• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Presidency - 2 Man Race

As expected GY will not run. Nathan will not run. He is just massaging his ego as a contender. The rest will not qualify. That leaves only two - Tan Kin Lian and Tan Cheng Bock. If ever either one will withdraw at the last minute it will be TKL as this guy cannot handle defeat. The way he is testing the market, first with a request for a petition, then survey and going around opposition parties garnering support.

If both run, I think it will be provide an excellent insight in how th4e various sectors will respond. Based on the comments that you see online in the Net, this would be assessment;

Tan Kin Lian - less educated and middle aged

Tan Cheng Bock - professionals, youth and the elderly

Will be quite a show.

As long as they hold the Gov accountable that is fine.

TKL burnt his bridges with PAP he could very well use Presidency to launch his own future political ambition. After all he would have 4 years of campaigning to get support. There is nothing to stop the President from connecting with the people. Presidents do not need to make unpopular decisions and are respected. So that is the perfect platform - great name recognition.

TCB - to be fair have not heard much about his views of the Presidency.

It would be great if they could hold a debate over telly. While it might be boring, it would set a precedent to hosting televised debates in future GE.

There will be a television broadcast allowed to each candidate but I am sure TKL will decline if a debate is offered.

As long as they hold the Gov accountable that is fine.

TKL burnt his bridges with PAP he could very well use Presidency to launch his own future political ambition. After all he would have 4 years of campaigning to get support. There is nothing to stop the President from connecting with the people. Presidents do not need to make unpopular decisions and are respected. So that is the perfect platform - great name recognition.

TCB - to be fair have not heard much about his views of the Presidency.

It would be great if they could hold a debate over telly. While it might be boring, it would set a precedent to hosting televised debates in future GE.

Not to forget that TCB will garner more support from folks in West Coast-Ayer-Rajah and Jurong East. GY and most older PAP and past PAP members will support TCB more than TKL.

In all probability, many in PAP ranks will not take too kindly to the remarks made by TKL re-influence of the President's office to push for a conservative investment approach in the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation and Temasek Holdings. On the other hand TCB has kept privy to himself his plans as an EP. Bringing his wife into the picture was good PR and allow us to know her too.

The Presidential Election is a farce in the first place; so it is interesting to see how things unfold on the PAP side.

I don't think it will be a 2 man race lor. PAP sure will send in someone that they are comfortable with and the guy to watch is Tony Tan. I think they will not support Nathan to run again.

If both run, I think it will be provide an excellent insight in how th4e various sectors will respond. Based on the comments that you see online in the Net, this would be assessment;

Tan Kin Lian - less educated and middle aged

Tan Cheng Bock - professionals, youth and the elderly

Will be quite a show.

Don't expect either of them to be another Ong Teng Cheong.

As expected GY will not run. Nathan will not run. He is just massaging his ego as a contender. The rest will not qualify.

Any news from your insider sources of whether we will have a current king card Minister bravely resigning and fighting a record 2nd election in 3 mths?

What about the 3rd Tan, Tony? Could Ho Ching have secretly asked one of the ST despatch riders to collect the forms for her? What about SRN going for his 3rd term?

I am educated and am in my 30s, between the 2, i guess i will support TKL, though TCB is very close.....

Y? Guess that TKL is more of an independent voice that can hold the govt accountability (or at least i hope).

1. Tony is still possible. The pappies have to endorse one of their "recent" own right? ;)

2. Ho Ching is impossible. :o

3. Hope SR Nathan contests, would love to see him in a tv debate. :rolleyes:

4. TKL should be hoping for a 3 cornered fight, where the votes are split in the pappy camp, i.e. the 60%. This is ironical considering that he's supposed to be in the opposition camp, which traditionally avoids 3 corner fights. :D

This whole process is not really that relevant, but gonna be interesting. :)

1. Tony is still possible. The pappies have to endorse one of their "recent" own right? ;)

2. Ho Ching is impossible. :o

3. Hope SR Nathan contests, would love to see him in a tv debate. :rolleyes:

4. TKL should be hoping for a 3 cornered fight, where the votes are split in the pappy camp, i.e. the 60%. This is ironical considering that he's supposed to be in the opposition camp, which traditionally avoids 3 corner fights. :D

This whole process is not really that relevant, but gonna be interesting. :)

As much as we would love to see the bumbling fat ass Prata man in a TV debate, but then again maybe we'll have a better chance of seeing him gorging on free briyanis on CNA instead..:D

There is no way an independant voice will be allowed to succeed. I will just vote for Tony Tan since he is the one with the most in depth financial background.

Er... he is the least likely to use his financial background since he's IN GIC right now. It's like asking your boss to resign and then audit his own work as an 'independent'.

There is no way an independant voice will be allowed to succeed. I will just vote for Tony Tan since he is the one with the most in depth financial background.

Fake !

All fake ! So, you wanna vote for a fake president ? What's the difference ?

hahahaha...that is a gd one dude!...just like WKS' white wash inquiry where one of the members was his own subordinate!...

well looks like i got it wrong afterall...really got the impression that GY was going to run...n i still think he wld hv stood a pretty gd chance of winning if he had...anyways water under the bridge now...

ain't no way Nathan is going to run...especially wif probable pay cut...bwahahahaha...

going by Tony Tan's latest cryptic statement in today's ST...a betting man wld probably wager a bet that he shall throw in his hat in the near future...either that r i wld not be surprised to c Ngiam Tong Dow suddenly emerge as the 3rd man!...

whatever it is i am quite sure that it shall not be a 2 man race...
Er... he is the least likely to use his financial background since he's IN GIC right now. It's like asking your boss to resign and then audit his own work as an 'independent'.

Huh really? paiseh paiseh i dint know

Any news from your insider sources of whether we will have a current king card Minister bravely resigning and fighting a record 2nd election in 3 mths?

hahaha....my little bird got inside info....but you need to know jiao wei to understand him......