• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Prataman will not make any more pratas next year

Watchman

President Nathan will not seek re-election when his term ends next year
August 22nd, 2010 | Author: Your Correspondent

nathan.jpg

Singapore’s second elected President S R Nathan has indicated that he will not be seeking re-election when his term ends next year.

“I’m 87 years of age, you expect me to live forever?” he said when asked by the media if he would contest in the presidential election in 2011.

Mr Nathan first assumed his position in 1999 without an electoral contest as his opponents were all deemed “unfit” to be a presidential candidate.

Unlike his predecessor Ong Teng Cheong who created many headaches for the PAP regime by pressing it to release confidential information pertaining to the size of Singapore’s reserves, Mr Nathan has been an “obedient” President so far.

Other than performing the usual customary duties as the official Head of State, he had never questioned the PAP regime’s handling of the country’s reserves though he is vested with the power to do so.

At the very least, Mr Nathan should be applauded for knowing when to step down unlike PAP strongman Lee Kuan Yew who has still not indicated if he would retire by the next general election.

The octagenarian Lee, who is becoming increasingly unpopular among young Singaporeans, said lately that he would like to work for as long as possible.

Forecaster Extraordinarie II:
August 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

Its all part of the plan masterminded by the one and only God of Sinkapore, the God of No Mercy.

He obviously cannot remain as MM forever because he knows that Sinkaporeans are now pissed and that his son will have to step down sooner or later, be it an IMPLOSION or an EXPLOSION caused by the voters.

Remembering that the MM position is an ELECTED position and created by HIM, HIMSELF supported by his son, should his son be removed as PM or he gets no vote to continue his MP position, he will have to vacate the most IMPORTANT POSITION of his life, NOT as MM or as PM, but as the HEAD of GIC.

Losing control over GIC would mean that shit will hit the fans and holes will be uncovered, something he jolly well CANNOT AFFORD.

So, how to maintain his hold on GIC and also the cabinet EVEN IF many opposition gets voted into parliment?

Be the President of course! Since the Presidential Post is HARDER to get in terms of QUALIFICATION, as long as the God of No Mercy stands for “election”, 99.9% of Sinkaporeans will be “UNFIT and UNQUALIFIED”, assuring him of BREEZING onto the post.

And once he is the “elected” President, laws will be passed in Parliment to ensure that the President will be accorded MORE POWERS than present as to the appointment of CRITICAL POSITIONS in the Gahment, like AG, CJ, CP, etc etc etc

Since the President is non-party related, even if Sinkaporeans voted 60% of opposition members into Parliment, the cabinet composing of the opposition members CANNOT do anything because MOST POWERS will still be vested with the President.

Imagine the President with the key to reserves (if any left), being the Commander In Chief, being able to dissolve Parliment, etc etc etc. Need I say more?

*** Sinkaporeans will see a MAJOR CHANGE in the constitutional law for Presidential Powers before the election and you will know WHO the upcoming Presidential Candidate will be, don’t take my word for it, just watch.

Who will take over his place? Many will envy this job. Highest pay with the least to do.

If Singaporeans just need an "Approved" rubber stamp, no need to pay millions.

pap will miss him. he is a obedient dog. Prataman has served his master well throughout his life - British, Japanese, British again, PAP, Leefamily. all lackeys and dogs should look up to him as a role model.

President Nathan will not seek re-election when his term ends next year

At least he is not greedy, he know he can never finish spending the millions he made in his life time, unlike some old fart who still insist on a MM post, draw million dollars MM salary, draw million dollars PM pension, public service pension etc :(

Citizens : U quit ah ?:)

Prataman : Aiyoh ..... tarn arni juay liow .... now don't enjoy when enjoy ??:D

Prata not close shop lah he moved to Jalan Kayu where he belong. Istana to expensive.

Its a blardy waste of taxpayers money just to uphold a symbolic figurehead. I cant of a single thing he has done for Spore except maybe granting a few clemency to those going to the gallows.

When he step down and still get his pension for life, why not leh ?

Still want to sit there collect almost same salary but everyday kena cursed by people in Sammy's forum not very good leh.

Better to take pension, keep a low profile, no need pretend to kiss babies, sit alone like zombee every year during NDP and yet still happy like fark everyday. Siok ha !

BTW, is the candidate for the EP seat cannot be from a political party ? If yes, old man do not qualify right ? Of course, any laws can be changed, just like the Estate Law.

At least he is not greedy, he know he can never finish spending the millions he made in his life time, unlike some old fart who still insist on a MM post, draw million dollars MM salary, draw million dollars PM pension, public service pension etc :(

Over $20M of taxpayer's money was used to pay this useless trash for his 10 years in office. He is greedy enough to take a job he was not suited for. HAving worked for the kempetei his presidency is a further afront to Singaporeans and Singapore.

LKY has no choice but to stay around because he knows people will go after him once he leaves office. All dictators are like.

Next president would be a Malay. Overdue liao. Yacoob? Abdullah Tarmugi?

pap will miss him. he is a obedient dog. Prataman has served his master well throughout his life - British, Japanese, British again, PAP, Leefamily. all lackeys and dogs should look up to him as a role model.
Don't be surprised if there are some within the ranks who are not happy with him.
Materialistic people tend to be envious of others, even if they are doing well themselves.

I want the job. Getting paid $3 million to shake leg and the only action is to wave during National Day.

Too bad, I am not Lee or Goh.

I want the job. Getting paid $3 million to shake leg and the only action is to wave during National Day.

Too bad, I am not Lee or Goh.

Send in your CV. Preferred if can write in Japanese like 私は日本語を話されます。第二世界の戦争には大日本帝国は違いない。天皇陛下万歳!

I forgot to learn Japanese.

Seems like I cannot qualify. Unless I start bootlicking the PAP..

Go night classes. Plenty available, even at community centres.
Easier to bootlick the PAP than learn Japanese.

Better start picking up the pen and contributing to ST Forums.

Easier to bootlick the PAP than learn Japanese.

Better start picking up the pen and contributing to ST Forums.

Please don't. Stay with the cause and may the force be with you.

There's no need to learn arigato or sayonara or bootlick. Be true to yourself.