• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PSLE bar has been raised too high

all sinkie kids have a deprived childhood. if Adam and Ben play marbles, it is straightforward. the winner takes it all. why make it so complicated?

1. bro, sheepish kids are just textbook element!
2. erh! kosong streetsmart hoh!.
3. that is why kpkb when face with some crisis or dent in its path.
4. some may even end up dead!
5. kosong hardship & reality.

i used 'bar' method too when i was in NS.....sin po po bar in tg katong......washington bar in thecentral area and a few others.

After got hitched then kena ''barred '' from bar method. :o

1. wow! bro.
2. the infamous sin po po bar thing in katong!
3. hahaha!

1. bro, don't need to.
2. just get out of sheepishland and go elsewhere mah!
3. for me, i do it down under or england.
4. oops! hong kong is equally bad too.

I took my PSLE in 1978 so not so bad lah.

Catch no balls! I never once passed my Maths since Pri 4.

Yup, I got the same answer as ChewCheng but had to use the "bar/model" method

Maths_zpsc72e3f89.jpg
They are so proud of this silly bar/model method. It is an explanation tool - not a mathematical tool for solving. It has caused countless poor kids to hate math.

Try this one Pri 4 first. Hope I remember the question correctly, struggled with it last night:

Adam had 421 marbles and Ben had 199 marbles. After giving away the same number of marbles, Adam had 3 times as many marbles as Ben. How many marbles did they give away each.

I don't know the "official" method but I'll have a go anyway :D

(3x + y) - (x + y) = 421 - 199
2x = 222
x = 111
4x = 444
4x + 2y = 421 + 199
444 + 2y = 620
2y = 620 - 444
y = 176/2
y = 88

1. bro, sheepish kids are just textbook element!
2. erh! kosong streetsmart hoh!.
3. that is why kpkb when face with some crisis or dent in its path.
4. some may even end up dead!
5. kosong hardship & reality.

Exactly. That is what i am about to say. So much for sinkie education.

well solved and someone rewarded you with a couple of points :)

could be BosSam altho i doubt it .....rewards slip through his fingers like glue :rolleyes:

I don't know the "official" method but I'll have a go anyway :D

(3x + y) - (x + y) = 421 - 199
2x = 222
x = 111
4x = 444
4x + 2y = 421 + 199
444 + 2y = 620
2y = 620 - 444
y = 176/2
y = 88

your tunneled, encapsulated and fragmentation-unfriendly payload is 9 bytes larger than your mtu. :p
ESND, not only you are a math wiz but also kena intoxicated by your exuberance of verbosity. Yours truly gave up with abacus;)

I think the answer is 88.

=======================================

421+199 = 620

Since after giving, Adam has 3x more than Ben meaning there are 4 portions, plus 2 sets of equal amount they took out. Meaning it can be divided equally to 2 portion and 1 set (each).

620/2 = 310 (2 portion and 1 set)

However, Ben has only 199 (1 portion and 1 set).

310 = 2 portion and 1 set
199 = 1 portion and 1 set

therefore 1 portion is 111.

199 - 111 = 88 which is the 1 set that was given out.

I think the answer is also 88.. Lee Hsien Loong was a mathematics genius.. Bro are you Lee Hsien Loong comin to this Forum in disguise..??? :D :p :D

lets all get intoxicated the next time round. Make AK drive

ESND, not only you are a math wiz but also kena intoxicated by your exuberance of verbosity. Yours truly gave up with abacus;)

They are so proud of this silly bar/model method. It is an explanation tool - not a mathematical tool for solving. It has caused countless poor kids to hate math.

absolutely agree with you. I will always stare at the question for 15 mintues, shout "this is not maths!!!" and then another 30 minutes to figure out how to explain to my kids....many times no answer

One does not need to know the answer in one step, just knowing what to do the next step is good enough. In this case, the first step is to let the number of marbles given away to be X. and then take it step by step from there.

Anyways, the math standard in Sg (and most Asian schools) is high, but what good is the kid if he is unable to roll a decent joint, especially by the time he's a young adult?

I'm of the belief that the advent of Google search has diminished the value of rote learning substantially. Why should an employer shell out big money to employ expensive human wikipedias if he could get cheap unskilled workers and equip them with working manuals and computers? How much skill does it take to memorise and regurgitate? :rolleyes:

[video=youtube;iG9CE55wbtY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iG9CE55wbtY[/video]

imo and in code speak, hawker's equation (without the typo) is the most elegant.

congrats hawker!

At this rate, in 10 years time, they expect kindie kids to do algebra then. In another 30 years, newborn should be able to start reciting shakesphere or something. When will it "end" !?

He key in wrong is 421 not 412

This question I study in Sec 1 or 2 at my time. Now advance 2~3 year.