• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Presidency - 2 Man Race

As expected GY will not run. Nathan will not run. He is just massaging his ego as a contender. The rest will not qualify. That leaves only two - Tan Kin Lian and Tan Cheng Bock. If ever either one will withdraw at the last minute it will be TKL as this guy cannot handle defeat. The way he is testing the market, first with a request for a petition, then survey and going around opposition parties garnering support.

If both run, I think it will be provide an excellent insight in how th4e various sectors will respond. Based on the comments that you see online in the Net, this would be assessment;

Tan Kin Lian - less educated and middle aged

Tan Cheng Bock - professionals, youth and the elderly

Will be quite a show.

firstly, it is not much of a show.

You are here doing your bullshit prediction again as though it is a gospel truth.

sinkie president is totally useless, whoever vote in still the same. totally no power at all.

why waste time to vote, might as well one of them give up and then save everybody time an effort for all this bullshit voting.

Last heard, there is more than 80% chance Tony Tan will stand as candidate for Presidency.

Goh Meng Seng

Financial Knowledge is not as important. You could always get someone to explain to you. What is important is independence and willingness to ask questions and have a strong backbone.

Tony Tan as head of GIC and now PM is also elected to top GIC post and MM is senior advisor are all cut from the same cloth. There is No independence.

Furthermore for all of Dr Tan's financial knowhow he said this:

GIC can still invest in another troubled bank, says Tony Tan

EVEN after taking significant stakes in UBS and Citigroup, the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation
(GIC) could still invest in another distressed bank, if the deal is worthwhile, the agency's deputy chairman Tony Tan revealed in a briefing to The Business Times.

DR TONY TAN: Terms on the UBS, Citi deals were fair.
"We will look at any deal that is shown to us. We have a duty to do so.We would still have the capacity if we find it worthwhile to invest," he said.

"Whether it would be of the same size as what we are now doing is a matter to be decided."

Tony Tan has a major problem and it became apparent when he returned to political office after recall by GCT. He tends to nod of in the afternoon in the middle of meetings. That was years ago. He is also quite frail.

I don't think it will be a 2 man race lor. PAP sure will send in someone that they are comfortable with and the guy to watch is Tony Tan. I think they will not support Nathan to run again.

Bro, the reason for my comments about education refers to the ability to take a serious of observations and form a reasonably well founded assessment. Here are the key observations
1) He worked for NTUC which is a political and sister organisation to PAP
2) He was a PAP Branch secretary and chairman of CCC MCCC
3) He did not say anything or do anything that indicated that he was upset with the establishment until he retired
4) His conduct thus far - mini bonds, asking for petition, using others as surrogate for survey, dragging in WP names
5) No evidence of social or charity work all his life
6) Associating and exploiting individuals who are not particularly smart.

Let take TCB as a contrast
1) Ran his own medical practice
2) Was rebel before he joined PAP and a rebel thruout his time in Parliament
3) Has been associated with an number of charity and social groups not associated with the Govt before, during and after his term on parliament
4) Not known for been exploitative
etc etc.

Get the picture.

I am educated and am in my 30s, between the 2, i guess i will support TKL, though TCB is very close.....

Y? Guess that TKL is more of an independent voice that can hold the govt accountability (or at least i hope).

Tony Tan has a major problem and it became apparent when he returned to political office after recall by GCT. He tends to nod of in the afternoon in the middle of meetings. That was years ago. He is also quite frail.

Tony Tan is prepared for Presidency. He has even prepared his script to answer the question on candidacy.

Goh Meng Seng

Bro, the reason for my comments about education refers to the ability to take a serious of observations and form a reasonably well founded assessment. Here are the key observations
3) He did not say anything or do anything that indicated that he was upset with the establishment until he retired
4) His conduct thus far - mini bonds, asking for petition, using others as surrogate for survey, dragging in WP names

Insightful observation.

I cant imagine he asking a the head of state of a powerful nation over dinner at the istana whether you want to buy some torchlight batteries :*:

TAN CB, TAN KL, TAN Tony. Why are all the Tans' going for EP? Can't a non-Tan enter the race?

>

TAN CB, TAN KL, TAN Tony. Why are all the Tans' going for EP? Can't a non-Tan enter the race?

>

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_680816.html

>

Singapore

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Jun 17, 2011
PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION

Tony Tan seen as likely candidate

He is amply qualified, has personality, stature to match: Observers

By Tessa Wong, Elgin Toh & Andrea Ong

He is known to older Singaporeans as a man with a strongly independent mind, who has stood up to prime ministers on key policy issues such as the graduate mothers' scheme in the 1980s, which gave priority in school registration to children of graduate mothers, and more recently, the entry of casinos into Singapore. -- ST PHOTO: NURIA LING

WITH former foreign minister George Yeo deciding not to run for President,

observers believe that Dr Tony Tan will be the Government's

preferred candidate for the election due by Aug 31.

The key reason: The 71-year-old former deputy prime minister is amply qualified for the job and has the personality to match.

He is known to older Singaporeans as a man with a strongly independent mind, who has stood up to prime ministers on key policy issues such as the graduate mothers' scheme in the 1980s, which gave priority in school registration to children of graduate mothers, and more recently, the entry of casinos into Singapore.

Former Member of Parliament Joe Conceicao, 87, a one-time ambassador to Russia and Indonesia, said: 'Now that Mr Yeo is not running, Dr Tan may feel it is his duty to come forward, given his high qualifications and his background in finance.'

Dr Tan is currently deputy chairman and executive director of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC), which, together with Temasek Holdings, manages Singapore's reserves.

He is also chairman of the Singapore Exchange-listed Singapore Press Holdings (SPH), a post he has held since December 2005 after retiring from the Cabinet.

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

Bro Scroobal, someone told me Tan Cheng Bock was Chairman or CEO of ING Bank when it started in Singapore. Can you verify? If this is true, then Tan Cheng Bock win Tan Kin Lian in the financial aspect already.

Let take TCB as a contrast
1) Ran his own medical practice
2) Was rebel before he joined PAP and a rebel thruout his time in Parliament
3) Has been associated with an number of charity and social groups not associated with the Govt before, during and after his term on parliament
4) Not known for been exploitative
etc etc.

Get the picture.

>

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_680816.html

Singapore

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Jun 17, 2011
PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION

Tony Tan seen as likely candidate

He is amply qualified, has personality, stature to match: Observers

By Tessa Wong, Elgin Toh & Andrea Ong

He is known to older Singaporeans as a man with a strongly independent mind, who has stood up to prime ministers on key policy issues such as the graduate mothers' scheme in the 1980s, which gave priority in school registration to children of graduate mothers, and more recently, the entry of casinos into Singapore. -- ST PHOTO: NURIA LING

WITH former foreign minister George Yeo deciding not to run for President, observers believe that Dr Tony Tan will be the Government's preferred candidate for the election due by Aug 31.

The key reason: The 71-year-old former deputy prime minister is amply qualified for the job and has the personality to match.

He is known to older Singaporeans as a man with a strongly independent mind, who has stood up to prime ministers on key policy issues such as the graduate mothers' scheme in the 1980s, which gave priority in school registration to children of graduate mothers, and more recently, the entry of casinos into Singapore.

Dr Tan is currently deputy chairman and executive director of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC), which, together with Temasek Holdings, manages Singapore's reserves.

He is also chairman of the Singapore Exchange-listed Singapore Press Holdings (SPH), a post he has held since December 2005 after retiring from the Cabinet.

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

Wow the Braddel Prostitutes have come out strongly to spin an unknown fact. It appears that Tony Tan is a better REBEL than Tan Cheng Bock. He actually did disagree with the MIW's on some issues in the past. Now why do you think this little unknown TIDBIT suddenly is so important? The MIW's do realise that Singaporeans are more endeared to presidential candidates that disagrees with certain policies of the MIW's.

Please remember who heads the Braddle Prostitudes and why such UNKNOWN details are being release. Believe the spin at your own peril. I despise those scums who will stoop so low to promote their evil agenda.

TCB was a director of ING Private Bank only. But i think he held several senior appointments in government or quasi-government bodies. If Nathan can qualify, I dun see why TCB cannot qualify.

Dr. Tan Cheng Bock

Non-Executive Independent Chairman of Chuan Hup Holdings Limited.
Director of PCI Limited.
Director of M&C REIT Management Limited and M&C Business Trust Management Limited
Chairman of Dredging International Asia Pacific Pte Ltd
Director of ING Private Bank.
Board member of Land Transport Authority until 2005.
Member of Parliament for Ayer Rajah from 1980 to 2006.
Leader of the Singapore Southeast Asia Parliamentary Group
Chairman of the West Coast - Ayer Rajah Town Council
Vice- Chairman of the South West Community Development Council
Member of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Defence and Foreign Affairs.
Chairman of the Jurong Medical Centre.
Director of Jurong General Hospital
Board member of the Council for the Third Age.

A private medical practitioner by profession, Dr. Tan obtained his Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery degree from the then University of Singapore in 1968. In addition, he is a Fellow of the College of Family Practitioners and an Honorary Member of the Singapore Medical Association.

If Nathan can qualify, I dun see why TCB cannot qualify.

Non-Executive Independent Chairman of Chuan Hup Holdings Limited.

TCB qualifies based on the above.

Re: Fake !

All fake ! So, you wanna vote for a fake president ? What's the difference ?

1. bro, five thumbs up!
2. honest, it is plain a total waste of taxpayers' monies doing just that thing.
3. abolish the useless portfolio.
4. not just fake but also a clueless puppet.

Re: Fake !

Amazing. Looks like the criteria for being president is to show how much you disagreed with the Govt. One by one people are claiming that they did not approve of the casino. Lim Boon Heng, George Yeo and now Tony Tan. Who then approved the casino?