• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

promoting sports and family bonding cost Aljunied GRC $160m

†††††

Aljunied GRC to get more upgrading works
Five-year plan for hotly contested constituency to be announced today
By Teo Wan Gek

RESIDENTS in Aljunied GRC can look forward to even more upgrading of facilities, on top of the $160 million worth that it has undergone since the last general election.

There will be an announcement today on plans to further improve the five-member group representation constituency, which was the most hotly contested at the last polls in 2006.

At least five other GRCs - East Coast, Jalan Besar, Ang Mo Kio, Marine Parade and Hong Kah - are also set to unveil multi-million-dollar five-year estate improvement plans in the coming weeks.

PAP town councils typically announce details of their five-year plans about half a year ahead of a general election.

Said Aljunied Town Council chairman Cynthia Phua of its upcoming five-year plan: 'It's a very comprehensive plan aimed at enhancing the physical infrastructure and social well-being of residents. It is to ensure that Aljunied remains a thriving, vibrant and people-centred township.'

Promoting neighbourliness and the kampung spirit will also be on the agenda, she added.

Aljunied's last five-year plan cost $160 million and focused on promoting sports and family bonding. Each of the GRC's five wards gained either a sports park or an adventure park.

One clear theme emerging in this round of five-year plans is enhancements to make estates more elderly-friendly.

Take Serangoon, for example. It is a ward in Aljunied GRC with many residents now in their 40s and 50s.

Plans are afoot to convert a community park and some playgrounds into wellness and fitness corners better suited to the needs of residents as they grow older.

Aljunied's plans also include promoting the kampung spirit and neighbourliness, and becoming more eco-friendly.

Mr Yeo Guat Kwang, the MP for the GRC's Aljunied-Hougang ward, said such approaches can help convince young couples that Aljunied is the best place to sink roots and bring up their children.

Foreign Minister George Yeo, who heads the Aljunied GRC team, also hinted of improvements to Hougang town, the area around Hougang Avenue 10.

Most of the area falls under Aljunied GRC - but a portion comes under neighbouring opposition-held Hougang constituency. And any plans for new developments in Hougang town would be on top of the GRC's five-year plan.

Minister Yeo did not provide any details on what improvements are in store, but said in a post on his Facebook page last month that he had 'an excellent meeting with HDB folks on exciting remaking of Hougang and Kangkar'.

As for other five-year plans, Marine Parade Town Council chairman Lim Biow Chuan said plans for his six-member GRC were in their final stages and will be 'targeted and localised'.

Marine Parade ward, for example, is a mature estate and plans there would be targeted at the needs of the elderly. This would be different for Braddell Heights ward, where there are more young residents, he said.

Residents look forward to the plans. Mr Lucas Koh, 37, a Hougang Street 31 resident for over 10 years, hopes to have more exercise facilities near his home.

'I'm getting older and trying to incorporate exercise into my daily regime. But there's a lack of jogging tracks and fitness corners around here,' he said.

Old Airport Road resident Annie Chua, 51, who loves line dancing, wants to see more recreational facilities and space so she and her friends 'can have more room to dance'.

[email protected]

As long as they retain Aljunied GRC, another $160m is small change. Not their money afterall. It belongs to taxpayers.

1. erh! i thought i heard the same tune again and again.
2. now, it is just some big yawn leh!
3. sheep, give me some new and better than this load of crap.
4. kampung spirit, what a big joke!

Foreign Minister George Yeo, who heads the Aljunied GRC team, also hinted of improvements to Hougang town, the area around Hougang Avenue 10.

Most of the area falls under Aljunied GRC - but a portion comes under neighbouring opposition-held Hougang constituency. And any plans for new developments in Hougang town would be on top of the GRC's five-year plan.

Minister Yeo did not provide any details on what improvements are in store, but said in a post on his Facebook page last month that he had 'an excellent meeting with HDB folks on exciting remaking of Hougang and Kangkar'.

Residents look forward to the plans. Mr Lucas Koh, 37, a Hougang Street 31 resident for over 10 years, hopes to have more exercise facilities near his home.

'I'm getting older and trying to incorporate exercise into my daily regime. But there's a lack of jogging tracks and fitness corners around here,' he said.
[email protected]

Kangkar... i wonder georgie know where is the real kangkar. The original Kangkar as of now dont have any HDB blocks only private condos. Hello just rename the HG central as Kangkar dont cut it. He better dont anyhow pull stunts, many old punggol folks still around know where the actual Kangkar. I bet he dont even know Kangkar is, how it look like just 15 years ago.

As for the 37yo Mr Koh, after living there for 10 years still dont know where is the excerise facilities in his neighbourhood. Why can't he just cross the Upper Serangoon Road to HG Ave 2, Sergangoon JC which open it stadium to public to use. Is it because HG Ave 2 belong to WP run HG that he refuse to cross the road.:oIo:

I've only seen upgrading works since GE 06 but then this neighbourhood has been upgrading since 1999.

The Kampung Spirit has died since the late 80s when the last kampungs were demolished in mainland Singapore so why try to resurrect something that has died for the past 20 years? :D

If LKY can, surely kampongs can too.

how come never mention of FT integration ?

wtf 160million:confused:

are they building new wembley stadium or what:confused:

how to bring back the kampong spirit when 70% of the ppl never ever live in a kampong b4. i had many friends, some older than me live a HBD all their lives. They never experience shiting into a bucket which were collect by the ENV every morning or use a outhouse that built over a running stream or pond, can see the "guppies" waiting for the shit to drop. They only pass motion in a toilet that have the flushing system, maybe the only time they ever shit in the open is during NSF.

i wonder who propose the ideas to the MPs, for ppl who lose their homes during the forced resettlement in the 70s-80s have never and will never forgive PAPs for that. Who the fark want to foster kampong spirit with them, more likely cursed them, make the kampong ghost terrorise them.:oIo:

how to bring back the kampong spirit when 70% of the ppl never ever live in a kampong b4. i had many friends, some older than me live a HBD all their lives. They never experience shiting into a bucket which were collect by the ENV every morning or use a outhouse that built over a running stream or pond, can see the "guppies" waiting for the shit to drop. They only pass motion in a toilet that have the flushing system, maybe the only time they ever shit in the open is during NSF.

i wonder who propose the ideas to the MPs, for ppl who lose their homes during the forced resettlement in the 70s-80s have never and will never forgive PAPs for that. Who the fark want to foster kampong spirit with them, more likely cursed them, make the kampong ghost terrorise them.:oIo:

Probably the same idiot who spent 400k to name Marina Bay "Marina Bay".

Kangkar... i wonder georgie know where is the real kangkar. The original Kangkar as of now dont have any HDB blocks only private condos. Hello just rename the HG central as Kangkar dont cut it. He better dont anyhow pull stunts, many old punggol folks still around know where the actual Kangkar. I bet he dont even know Kangkar is, how it look like just 15 years ago.

bro...not too sure because I was young boy then....but i think the landmark still around is the church......

u know that because u once must have stay nearby, but would georgie know? Just look at Kovan, u know where kovan was when u were a boy? i only know that part of the Upper Serangoon Road call "luck gor chio" sixth mile point. kovan is the angmo name for the road inside the private estate. until now, my mum will only call that market HG St 21 market.

As for the church, there are two churchs, only one can consider inside kangkar. those idiots call the ntuc cum food court in HG central as kangkar. It not even close to the real kangkar.

u know that because u once must have stay nearby, but would georgie know? Just look at Kovan, u know where kovan was when u were a boy? i only know that part of the Upper Serangoon Road call "luck gor chio" sixth mile point. kovan is the angmo name for the road inside the private estate. until now, my mum will only call that market HG St 21 market.

As for the church, there are two churchs, only one can consider inside kangkar. those idiots call the ntuc cum food court in HG central as kangkar. It not even close to the real kangkar.

hahaha...i used to stay in the kampong exactly here the present Serangoon Stadium is....quite far to Kangar actually.
kovan road starts from YCK and there is a Kovan gals School there.

True Kampung Spirit is noticeable only in Potong Pasir and Hougang Town. All PAP towns are just noises - hacking and drilling which doesn't serve any purposes. I rather they leave my town untouched and spare us the expensive noise throughout the years.

Bonding with who? bonding with Foreign Trash is an insult to our intelligence.

hahaha...i used to stay in the kampong exactly here the present Serangoon Stadium is....quite far to Kangar actually.
kovan road starts from YCK and there is a Kovan gals School there.

so u live behind Lim big head (sorry dunno the actually spelling) market? kovan gals school? i only know SJ convent once there. Guang Yang sec school was once there plus St Gabriel on the main road. Then there the big temple festival on the Ninth Month of the lunar calender over there. of course cannot miss out the cinema there, i still remember i ever watch the movie Jaws over there as a young boy. Inside the cinema compound got sell street food, a good place for couples to go parktor.:D

Kangkar was where Sengkang is now, quite a distance from Kovan.

Aljunied GRC to get more upgrading works
Five-year plan for hotly contested constituency to be announced today
By Teo Wan Gek

RESIDENTS in Aljunied GRC can look forward to even more upgrading of facilities, on top of the $160 million worth that it has undergone since the last general election.

Aljunied's last five-year plan cost $160 million and focused on promoting sports and family bonding. Each of the GRC's five wards gained either a sports park or an adventure park.

[/email]

1. This show only when there is opposition challenges them, then, it will seriously do the planning for the residents.

2. 160 millions for 5 years. this is about 267k per months. Assume that the GRC has 300k residents, therefore, spent only less than $1 per month on each resident. How much they have been collecting from the resident?

less than $1 per month for each resident. Is this a lot? Is this taking care of the resident.