (LCK) to pray respect to him. He died as a child due to an illness. Any of you thinks he has re-born? Do we still need to go pray respect to him? Any serious reply would be appreciate. Thanks! !&!!

i am not a taoist or buddhist but heres my view. Don't care if he is reincarnated or not. if he was part of your family, show respect and remembrance once a year.
Paying respect during qing ming is not only for the deceased, but also an example to the living. Explain to your children about qing ming so they understand it is a form of filial piety.

清明时节雨纷纷,
路上行人欲断魂。
借问酒家何处有?
牧童遥指杏花村

speaking of this, i have a chinese cousin (my mum side is chinese ok) who is born a buddist. when he grew up, he converted to xtian (belongs to shitty harvest).

1 day my maternal grandma passed away. during the wake, this cousin refused to offer joss sticks or burn incensed paper for our grandma. bear in mind my grandma got about 20 grandchildren. out of 20, this cousin is the one she dotes most.

at that moment, i think my grandma is crying blood inside her coffin.

Some xtians are being taught the wrong way. They have no respect from where they are from. It maybe a "paganistic" ritual, but it hurts the feelings of the people around them. They become "unreasonable" because thats what they are told to believe.

i am not a taoist or buddhist but heres my view. Don't care if he is reincarnated or not. if he was part of your family, show respect and remembrance once a year.
Paying respect during qing ming is not only for the deceased, but also an example to the living. Explain to your children about qing ming so they understand it is a form of filial piety.

Bro, thanks for your reply. Yes, its important to show respect and rememberance at least once a year. As you mention too, an example for the future generation. Recently i pick up a bookmark, it has these 6 words on it... Good person, Good deeds & Filial Piety. And i intend to carry them for the rest of my life. :)
!&!!

remember the dead one is indeed important. but the alive one is lagi important. bros & sis, quicky meet up ur old age parents for breakfast, tea, eat with them their favourate food etc. time is limit! quick quick. when they gone, too late liao. or maybe we gone first, who know.here come the rap;树欲止而风不静,子欲养而亲不在。。。。

bros... may i offer a thought ???

its more like those who place money $$$ above their parents ...

How about those die about 100 years ago? Sure theirs son of grandson also pass away.
Normally we only pray for family member up to grandfather/mother that 3 generation. More than that really pity those ghost.

Remember what our forefathers toiled, bled and died for! And what have becum of Sporns - slaves of 1 TRAITOR Familee + dirt class citizens in their own cuntry! What should be your vow now?

How about those die about 100 years ago? Sure theirs son of grandson also pass away.
Normally we only pray for family member up to grandfather/mother that 3 generation. More than that really pity those ghost.

Hmmm, i wouldn't use the word " ghost " ...

just checked google/yahoo search ... no one has died

and came back to the world to tell us about the afterlife ....

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Stupid people can't tell the diff between paying respect to ancestors and praying to gods.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Qing Ming as recorded past was a simple matter .

Exodus 20:12

New International Version (©1984)

"Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.

New Living Translation (©2007)

"Honor your father and mother. Then you will live a long, full life in the land the LORD your God is giving you

Deuteronomy 5:16
'Honor your father and your mother, as the LORD your God has commanded you, that your days may be prolonged and that it may go well with you on the land which the LORD your God gives you.

Ephesians 6:2

HONOR YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER (which is the first commandment with a promise), (NASB ©1995)

清明时节雨纷纷,
路上行人欲断魂。
借问酒家何处有?
牧童遥指杏花村

Good one. You beat me to that.

Some xtians are being taught the wrong way. They have no respect from where they are from. It maybe a "paganistic" ritual, but it hurts the feelings of the people around them. They become "unreasonable" because thats what they are told to believe.

Christians do respect parents and elders, including and especially those passed on. However, respect, membrance, thankfulness are not the same as worship. So many Christian cemetries in Europe and the Americas, so many Christian descendants visiting regularly too, without any need of a Qing Ming festival. What's believed and practiced differently shouldn't be described as unreasonable. Told to believe? You think Christian converts are robots? If so, so are all believers in all other religions, they're also told to believe, aren't they? Christians can also counter accuse that Buddhists and Taoists believe what they're told to believe, can't they?

i hate to see people uses meat as offering to their ancestor. That is killing and you offer killing to your ancestor. that is very sinful.

Mate, notice I use "some" and in double quotes for some of the words. I'm not implying all and I'm well aware of the fallacy of other religion. The point I want to make about the original case, about not using joss sticks and such is the hurt that some people may have cause in the blind believe that they should stick/adhere to their religion closely.

Good one. You beat me to that.

Christians do respect parents and elders, including and especially those passed on. However, respect, membrance, thankfulness are not the same as worship. So many Christian cemetries in Europe and the Americas, so many Christian descendants visiting regularly too, without any need of a Qing Ming festival. What's believed and practiced differently shouldn't be described as unreasonable. Told to believe? You think Christian converts are robots? If so, so are all believers in all other religions, they're also told to believe, aren't they? Christians can also counter accuse that Buddhists and Taoists believe what they're told to believe, can't they?

i hate to see people uses meat as offering to their ancestor. That is killing and you offer killing to your ancestor. that is very sinful.

Chinese traditional religion was actually generic worship of heaven and earth and ancestral worship. 天地人。There was a belief common to Christianity too, that's the soul is individual and lasts forever even after death. That's why for richer families or townships in ancient China, there were ancestral temples with tablets of each and every ancestor of the clan passed on. Also common with Christianity is the belief than man is lord of all between heaven and earth. Animals and vegetation and minerals are meant to be used and eaten by men. 人为万物之灵。

Then came Buddhism that introduced to Chinese the Hindu concept of perpetual cycle of rebirth. It actually contradicted ancient Chinese belief headon. But somehow, it became appealing and was accepted.

To put it bluntly, the Hindu concept of rebirth was used by ruling elites to enforce the caste system and enslave the lower castes, trapping them into believing that following orders and accepting their fates in submission was the only way to accumulate good karma for a better rebirth next life.

Buddha, as a prince himself, gave up everything and preached against the Hindu caste system, but retained the rebirth doctrine in a modified way. Instead of Hindu rebirth in caste status and material sense, Buddha preached rebirth in a spiritual sense, towards attainment of nibbana (Pali) or nirvana (Sanskrit) whereby the rebirth cycle ends.