• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PUB CEO: We Were Caught Off Guard In Orchard Rd Flood

SNAblog

Seems like it has been a perennial problem for our government to be caught off guard time and again despite having the highest paid civil servants in the world. The latest is PUB CEO Khoo Teng Chye admitting that his agency was caught off guard in Orchard Rd flood. So $2 billion investment to upgrade our drainage infrastructure had literally gone down the drain becos our civil servants have slacken on their job. With guaranteed bonuses year after year, the fat cats in the civil servants are getting more and more complacent, and are only interested in serving their political masters' agenda. So now after excuses are given, will any head rolls? Knowing the present government, I doubt so. :mad:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1064146/1/.html

PUB chief executive says water agency caught off guard in Orchard Rd flood
By Claire Huang | Posted: 18 June 2010 1747 hrs

SINGAPORE : The Chief Executive of Singapore's national water agency, PUB, has acknowledged that his agency was caught off guard by the Orchard Road flood on Wednesday.

Khoo Teng Chye told a media conference on Friday that PUB takes a "serious view" of the incident.

During the downpour on June 16, one of the hotspots PUB was monitoring closely was the Bukit Timah area, which experienced massive flooding in November last year.

But PUB did not realise there were problems at Stamford Canal.

A culvert that was heavily blocked by debris then triggered the flooding of Orchard Road.

It has now declared the area a new flood hotspot.

PUB said it takes a serious view of the floods, especially in the Orchard Road area.

"The impact on people, businesses and traffic is something that we view as not acceptable. We've done our initial investigations; it was due to a combination of very unusually intense double-peaked rainstorms that were aggravated by the flow of debris that partially obstructed the culvert," said Khoo.

Asked if a lack of maintenance could have contributed to the clogged drains, Khoo believes there was a combination of factors.

"Even if we have very well-maintained drains... given the amount of rain that fell on that day - as I said, it's 60 Olympic-sized pools - I think it would have washed down into the culverts huge amounts of debris," said Khoo.

PUB said over the last 30 years, it has invested S$2 billion to upgrade Singapore's drainage infrastructure. This has helped to reduce the country's flood-prone areas from 3,200 hectares to some 66 hectares currently.

It added that it will invest S$150 million each year for the next five years on upgrading works.

Khoo said: "On the maintenance front, we've doubled our expenditure in the last three years to S$23 million a year. We put our contractors on a performance-based system. We extended their contract from three years to five years, encouraging them to invest in new technology.

"In fact, everyday, we have about 400 staff from the contractors and from PUB making sure that all our drains are well-maintained."

PUB said it will continue to investigate and improve the current system to prevent similar flooding. And it's doing its best to review what had happened.

wahlaneh...
when we see other countries flooding eg china, taiwan, philippines, etc... we laugh at them now our turn flooding the whole world is laughing liao lor.

The escape of Mas Selamat has set a precedent.

Now every CEO can be caught off guard and know well that they don't have to resign to take responsibility.

Repeated floods at Thomson, Bukit Timah and now Orchard obviously point to something more systemic rather than an isolated occurrence.

We need an open inquiry into this FAILED stat board to get to the root of the problem!

Mas selamat escape: "singaporeans are complacent"

Bukit timah flood: "freak event"

Smrt security breach: "private enterprises must take responsibilty"

Orchard road sinking: "caught off guard"

Nah beh CB. everything also not their fault. get paid so much for fuck!?

MIWs are always "On Guard" against opposition only.
Who cares about LongKang.

When it's just a "local issue" nobody needs take responsibility.
But when it becomes international news, perhaps someone will.

BP CEO: "Mr President, we were caught off guard at Gulf of Mexico......."

Obama: "Off guard kee lan! O$P$ ! Pay up and close shop!

When it's just a "local issue" nobody needs take responsibility.
But when it becomes international news, perhaps someone will.
ya, man! ...

wen iz ... world-crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1 ...

cum all out 2 craim credit ... :o

Rogue,

How can you miss out my favorite MBT who is also CAUGHT OFF GUARD by the surging HDB prices?

We are paying millions for ministers and civil servants to be CAUGHT OFF GUARD!

Goh Meng Seng

Mas selamat escape: "singaporeans are complacent"

Bukit timah flood: "freak event"

Smrt security breach: "private enterprises must take responsibilty"

Orchard road sinking: "caught off guard"

Nah beh CB. everything also not their fault. get paid so much for fuck!?

Orchard road flood, PUB got caught off guard.
GIC losses, Old Goat caught off guard.
Temasek losses, Ho Jinx caught off guard.
Mass Selamat escapes, Wong Cunt Stink caught off guard.
MRT trains vandalised, again caught off guard.
High demand for HDB flats, Mah The Fucker caught off guard.
etc.

Why don't PAP rename themselves the "Caught of Guard" Party. COG party.

They are all world class MENTAL MASTERBATERS.

blowjob-oral-0302-anime.gif
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

They need to do guard duty.
And please don't go off during the duty, even if you not happy.

Rogue,

How can you miss out my favorite MBT who is also CAUGHT OFF GUARD by the surging HDB prices?

We are paying millions for ministers and civil servants to be CAUGHT OFF GUARD!

Goh Meng Seng

aaahh that one! i knew i had missed something.

Seems to be the in thing to be caught off guard now..

And these OVERPAID + CHOR BOH LAN Minitoots and Civil Serpents did not even have the least bit of decency to apologize, much less offer to compensate the victims' losses for their GROSS NEGLIGENCE + APPALLING LAZINESS. Instead they tried to defend themselves by telling you proudly how many BILLIONS they've wasted!

teo HP : be thankful. your HDB flat is not blooded... all this is due to good work by PUB and MOE

"Even if we have very well-maintained drains... given the amount of rain that fell on that day - as I said, it's 60 Olympic-sized pools - I think it would have washed down into the culverts huge amounts of debris," said Khoo.

This is the same SERPENT that claimed that the longkangs are big enough to handle any runoff the other day and adding a disclaimer today. Come on, didn't they include the debris that would be in the runoff when they did their design? In fact, by flip flopping, one can see how out of touch with the situation these CIVIL SERPENTS are. In short, they have been SLEEPING. They don't even know what's going on! And absolutely showing 0 remorse. Just like Ho Jinx having 'NO REGRET' losing hundreds of billions in 8 months!