• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PRC bus driver Chen Hongyan jailed one week only for causing death of Singaporean stu

[h=2]PRC bus driver Chen Hongyan jailed one week only for causing death of Singaporean student[/h]Posted by temasektimes on May 8, 2012
Life is cheap nowadays, it seems. While motorists can be jailed for a few weeks for drink-driving, a PRC bus driver who caused the death of a 19 year old Singaporean student in a fatal traffic accident was jailed only a week, a shocking verdict which left many netizens fuming.
Chen Hongyan pleaded guilty to driving negligently by failing to keep a proper lookout and causing a fatal accident as a result.
36 year old Chen Hongyang was in her first month as an SBS Transit bus driver when she got into a traffic accident at the traffic junction of Tampines Avenue 8 and Tampines Street 84 where she turned right without noticing Temasek Polytechnic student Toh Jia Wei riding his motorcycle in the opposite direction.
The young man who would have a bright future ahead of him, was killed on the spot. Yet, the state media appeared to sympathize more with Chen Hongyan, saying that she has dependents in China who are now in a bind after she lost her job.
Speaking in Parliament lately, Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew reassured Singaporeans that all foreign drivers are ‘adequately’ trained before they are allowed to drive on Singapore roads:
“The more important thing actually is to make sure (that), regardless of nationality, every driver is adequately trained, appropriately qualified, and especially if they come from abroad, then they are given the kind of orientation that will help them familiarise themselves with the peculiarities of the system in Singapore.”

Foreign bus drivers like Chen Hongyan reportedly undergo a more ‘rigorous’ and longer training by SBS Transit. About 13 percent of bus drivers in Singapore and foreigners and the percentage excludes those who have been ‘converted’ to Singapore PRs, probably the ONLY country in the world which gives PRs to bus drivers.
Some responses from fuckwarezone forumers:
“Seriously sia, kill a life, 1 week jail? No suspension of license meh. Fug the gahmen man.” – swashlylahs
“english can be learned within 21 days for a china FT? seriously cut cost until like that. sigh” – noobie
“154 even tried to show concern by publishing she got dependents in china.. Wat abt the victim ?So next time u bang anyone, pls be a FT..” – 4Dluckystrike

Re: PRC bus driver Chen Hongyan jailed one week only for causing death of Singaporean

Dirt_Cheap_front.JPG

Re: PRC bus driver Chen Hongyan jailed one week only for causing death of Singaporean

Local - Drunk driving + no license + kill 1 person = 4 weeks.
The FT actually got a heavy sentence compared to that

Why report never go into detail will the work permit cancel and not allow to drive in Singapore for whole life. Mediacock standard.

A 5 year jail sentence would have been fair.

Otherwise soon PRC triads would take contracts on kill by 'accidents'.Mafias already practices this sort of murder.

Fuck you PAP for encouraging murder.

Yes, i agree, too light! KNN. You referring to a chaboh student? Recent case? Sorry, too many foreign drivers killing people on the road, difficult to recall local killing people on the road. BTW, kill local or foreigner?
Kill local, jail term must be longer. KNN! So many foreigners in SG, can still knock down a local. Cheebye! :mad:
Kill foreigner, after the jail term must award medal to him/her. Salute!:D

I don't agree, first of all, Bus Driver consider FT?

SBS should be sued for employing such careless driver.

A terrible waste of a young man's life that nothing can compensate the family's loss. Sad that this was to happen.

I remember a guy who drove his weekend car on the road outside the allowed hours without buying a permit, he got 6 months jail. And now a life is lost, and it's only 1 week jail! So what does it tells us. To the PAP govt, u can get off quite lightly if u caused someone's death but if u did not pay the revenue due to the govt, u are in for longer sentences. Money is everything to the PAP, nothing else matters.

I really dun understand this sentence......

Notice how the Msian doc practically got away unscathed for flashing at an undergrad girl. Notice how the FAP lets off almost every foreigner who commits an offence in SG. This is the kind of desperate level the FAP has stooped to to make foreigners 'feel welcomed' to replace SGs to perpetuate their power.

Why you all don't study or get updated about laws and can comment like experts?

If you drink, you better don't drive, because you have the intention of causing hurt with a deadly weapon like a car. That is why police clamp down on drunk drivers alot and the penalty will be severe if you are involved in accident.

But if it is just an accident, the penalty will not be severe because there is no intent of causing hurt. It is just accident if the driver did not violate traffic laws like speeding or dashing across red lights.

Please don't associate everything with FTs Tua Kees than locals and confuse a guillable and self righteous population?

Accidents are Acts of God, which cannot be prevented. 19 years old should be responsible for himself when he saw a huge bus coming in his direction. Was he speeding and do not have enough time to stop?

Driving a motorcycle on SGP roads is basically signing a death penalty contract for Satan.

Last edited by a moderator:

I remember a guy who drove his weekend car on the road outside the allowed hours without buying a permit, he got 6 months jail. And now a life is lost, and it's only 1 week jail! So what does it tells us. To the PAP govt, u can get off quite lightly if u caused someone's death but if u did not pay the revenue due to the govt, u are in for longer sentences. Money is everything to the PAP, nothing else matters.

means can commit murder but better dun cheat........