• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Proof That Welfare For Poor Lazy People Breeds Crutch Mentality

clinton666

Why should these poor lazy people work when they get free money for food, cigarettes, new clothers. They would rather stay at home and literally have a fucking good time. Sex, sex and more good sex. Why bother to get off the bed and work.

They have a highly developed crutch mentality. Who wants to pay for these goons, hands up.

They're offered money, jobs and food, so why are some desperate families still picky?
By Genevieve Jiang

December 09, 2008

NO MONEY: Madam Juliana Saib and her husband, who have moved 12 times in two years, are now jobless. --TNP PICTURE: KELVIN CHNG

THEY get financial help, food rations, and even temporary shelter from community help groups.Social workers help them look for jobs, and help them with subsidised childcare and school fees, so they can work while their children remain in school.

But it can be an uphill task for community workers to get families like Madam Juliana Saib's back on their feet.

Said Mr Ravi Philemon, manager of the New Hope Shelter for Displaced Families: 'Sometimes, we help these families look for work but they refuse to take on the jobs. They are picky.

'They come up with excuses like the workplace is too far, or that the work is not suitable for them. But when you're down and out, with young kids to feed, surely any job that comes your way is a bonus.'

Are our social safety nets getting too comfortable for some, such that they breed reliance and complacency?

Should we be channelling our resources to those who can get themselves out of the poverty cycle, those who want to be helped?

With rising living costs and property prices, the number of nomadic families is on the rise, The Straits Times reported in June this year.

Each of the nine family service centres interviewed said it sees between 10 and 30 such cases each year.

Families end up at void decks, beaches and parks - sometimes for years - as a result of bad decisions and poor planning.

They over-extend themselves financially by buying a bigger flat than they can afford, resulting in banks seizing their flats over unpaid mortgage payments.

So they end up on the streets until they are allotted rental flats from the HDB or till they can afford to rent or buy a unit in the open market.

Friends and family may help, but it's often not easy for so many people under the same roof to get along.

An FSC social worker, who declined to be named, said: 'Community resources are limited, and they need to be used wisely. If families don't want to help themselves, there is little we can do.'

Said Mr Ravi: 'Some say they have no money for food but they spend on cigarettes.'

With a recession on, the situation may only get worse.

Certainly, if attitudes don't change, things are not likely to improve. After all, the community can only help those who help themselves.

Tomorrow, we meet a family who lost their youngest son because they were deep in marital problems. They did not work for more than a year after his death.

clinton666

Why should they bother to work. Let those educated, hardworking rich folks work and they will just leech from them. Life is so wonderful.

Said An-nafy: 'Life hasn't been so bad. It's not like we've had no food to eat, or no new clothes to wear.

'I don't feel there's been much change to my lifestyle at all.'

Family with 8 kids moved 12 times in 2 years, even staying at beaches and parks
HOPELESS?
Broke parents won't find jobs, spending welfare money on cigarettes
They're penniless but won't work, living on any help they can get. We start the first of a four-part series on troubled families
By Genevieve Jiang

December 09, 2008

WE MUST BE TOGETHER: Madam Juliana Saib (squatting with baby), her husband Mohamad Hider Abdul Kabis, 33 (second from right, standing), and their eight children have been moving from place to place for the past two years.

FOR the past two years, they have been living like nomads - in Singapore.

The family of 10 has lived with friends, relatives, in parks and on beaches. They wash in public toilets and live off charity.

They ended up in a shelter for homeless families in June this year. But barely three months later, they were back on the streets after breaking the shelter's rules.

Madam Juliana Saib, 32, her husband, Mr Mohamad Hider Abdul Kabis, 33, and their eight children aged between 16 and 1, live their lives one day at a time.

When they outlast their welcome, the hunt for their next place to stay begins yet again.

Said Madam Juliana: 'It's not been easy moving from place to place, but so long as the family is together, we'll survive.'

The couple have five sons, aged 16, 15, 12, 11, and 3, and three daughters, aged 9, 6 and 1.

Why have so many children when they have no home? Madam Juliana said it was 'God's will' and the children were 'a joy'.

She was so adamant that the family stay together that she rejected an offer earlier this year to house the children and her at a shelter, without her husband.

--TNP PICTURES: KELVIN CHNG

The couple also rejected several jobs recommended by social workers from various agencies, ranging from cleaning to delivery, citing reasons such as 'workplace too far', 'not suitable' or 'not convenient', said MrRavi Philemon, manager of the New Hope Shelter for Displaced Families.

The family's problems started when they decided to upgrade from a three-room flat in Bedok to a four-room flat in Serangoon in late 2005.

Mr Mohamad Hider was then taking home $1,600 as a warehouse assistant. When they bought their new flat in early 2006, they took a $32,000 bank loan.

Around the same time, Mr Mohamad Hider quit his job as he wasn't happy at his workplace.

He soon found another job, as a delivery man, but that brought in only half his previous salary - about $800 a month. Madam Juliana was not working then.

By August 2006, the couple found they could no longer pay their loan instalments.

They went to their Member of Parliament for help to get them another bank loan to downgrade to a three-room flat, but were advised not to do so.

Instead, they were asked to consider renting a flat or living with relatives until their income improved.

Their flat was repossessed by HDB, and they were then put on a waiting list for a rental flat.

The family moved in with Mr Mohamad Hider's 42-year-old brother at his three-room flat in Khatib.

Madam Juliana was then seven months pregnant with their eighth child, and that was where she recovered after giving birth in January last year, and where the family stayed until June. But staying under the same roof soon resulted in misunderstandings and arguments, which forced them to move.

It marked the start of the family's nomadic lifestyle. (See time chart on page 8.)

Mr Mohamad Hider had quit his delivery job in the middle of last year to 'help take care of the children'.

But in July, he started working as a cleaner, earning $700 a month.

Madam Juliana had, since Febuary last year, been working part-time as a cashier, earning about $850 a month.

In October, the family moved to East Coast Park, where they lived for a few days in a tent after outstaying their welcome at a friend's place.

It was then that social workers from the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports discovered them and referred them to the Singapore Children's Society's Yishun Family Service Centre (FSC).

They then moved again, to another relative's place, where they stayed for six months.

But a misunderstanding with the relative landed them back on the streets in May this year.

This time, they spent a night at a void deck in Yishun. The next day, they moved to Sembawang park.

Said Mr Mohamad Hider: 'The night we were thrown out, my 3-year-old boy was running a fever, and sleeping in the open was cold and uncomfortable.

'We had to give him some panadol. Luckily his fever went down.'

Mr Mohamad Hider again quit his job to 'take care of his family'.

In January this year, Madam Juliana, too, had left her cashier's job for the same reason.

The family spent three weeks at Sembawang park, living in a tent, and surviving on instant noodles boiled over a portable gas stove.

A social worker from Yishun FSC referred Madam Juliana to a shelter, where she could stay with her children. But she refused to go. She said: 'The shelter was only for women, so my husband would have to find his own way. I refused to accept because I didn't want the family to be separated.'

The family was told it was illegal to camp at the park indefinitely. So they moved again, to Changi beach, where they stayed for two weeks in June this year.

A social worker referred them to the New Hope Shelter on 20 Jun. They were housed in a three-room flat in Marsiling with two other homeless families.

But during their time there, they flouted the rules - which include not allowing visitors at the unit after 10pm.

When they moved to another unit in July, they continued to visit the tenants at their former unit without permission, though that too was against the rules.

They were warned by the home's staff seven times, and had to leave the shelter on 15 Sep.

They then moved in with their second son's classmate and his grandmother in Hougang, but were asked to leave late last month.

It is understood the couple are now staying temporarily at Changi beach with their youngest daughter, while the other children live with various relatives.

Both husband and wife are jobless and have no savings.

The family has, since earlier this year, been surviving on welfare.

They get $180 every month for four months from Muis, $60 worth of food vouchers a month for four months from a mosque, $590 a month for three months from the Northwest Community Development Council, $225 every month from the Straits Times Pocket Money Fund, and occasional food rations from the Yishun FSC and other welfare groups.
Despite not having a home, Madam Juliana made sure the family had new clothes to wear during Hari Raya in October.

She also spends on cigarettes.

The couple's 9-year-old daughter is deaf.

Their eldest, An-nafy Yusman, 16, stopped going to school and went to work at a fast food joint in May, earning $600 a month. But he returned to school in October, and is now staying with a friend.

Said An-nafy: 'Life hasn't been so bad. It's not like we've had no food to eat, or no new clothes to wear.

'I don't feel there's been much change to my lifestyle at all.'

clinton666

Who among you morons want to pay for their ciggies and feed their 8 wonderful children?

How about kuntakinte or Makapaa? How about Leegimeremover?

Come'on Godamnnit, I want to know.:oIo:

cheongsimon

Thats right! This family have only themselves to blame.

HDB did the right thing to repossess their flat to protect them from mounting mortgage debt.

Also, I think the decision not to provide this family with 8 children with a subsidized rental flat is correct too. Rental flats are 1 or 2 room flats and are too small for 10 people and the flat will quickly become a bangla style slum. Do we want these children to grow up in such a terrible environment?

Sleeping in the park is the right solution provided by a compassionate government. First, the park is very spacious, and the children can have all the open space they want to run around, brings back the nostagic feel of kampung living.

2nd, this park accomodation is provided for FREE and this helps the family to save on rental fees and conservancy charges. In fact the family has taken advantage of this generousity to move from parks to parks when advised by the rangers.

It is therefore not surprising that the parents can choose not to work since their cost of living (housing) has been almost for free. Naturally, with surplus cash on hand, they can now afford little luxuries in life such as tobbacco & new clothes even when they don't work.

It is no wonder that most(66%) Singaporeans agree that our social safety nets are getting too comfortable for some, such that they breed reliance and complacency.

The_Latest_H

Its time for a carrots and sticks approach. I don't have much sympathy for them if they keep on giving all these excuses not to work and not to find a rental flat.

My ideal is that work is the best welfare. Yes, we should give welfare to those who are temporarily unemployed, but to those who are eager to find work and have signed up for job training at state-run job training centres. Those who do not, will, unless on appeal, find their welfare benefits withdrawn.

since when singapore have social welfare??

no wonder harry lee refuse to provide social welfare. look at malaysia, still a third world hole.

angie II

I have no sympathy for ppl who r lazy n give excuses for not working,
bud i like clinton666 n his gang so much dat i wud like 2 offer them dis..

bone-02a7341987.gif

clinton666

Its time for a carrots and sticks approach. I don't have much sympathy for them if they keep on giving all these excuses not to work and not to find a rental flat.

My ideal is that work is the best welfare. Yes, we should give welfare to those who are temporarily unemployed, but to those who are eager to find work and have signed up for job training at state-run job training centres. Those who do not, will, unless on appeal, find their welfare benefits withdrawn.

You moronic dumbass :oIo:

That is exactly what our govt is trying to do. What are you all this while? Outerspace??

clinton666

since when singapore have social welfare??

no wonder harry lee refuse to provide social welfare. look at malaysia, still a third world hole.

You retarded turd :oIo:

If there is no social welfare in Singapore, how the hell did the family of 10 manage to survive without working for years.

You retarded turd :oIo:

If there is no social welfare in Singapore, how the hell did the family of 10 manage to survive without working for years.

charity organisations
and relatives and friends help.

social welfare? check with europe. where they are entitle to welfare help from gov by law. if singapore have social welfare, then the citizen dun have to take courses that earn a lot of money, very safe job and decision. taking course that their grade take them, not what their interest

Then getting up and invent something, do business and take some risk.

it is a third world education system and third world mentality. Not fit for purpose in the first world.

The_Latest_H

You moronic dumbass :oIo:

That is exactly what our govt is trying to do. What are you all this while? Outerspace??

The big difference with your assertion and what are real facts is that the PAP has never really passed any legislation that resembles the welfare reform bill that Bill Clinton signed in America in 1996.

The likes of Workfare, and GST credits, and HDB subsidies are only available to those who apply- meaning those who can't read, cannot- and these people are subjected to lengthy bureaucratic waiting and pathetic payouts.

Welfare reform means that those who are unemployed will automatically be shown up on the government database. And if these people in the database have been shown to sign up for job training programs at the CC or in the polytechnics- with the NRIC to register- then this would also be automatically updated electronically in the database.

So basically in this system, as long as you have an NRIC on you, or a birth certificate, whatever you do as an unemployed person, as long as you keep on making efforts to find a job, go for job training or upgrades, you are able to receive short term welfare benefits- up to a period of time. Once you have a job though, you should be able to live within your means.

If you've a family to feed though, its possible for your children to keep on receiving free daily childcare and children subsidies for food, and education in order to help less well-off couples bring up their kids- at least for the first few years.

chupacabra

The fault lies with the parents, the children are innocent. You cannot punish the whole family. That is whats wrong with

peesai, all these so called help groups are not sincere about helping people. Only want to pleased their masters in hope

of getting handsomely rewarded like the peanut man of NKF.

chupacabra

If there were a minimum wage and a strickly 8 hour 5 work day rule, it won't be this bad for this family.

There are a lot of big families in the west too. But because of their fair labour laws, parents can easily work a few jobs and live comfortably.

How can one earn extra money in peesai when one job takes up all your time and pays peanuts?

In Canada for example, I have seen students in bikini tops cutting grass outside Wallmart during summer vacation. Money made during summer can easily pay off a year of tuition and school spending.

chinkangkor

The govt chooses to depress wages but let rental rises. The people suffer while the govt benefits. All the surplus is then kept with Temasek for overseas investing.

clinton666

Bloody rich people are no better..

You retarded dog of dogs :oIo:

If rich people are no better than poor people, then why the hell do poor people always have to beg from the rich people. And I am always served by the poor people and I can verbally fuck them and they will still smile at me.

clinton666

The govt chooses to depress wages but let rental rises. The people suffer while the govt benefits. All the surplus is then kept with Temasek for overseas investing.

You spastic maggot :oIo:

I suppose you will hire Mr Hider for $4,000 and is cool with him relaxing big time on his job.