• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

POSB/DBS to charge service fee for cash deposits >20k

Honestly, with such interest rate 0.05%, who wants to put the money in the bank? Maybe, for security reasons. Might as well buy gold and open a safe deposit but don't go with DBS.

Screwball

just a question .. when you win lottery prize of $20k, do you get paid in cash or cheque?

This one I am knowing the answer. Singapore Pools will presenting you with a stack of pamphlets asking for donations before they is giving you your winnings by check. If you have making the donations your cheque can be cash out the same day. If you not have giving any donation your cheque can only take money after 3 days. They is never paying cash for amount above 5K. All is paying by cheque.

For the very big money winner they is asking you for your account number and putting the money directly into the account.

When you leaving the Singapore Pools office you must go and be buying a new phone. Because many charity will be calling you for donations. I thinking the Singapore Pools is giving your number to them.

This one I am knowing the answer. Singapore Pools will presenting you with a stack of pamphlets asking for donations before they is giving you your winnings by check. If you have making the donations your cheque can be cash out the same day. If you not have giving any donation your cheque can only take money after 3 days. They is never paying cash for amount above 5K. All is paying by cheque.

For the very big money winner they is asking you for your account number and putting the money directly into the account.

When you leaving the Singapore Pools office you must go and be buying a new phone. Because many charity will be calling you for donations. I thinking the Singapore Pools is giving your number to them.

Thanks you. I thinking you strikes Toto big prizes before to knowing so well.

How about the casino? If you cashing out more than 10 grand they paying cashs or cheques? Got pamphlets also?

Screwball

Thanks you. I thinking you strikes Toto big prizes before to knowing so well.

How about the casino? If you cashing out more than 10 grand they paying cashs or cheques? Got pamphlets also?

In the casino I dunno because I am dun gambling...... I am only working in the banquet department.

Baimi

Yah lor, break the deposit to 2 times lah, LOL

I have 200k in dbs bank, so break into 20 times?
I think i will withdraw all money, balance of 1k so they
will notdeduct $2 if below 1k.
I will put my $ inside uob, got 0.8% interest,
or maybank better interest in fixed deposite.

I will put my $ inside uob, got 0.8% interest,

You must be mad! 0.8% interest does not even cover the annual inflation rate. You're literally losing money on a daily basis.

In 20 years time, at a 2% inflation rate, your savings will be worth less than $160,000 in today's dollars!:eek:

Baimi

At least can cover 0.8% of the 2% Inflation
putting somewhere else is always a risk.
The rest can cover by my pay increment
at least 4% each year, unless i make a grave
mistake(touch wood) in my work.

bullfrog

I dont think it is referring or applying to bank savings deposits. I think it refers to cash deposited over the counter, such as those from money-changers, loan sharks, gamblers, pimps, FTs doing remittances, and generally money launderers.

I think DBS is encouraging people to go cashless by cheques, online transfers, GIROs whatever.

But as soon as I land at the airport, I'll call the Chairman to clarify.

Lestat

Now you can deposit $1000 bills into the cash deposit machine. Up to 100 pieces If I'm not wrong. So that's potentially up to $100K. If that's the case why even bother to deposit over the counter?

At least can cover 0.8% of the 2% Inflation
putting somewhere else is always a risk.
The rest can cover by my pay increment
at least 4% each year, unless i make a grave
mistake(touch wood) in my work.

Being an employee has so much limits to financial abundance, sucks isn't it?