• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Prof - Eldershield is 3rd world, over-reliant for family, cheap labour & volunteers

A prominent professor here has warned that the Republic's financing scheme for the intermediate- and long-term care (ILTC) sector will not be enough for Singaporeans to meet basic costs for such services, as the clock ticks down on the silver tsunami which will hit the Republic by 2030.

Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy Professor Phua Kai Hong, an authoritative figure in the region on healthcare policy and management, first voiced his concern about ElderShield, which is the sole national insurance scheme for intermediate and long-term care, at a closed-door discussion earlier this month.

Speaking to Today, he reiterated that the scheme is "completely inadequate". Said Prof Phua: "People are calling our hospitals a First World sector, but that our long-term care is Third World standard. Besides the over-reliance on voluntary welfare organisations, patients' families and cheap labour, the financial structure in this sector needs to be thoroughly re-looked."

He added that Singapore's existing 3M framework - Medisave, MediShield and Medifund - are "rigged towards hospital care".

- http://www.todayonline.com/Print/Singapore/EDC120426-0000068/ElderShield-under-fire

Re: Prof - Eldershield is 3rd world, over-reliant for family, cheap labour & voluntee

Uncle me among first batch to be conned for Eldershield. Conjob. Claim amount so low nevermind, but 2 out of 6 disabilities, nobody I heard off can claim. dead already.

Re: Prof - Eldershield is 3rd world, over-reliant for family, cheap labour & voluntee

OK, have not contribute or read cpf statement for a long time liaoz. No wonder I don't feel rich every month.:(

I know what is Medisave but what is Medishield and Medifund?

OK, have not contribute or read cpf statement for a long time liaoz. No wonder I don't feel rich every month.:(

I know what is Medisave but what is Medishield and Medifund?

My Medishield finished already, it's actually my own money, what the fuck! I understand Medishield is insurance but that time I didn't buy. I don't know what the fuck is Medifund.

Do have some funds inside the Cheat Peasant Fund and know they are making some deductions every year. Not sure what are the deductions for. Anyway, not paying in cash so let them deduct. I am not expecting to get back anything from this ponzi scheme.

That is why gahment so worried Sinkie singles don't want to get married and no children... Old liao who have to look after you?!

Hehehe. Getting old is the least worry. Bigger worry is now, how to survive?

Do have some funds inside the Cheat Peasant Fund and know they are making some deductions every year. Not sure what are the deductions for. Anyway, not paying in cash so let them deduct. I am not expecting to get back anything from this ponzi scheme.

I think they auto deduct for Medishield insurance premiums. I think now not like last time we older folks can tell them, fuck off! :oIo:

This is why gov says have more babies, uncle tells you. When my Medisave finished in a long stay in hospital, I asked doctor what's Medifund and how to apply. Doc said dont worry, my son and daughter had signed their Medisave guarantor forms for me. That's after mine finished, deduct theirs. If still not enough then pay cash. That's to say my whole family must bankrupt or dead first before I can apply for Medifund!

:oIo: :oIo:

This is why gov says have more babies, uncle tells you. When my Medisave finished in a long stay in hospital, I asked doctor what's Medifund and how to apply. Doc said dont worry, my son and daughter had signed their Medisave guarantor forms for me. That's after mine finished, deduct theirs.
And after children cpf funds finished, there are still grandchildrens' cpf and great-grandchildren......
This is what I call eternal punishment for procreating in Sinking land.

And after children cpf funds finished, there are still grandchildrens' cpf and great-grandchildren......

Fucking ponzi scheme. Not sick also must pay first. Sick then pay and pay until generation still pay and pay. :mad: Then what the fuck is Medifund for? Sometimes they report on TV Medifund is how many millions to how many millions. What the fuck for? :mad:

It has all the hallmarks of a Ponzi scheme, albeit a state sponsored one.

I have already predicted that when the people realize there's nothing left in the kitty, the myyh of LKY will turn to anger. Just hope I'm still around to see it because it may take a while for the 60% to wake up.

Poor sinkies can die cannot fall sick.

sinkies deserve it for being ball-less... That is what they get for being a low life coward who sell their soul for money.

It has all the hallmarks of a Ponzi scheme, albeit a state sponsored one.

I have already predicted that when the people realize there's nothing left in the kitty, the myyh of LKY will turn to anger. Just hope I'm still around to see it because it may take a while for the 60% to wake up.
All the signs are there. Delaying of withdrawal age, ever increasing minimum sum, increasing retirement age, and more and more FTs. A ponzi scheme need more and more suckers at the lower level to feed the suckers at the higher level.

A good insurance might be a better option to these schemes.